We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms are value for money, not sure about service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Stars 2 Hotel
Ranked #338 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
165 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Rooms are value for money, not sure about service”
Reviewed 11 March 2009

I stayed at Room 302 and I immediately thought it was good value for money. It had an ensuite bathroom, a double bed, air conditioning, a tv, refrigerator, two sofas, and tea and coffee with a kettle. All for USD 15. Ive gotten much less for that rate. However, after I checked out of the hotel to go to Halong Bay overnight, I returned to check into Room 102.

Room 102 was another experience - a bit of a let down after Room 302. For one thing, it did not have a kettle, and the toilet was, I think smaller. The telephone was tucked on the floor at the side of the bed completely hidden. However, it did have a heater though, so the rooms were all pretty much inconsistent, as Room 302 did not have a heater. But for USD 15, I was pretty much ok - Ive gotten much less for that amount.

Rooms aside, the lobby boys were not as hospitable/friendly/helpful as I would have liked. They rang my room up twice, and both times, they hung up without saying a word, for one (!!!). Presumably they did this to 'remind' me to come down for my taxi - hanging up without saying anything is just rude. One of the boys genuinely tried to help, but the other was surly most of the time.

Overall, I thought that the room was good value for money but my experience with the hotel staff ruined it. If I come again, its likely I will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    7
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
9
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2009

cant remember how we decided on this hotel, but im glaad we did!

we stayed for 4 nights, booked train tickets, tours through the front desk and they were very helpful. spoke decent english and gave us good sightseeing advice for around the city.

the rooms themselves were simple but they were clean! queen size comfy bed, clean linen and towels. TV and internet in the room. Hot showers and an air con that worked well !

The included breakfast was actually quite good and free coffee all day.

The hotel is located in the heart of the old district but only about 5 min walk from the main hub. Its down a small alley off another alley, which at 1st we thought was a bit dodgy but after the 1st night we were thankful. QUIET streets, no noise - a good nights sleep.

Surrounding the hotel are some of the best bars in the old district. We didnt realise untill the 3rd night that only 1 min walk in any direction we'd find some great local restarunts and bars. Bar Mao was our fav (and only 30sec walk away)

All in all this was one of the best places we stayed. They didnt try and rip us off, were very friendly and great value for money !

  • Liked — location and great showers
  • Disliked — some staff had poor english
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bennoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2008

We arrived in Hanoi late at night and arranged an airport transfer through the hotel at a very reasonable rate. Our driver was there to meet us and took us straight to the hotel, we were shown straight to our room and did not have to wait to check in.

The room was very clean and comfortable with a fridge and cable TV; we were very impressed considering we paid less than £5 per night including breakfast. Even though the hotel is located in the centre of Hanoi, we were not bothered by road noise in our room at all. Breakfast was chosen from a small menu and included fruit, bread and eggs and well as Vietnamese items such a noodle soup. Jimmy the hotel manager was very helpful and could answer any queries that we had. I was also a big fan of the free internet.

This hotel is one of the best budget places we found during our 7 month trip around the world and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gemmasnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2008

We booked this hotel through bookings.com and was impressed to have an email through almost immediately from the owner, Jimmy, offering to collect us from the airport. We arrived on a late flight and didn't arrive in central Hanoi until about midnight; when we got to the hotel we had to practically break in, as the owner had left his sons, or other young kids, manning reception. They had fallen asleep and when they woke up, they didn't seem too impressed and were hostile and threatening - not a great first impression. Once we settled into our room though, which was clean and comfortable, things were fine. The hotel was central (although most in the old town are) and good value for money, although we stayed in better ones during our time in Vietnam.

  • Liked — Value for money, meeting other travellers
  • Disliked — Teenage boys left in charge
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine_simpson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2008

Booked into this hotel for 5 nights, so they picked the 3 of us up for free from the airport.
First impression wasn't too good for it is located in a small lane within a small side street. Once we were shown to our room, we were pleasantly surprised for both our rooms were roomy and clean.
Even when Jimmy was not there, we have no problem communicating with the staff although their English were limited.
Conveniently located within the Old Quarter, with easy reach to most attractions. The famous restaurants "Little Hanoi" and "Ladybird" are just around the corner.

Lee
Australia

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — No lift
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank diskali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2008

We had a happy stay at The Ocean Stars II. Great staff , clean room and good location. The manger and the staff can answer all our queries with good details.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — slow internet connection
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank iugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2008

I don't know about other rooms, but we stayed three nights in this small hotel in room 302 with a fridge and own computer with internet. It is small, but clean. Location, service and manager are great! There is a pick up service from the airport and the manager arranged tours, traintickets and hotel in our next citystop for us. Definately a recommendation!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
De Syloia Hotel
De Syloia Hotel
#185 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thang Loi Hotel
Thang Loi Hotel
#334 of 581 in Hanoi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunny Hotel 3
Sunny Hotel 3
#262 of 581 in Hanoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thien Thai Hotel
Thien Thai Hotel
#126 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quoc Hoa Hotel Hanoi
Quoc Hoa Hotel Hanoi
#140 of 581 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Stars 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Stars 2 Hotel

Property: Ocean Stars 2 Hotel
Address: No .10 Dao Dao Duy Tu Lane - Hang Buom | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Stars 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in November 2007, Ocean Stars 2 Hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Hanoi's Old Quarter and surrounded by bustling shopping ancient streets. Ocean Stars 2 is one of the most beautiful and luxurious hotel in the center of Hanoi capital. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Stars 2 Hanoi
Hotel Ocean Stars 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing