We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intercontinental Hotel Westlake Hanoi Vietnam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Ranked #66 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Devon England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Intercontinental Hotel Westlake Hanoi Vietnam”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Did two week tour of Vietnam, this was the best of the best, faultless I cannot praise it highly enough, from the lovely staff, gorgeous room on stilts in the lake (no furniture on balcony if I wanted to be picky). Club facilities were excellent, snacks were gorgeous, free drinks (help yourself beween 5 - 8.30), free internet room, lovely place to chill. Other reviewers said there was no atmosphere - agreed, but don't you make your own? Would go back there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilyntozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Guest,
I am very happy to read your comments and I will share with the rest of the team.
These really encourage and motivate all of us to do our best to bring our guests the great experience.
Thank you and look forward to serving you again soon in the future.

Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,239
    720
    182
    58
    38
See reviews for
376
895
127
413
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

Good location for business meetings - away from high decibel main roads. Short taxi ride into old city. Some rooms are set out on the lake - fairly tranquil, but poses some challenges as there's no shelter to the main building, no elevators (lug your own cases up and down the stairs) and there's no wifi access.
Intercon staff are generally pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superdin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for the comment you posted. I am happy that you like our location and the team looked after your needs.

Adam McDoald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
264 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights. Loved the resort feel to what is essentially a city hotel. Stayed in one of the rooms located on the lake itself. Rooms are very well appointed and they offer a "golf cart" service in case you don't wish to walk to and from the main building to your room. It is only a 10 minute ride to the main city and while not located in the fashionable "metropole" location very convenient.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for your comment. We would like to bring our guests the resort life which can make your stay difference from other hotels in the city.

Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldwide
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Expat adult couple, stayed 1 night in King Deluxe Lakeview room on 4th floor. Great view that you wont necessarily get on lower floors. Also beware that on lower floors in main bldg you'll have the pool just below you - was very noisy even on 4th floor because of early guests out there.
Excellent, adequate, spacious gym with latest LifeFitness equipment. Very pleasant. Pool an irregular shape but possible to find a straight line of about 20m for swimming 'laps'. Lots of restaurants/cafes along Xuan Dieu road, about a 200m walk away.
Room adequate size for 2, w/large bathroom. All furnishings/fixtures etc in new, working condition w/tasteful design. On balcony, though, no chairs.
Wired internet for fee (about $20/24 hrs) in room; free wireless in lobby, and I was able to catch this in the room.
Breakfast what you'd expect - varied, fresh, good presentation, in a scenic indoor spot.
Disappointed upon checkout though. When checking in we were invited to a promotion they were running and we did use this (discounts on goods and services whilst there). When we checked out they informed that we were not entitled to the promotion. They apologized for having given us incorrect info and charged us full price for the things we used/bought. I was shocked that upon admitting fault for the misinformation that they were not offering to cover it. But then, being a long-term resident of Vietnam I found myself not very surprised at all, given that such practices are the rule here and not the exception. I just expected a bit more given the Intercon's attempts at promoting themselves as an elite-level service.

Room Tip: King Deluxe Lakeview room on 4th floor. Great view that you wont necessarily get on lower floors. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianandElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is good that you enjoyed our Fitness Center, our room and our breakfast.
I will brief my team to make sure clearly information and explanation to all guests. We are working hard to bring excellence service to our guest.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful feedback. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and the service is great. They have a good business lounge and fitness room.
I will visit again.

Its slightly out of the main business center of the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slug_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
I am happy to know that you like our Diplomat Lounge and Health Club. We are working to bring our guest great experience by our great service.

Thank you
Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I just stayed at the Intercontinental Hanoi for the second time in 4 years, and i've got to say it's just as gorgeous as last time I stayed.

For around US$200 per night I had a lovely room, including breakfast. Wifi however, was about another $25 per night which was slightly disappointing. Rooms are either in the main building or in little pods over the lake, all are lovely though.

As other bloggers have noted, the Sunset Bar is gorgeous, it's in one of the pods away from the main building with lovely compfy chairs and day beds to enjoy the view with your drinks.

Breakfast was lovely, Pho is a must in Vietnam, and they don't disappoint here!

Taxi fare is around 350,000 Dong to and from the airport. Make sure your driver uses a meter and ignore any suggestion that the fare might be higher at the end of the trip. Insist they drop you at the hotel and that will ensure no sneaky drivers try to take advantage too.

I would definitely recommend the Intercon to other travelers, business or leisure!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a view of the lake, even if your room is in the main building the views can be bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieBizTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
I am delighted that you enjoyed our service. Concerning about wifi, we offer free wifi for all guests in all public areas including restaurants and bars.

We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I have stayed in Hanoi Intercontinental several times and I was very satisfied with this hotel quality. The view on the lake is really fantastic. Rooms are spacious (especially in those buildings on the water) and you can really appreciate the climate of the city. It is close to the old town (however not walking distance), but on the other hand very quiet. Food is very good.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your stay with us. Nicely hear that you like our room as well as our food.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.8 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#82 of 586 in Hanoi
1,730 reviews
4.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
#88 of 586 in Hanoi
1,401 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#54 of 586 in Hanoi
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hanoi Westlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hanoi Westlake

Property: InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Address: 5 Tu Hoa street | Tay Ho District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#13 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#27 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#36 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hanoi Westlake 5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Westlake Hanoi overlooks the 800-year-old Golden Lotus Pagoda on Hanoi's largest lake. It is the only hotel in Vietnam to be featured on Condé Nast Traveler s 2008 Hot List, garnering the honour for a sublime waterfront locale. The historic city centre is within a 10-minute ride, as is a wide range of shopping and cultural venues. The hotel is just 40 minutes by taxi from Noi Bai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Hanoi Westlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hanoi Westlake Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing