We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A complete antithesis to the craziness that is Hanoi!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Ranked #66 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A complete antithesis to the craziness that is Hanoi!”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed at the InterCon Westlake during our visit to Hanoi, and were thoroughly impressed with the service we received. We stayed in a lake-facing room, which was very spacious and comfortable for 2 people. The bathroom, too, was rather spacious with his and her sinks, large bath tub and separate shower. View from our room looking out at Westlake was most tranquil, a complete different experience from downtown Hanoi.

The service from the staff was exceptional. They attended to our requests with utmost professionalism and prudence. The restaurant (in-room service) has decent choice of items from local favourites to dishes from around the world. The hotel is located in a very quiet but convenient area, with a minimart located within 20 yards of the hotel boundaries. Small coffee shops and boutique bars are all a short walking distance around the lake away from the hotel as well.

Highly recommended, especially if you're coming with your family or your girlfriend/wife. Will definitely stay here again when we visit Hanoi!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajputatunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas-Rud, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear rajputatunda,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with the hotel and that the team delivered the service experience that we are known for. Hanoi is a very busy city, everyone seems to be going somewhere all the time. Our hotel does offer an escape from this "craziness" as you put it. Hanoi does have a wonderful charm and innocence also, it still remains relatively untouched and keeps its unique elements close to its heart.

You rightly point out the options available around the hotel, we are very lucky to have so many great restaurants and bars, both western and Vietnamese within walking distance of the hotel. We are currently working on a guide for our guests to have them explore the local Tay Ho area.

Please let me know if I can be of any assistance, I look forward to seeing you back at InterContinental Hanoi very soon.

Thank you

Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,240
    720
    182
    58
    38
See reviews for
376
896
127
413
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the InterContinental Hanoi Westlake.
In summary a really fantastic hotel with first class service; an oasis in the city. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
About a month before our stay the hotel mailed me to ask if we had any special requests etc and to ask if we needed a transfer. We asked if they could organise a 1 day trip to Halong Bay (time restraints prevented us from doing a 2 day trip). Within a day the trip was booked, and was excellent. If you are visiting Hanoi, go to Halong, even for the day, it is truly remarkable.
We took a taxi form the airport, which is about 45 mins (US $12 from memory). Quite a few of the taxi drivers in Hanoi do not know where the InterContinental is situated. If you have a similar experience, tell them to take you to the Sheraton as it is literally next door.
We were upgraded at arrival to a lake suite and taken there on a golf buggy. The room was fantastic, with a kingsized bed, wet room shower and great views over the lake to Hanoi, especially at night. Within a day, it seemed most of the staff addressed me by name and were extremely friendly. The concierge were great, helping us find and book restaurants. Nothing was too much trouble. Internet access is complementary. We had breakfast which was buffet style with a mixture of western and oriental styles. The quality and quantity were excellent, with a great view of the lake. We also had dinner at the Saigon Restaurant, serving Vietnamese cuisine. Food was top quality, and served promptly. The restaurant isn’t cheap (as I guess you would expect from a 5 star hotel). Location-wise the hotel is ~3 miles out from Hanoi (~15 mins in a taxi), set on the lake. This gives the hotel a certain tranquillity, which contrasts with the bustle of the city. Hanoi is busy and hectic; not quite as hectic as Saigon! It’s a great location to chill out and relax.
Things I would have liked to know before going: You do need a taxi to get into the city, which takes ~15 mins (about US $5 from memory). There is an excellent bar at the hotel at the side of the lake. It is however a bit pricey (again as you would expect from a 5 star hotel). There is a small supermarket about 5 minutes from the hotel. Walk up the approach road and turn left onto Au Co. After about 200 metres, bear left onto Xuan Dieu and it’s immediately on your left. We ate at Brother’s Café in the city. It’s a buffet set in a colonial style. Really good food, I would recommend it. There are restaurants near the hotel; we ate at House of Son Tinh on Xuan Dieu (about 15 min walk form the hotel). It was good, but not as good as other places we ate at.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room on the lake, really great setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DowdsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas-Rud, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Pete_Dowding,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. It was terrific to read that the team were able to surprise and delight you. We work hard to try and have a very personal relationship with our guests to ensure we can understand what their needs are.

It looks like you packed a lot into your time in Hanoi. I take on-board your thoughts on the pricing, we do consistently check our pricing against the market to ensure we are offering value for money.

Sunset Bar is my favourite place, they serve a great cocktail and it is the place to unwind and reflect on your day.

Please let me know if I can assist you further.

Thank you Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
113 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Fantastic place to spend a couple of days in Hanoi. The Pavilion rooms, are just a superb and you will never forget the scenery. The Health Club and gym, are great, good equipment and staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeBanaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas-Rud, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Zebanco,

Thank you your remarks, it was great to read your enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Hanoi Westlake very soon.

Thank you

Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This is an oasis of calm in bustling Hanoi, happy to fork out 80,000 dong for cab fare from town and taking a 10 min ride as staying in the city would have been too much. I highly recommend paying a little extra for the club floor as they have a pretty good selection of wines for cocktails daily from 5.30pm to 7.30pm and it is a nice way to end your day in Hanoi before you venture out for dinner again. Service is average as most people have pointed out but could be a Hanoi thing more than anything else.

Stayed in 2 different type of rooms - poolside view and on the lake itself. both good in it's own way but thankfully no problem with insects in December. Breakfast spread is good at the cafe. Would stay again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peonylim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas-Rud, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Pchua,

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments about your stay. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Hanoi is a great place to explore and see what Vietnam has to offer. Our hotel works very hard to get the guest experience right, each guest has their own expectations and we try hard to live up to these.

Club InterContinental is a very special part of our brand, we are constantly trying to ensure we are offering value to the guests. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time there.

The best compliment that we can receive is someone saying that they will return so thank you for this.

Please let me know if I can be of any assistance.

Thank you

Adam McDonald - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

As most of Hanoi is quite a hectic with masses of people and motorbikes, then this hotel on the shore of the lake is like another world. Almost.

The property is nice, the room I stayed was with ample space, in room, bathroom and on the balcony. However, which seemed to be a bit small was swimming pool. They have a very limited number of sunbeds and even in the evening it felt like cramped place.

As Ambassador member, I also got a nice welcome amenity, consisting of different pastries and sweets. Late check-out for evening flight was also provided.

Breakfast was very good, there was many choices - even different flavours of ice-cream and freshly made fruit cocktails.

Would return if again in the city. Next time would be interesting to try out one of the houses that are located closer to the lake.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tango-Xpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas-Rud, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Tango-Xpress,

Thank you for your comments recently, we love to get feedback from our guests. Hanoi's bustling lifestyle can be overwhelming at times so our hotel's resort feel can be a great balance for guests who stay in our fantastic city.

The pool area is an important part of the hotel and one where a lot of guests frequent to enjoy their holiday. This time of the year we do have less lounges out as it tends to be a little cooler so we find there are not as many guests. As soon as it heats up a little more we will get more lounges out there. In summer we will having a late afternoon BBQ as you watch the sun go down for the day, great place to be.

Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Thank you

Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stunning Hotel. Built on the lake with a view across the water which at night is excellent as you sit at the bar relaxing. The rooms are well equipped spacious and clean. The central bar is a relaxing and beautiful space to put the feet up. All the staff were extremelly polite and helpful. Food brilliant. Facilities excellent. The Scottish Freebikers ended their Vietnam Tour in Hanoi and decided to treat themselves by booking the Intercontinental Westlake Hotel and what a treat it was.

Room Tip: The food is excellent in the hotel however there are some excellent resturants near by worth a visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas-Rud, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Dear John W,

Thanks for the feedback and I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and our city. We work very hard to bring the guest experience to life and the team are very motivated to make each guests experience special.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future, please let me know if I can be of any assistance.

Thank you

Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
293 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Location: Quite far from old quarter and city center, but if you can stay Intercon, the taxi fare is cheap for you. LOL. Across town from Vincom to hotel in rush hour mad traffic cost ~120,000VND (US$6).

Room: Got a upgrade to Club room on 4th floor (IHG Platinum member). View from balcony of room was fantastic, exactly like the postcard advertisement they took of the property. Spacious, super comfy bed and think plush pillow top mattress. 4-feature bathroom was enormously spacious. Only complaint I had was the bed should have been 4 feet super single instead of 3 feet single bed.

Hotel staff: You get good Vietnamese hospitality but it is commonly recognized that Hanoi folks are less friendly than Saigon folks. But there is an air among the staff and with that comes the expectation for your tips.

Bellboy: Hotel does allow outside food to be ordered into hotel. Bellboy always escort the delivery guy up but I do tip them. On 1 occasion , I didn't have enough change for 1 bellboy and I have 3000VND. He murmured something ("3000 xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx) which I couldn't make out and hurried off. Later only I realized he probably wasn't happy about the tiny tip. I call for the duty manager and he came up for a chat, which I highlighted the improper attitude of the bellboy. Duty manager was nice enough to apologize.

Wifi: Available in lobby and as high as 4th floor foyer. Any further and is is very hard to connect.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenzSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas-Rud, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Dear LorenzSingapore,

Thank you for your recent comments about your stay. Your feedback is important to us and as always we strive for perfection.

I am glad you enjoyed the room and beds were comfy, certainly our bathrooms are fantastic. Staying with Club InterContinental benefits is great value for money, with the breakfast, lounge area and twighlight drinks each night, so glad you enjoyed it.

I take on board your thoughts on the beds, I think you are referring to King singles. We do not receive many comments about this but I will review and see what we can do.

Thanks for the feedback on the bellman waiting for tips. This is not something we encourage for obvious reasons and we will address this with the team. As an old bellman myself I understand that if you are genuinely helping the guests then gratuities may come your way, but you should never expect them. I will address this with the team about understanding our role.

Please let me know if you are heading back our way, please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Thank you

Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.8 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#82 of 586 in Hanoi
1,732 reviews
4.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
#88 of 586 in Hanoi
1,401 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#54 of 586 in Hanoi
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hanoi Westlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hanoi Westlake

Property: InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Address: 5 Tu Hoa street | Tay Ho District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#13 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#27 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#36 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hanoi Westlake 5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Westlake Hanoi overlooks the 800-year-old Golden Lotus Pagoda on Hanoi's largest lake. It is the only hotel in Vietnam to be featured on Condé Nast Traveler s 2008 Hot List, garnering the honour for a sublime waterfront locale. The historic city centre is within a 10-minute ride, as is a wide range of shopping and cultural venues. The hotel is just 40 minutes by taxi from Noi Bai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Hanoi Westlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hanoi Westlake Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing