We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They saw us as dollar signs not loyal customers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Ranked #66 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We live nearby and eat at the Intercontinental most weeks. The food is good and the staff are lovely. For this reason we pay for a membership card that gives us a significant discount. As part of that we get one night's free stay.

So with the weather hot we decided to escape to their lovely air con rooms and use their pool and enjoy a leisurely breakfast. On arrival we were told that if we wanted a view we would have to pay an additional fee. When we refused they put us in a room that literally had a view of the roof of another wing.

We asked what time breakfast was and they told us that breakfast was not included - despite this not being made clear beforehand. We would have to pay a sizeable additional amount if we wanted it.

Sure, it was a free night's stay but I saw that as a reward for being such loyal customers. If someone is offering us the choice of a room with a view for an extra fee then that means it is available. If we refuse to pay extra then no one is using it. The hotel is making no more money and they've irritated two regular customers in the mean time. To be hit on for extra money as we check in was as subtle as McDonalds trying to upsell large fries. Not classy.

Elsewhere I was shocked to find that the Intercontinental still charges for wifi. This is Hanoi - a city where tea stalls have free wifi. Why does the most expensive hotel in town insist on making you pay for it? Is there nothing the Intercon won't charge for?

Obviously what I had seen as a little bonus for our loyalty was just a way of getting on site so we could be hit on for more money. In the end, annoyed by our treatment we left the hotel for dinner and bought food and drinks off-site.

We like the Intercon and all it's staff. It felt like a real betrayal to be treated in this way.

Room Tip: Don't assume you'll get the lovely views they advertise. Double check you won't be char...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VNexpatHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Good Morning,

Thanks for the feedback from your recent stay, it is always beneficial for us to receive feedback from our local community along with those international travelers who come to Hanoi.

As you outlined in your review, you purchased a Priority Privilege Dining membership. This membership is primarily a dining membership that allows benefits in all our Restaurants and Bars, up to 50% discount if two people are dining. With three great restaurants, Cafe De lac which offers the best buffet in Hanoi, Milan which clearly has the best Italian food and Saigon offering all the best Vietnamese foods you have great choice at use this benefit. Supporting this is Sunset Bar, Diplomat lounge and Le Gourmet. The membership comes with a range of certificates for you to enjoy.

The rooms certificate that comes with the membership is for a complimentary room only so you can spoil yourself with a night away. All the terms are stated clearly in the conditions. I understand you believe that this should have included an upgrade and breakfast also. Thank you for the feedback, we believe that the certificate is a gesture to allow you to enjoy the hotel accommodation along with the dining benefits you enjoy as stated above.

The hotel offer free Wifi throughout the hotel, guests simply need to be a member of IHG Rewards Program, which is free to join and the largest loyalty program in the world for hotels. Any of our team can assist you with this. This then allows you to use free Wifi in 4500 hotels worldwide along with benefits in all our brands that include Crowne Plaza and Holiday Inn hotels.

I hope you continue to enjoy the benefits of the dining program, please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Regards

Adam McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,312)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

986 - 992 of 2,312 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

To start with, I booked club room for the weekend with a night of business prior to that. No welcome fruits or flowers or message. Checked in was bad. One of my colleagues was given the best room even though he was staying for 1 night as compared to my 3 nights. Nothing special was done for my club booking. The staff didn't even tell me where the lounge was or what time it starts. The staff at the lounge, however, were nice & helpful. That was the one of the redeeming factors. Food was good too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Always_travelling88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Always_travelling88,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake.

Without this feedback we cannot improve the quality of the guest experience at the hotel. I am however very disappointed that we did not live up to your or our expectations for service experience. For this I do apologize on behalf of myself and the rest of the team. Please be rest assured that your feedback has been communicated to the team members involved so we can assist them to learn from the feedback and ultimately improve the hotel.

Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel for your future travel needs so we can show you the guest experience as we design it.

Adam McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed here as a conference delegate. The hotel was comfortable and my room had great views towards the lake. Breakfast was wide ranging, with a good mix of international offerings and Vietnamese specialities. I had a little problem changing money as the exchange desk operated on limited hours, so you might want to do this before you arrive at the hotel. The area near the hotel beside the lake is charming and perfect for a early morning stroll or an evening walk.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank MyFairD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear MyFairD,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding InterContinental Hanoi Westlake It is delight to know that you enjoyed staying with us. Our hotel has a unique location which is on the surface of the West Lake. Here you can enjoy wonderful view of the largest lake in Hanoi.

We look forward for your return in near future.

Adam McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

If you want to get away from the hectic side of Hanoi, this might be a good place to stay. For me, however, I was only in town for two nights and it would have been better to be located in the French Quarter for a similar price point.

The staff was really helpful and very nice. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable (though with the sun rising so early in the morning, it would be nice if the wood shades would stay closed instead of popping open).

The price was what you would expect for an I/C.

Room Tip: Perhaps try to get a room that doesn't face the sunrising.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redandpinkmatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear redandpinkmatch,

Thank you for sharing your comment from your recent stay at InterContinental Hanoi Weslake. Your kind feedback about our team really encourage us.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Adam McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just wanted to say what a lovely time we had at the Hotel, celebrating my Birthday and wedding Anniversary!!
The Hotel is stunning, with the most amazing views. We had a panoramic over water room, which was just divine!! Wonderful views from the balcony of the local fishing boats, and sunsets to die for!!
The staff can't do enough for you! They even left a 'Happy Birthday ' cake for me!!, a lovely touch! Gorgeous food in the Italian restrauant, with the best hazelnut pannacotta I've ever tasted!
So well done Adam MacDonald........you and your team are awesome!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sianseamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear sianseamer,

I am very pleased to read your comments. It is great to know that we can deliver the best service to you and you have a memorable birthday and wedding anniversary with us.
Your comments will be shared with the team to recognize their efforts.
Thank you for choosing us and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon

Regards,

Adam McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here two nights in a standard room with club access. We have rather mixed feelings towards our stay.

Pros:

Beautiful hotel
Well appointed bathroom, lovely toiletries and towels
Staff in bars lovely and friendly, could do not enough for you
Quality of food - great from breakfast to the canapés in the club room
Reasonably priced
Gym more than adequately stocked, lots of machines and water

Cons:

We booked through the intercontinental website where we were told payment would be taken in full. It wasn't taken at all which led to a lot of confusion
Upon check in, our card was taken, we assumed to verify our booking. We didn't enter a pin or sign a credit card slip. The check in form, we did sign and next to the deposit amount was nil.
The next morning, we went to check our room service bill having had a lovely night, and the room was showing as unpaid. They said they would deduct it from the deposit we paid. We said we hadn't paid a deposit - it turned out, when we checked in, they took an almost £300 deposit from our card! Nothing was said to us, no one mentioned this and no one certainly gave us a copy of anything confirming this.
We asked to see a manager who told us the amount had been "blocked" on our card. We reiterated the fact that the form we signed said deposit "nil". She apologised but did not seem to care that much! As far as we are still concerned, this was theft. No one had mentioned taking any amount from our card and we gave them our card in good faith and feel this was abused.
My boyfriend was later sorting this as we had to leave early in the morning and the general manager apologised for the "mix up". As far as we are concerned, there wasn't a mix up as we hadn't been told in the first place! Later that night in the club lounge, we watched the manager talk to every table apart from us. Maybe this wasn't on purpose, but it didn't seem good practise to ignore a couple who were not happy with their stay. We went to meet friends for dinner and when we got back there was a printed note and six chocolates by way of apology.
We left the next morning early and to hail our own taxi as there was no one around to do so for us.

Overall, if we had been told about the deposit being taken, we would have had a lovely stay but for a large international chain such as the Intercontinental to take an unauthorised amount from our card, this left a rather sour taste when we left.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thumpergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear thumpergirl,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent stay in Hanoi. I appreciate your taking time to advise us of your dissatisfaction, which is the first step towards improvement of our service. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience this must have caused you. Every effort is made to ensure that our Guests receive the very best service, and we sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance. I hope this incident will not deter you from using InterContinental Hanoi on your next visit to Vietnam and should you require any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at adam.mcdonald@ihg.com

Regards,
Adam McDonald – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A great hotel!! Its in a lake. Get a room over the waters and not the main building and you will enjoy it. Food is great and the staff courteous.Guest rooms are very amply sized and nicely appointed...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bhuvad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Bhuvad,

Thank you for great comment for InterContinental Hanoi Westlake. It is a pleasure to have you staying with us. I am very happy to know that you like our rooms on the lake, our food and especially our staff. We set high standards to ourselves as we believe our lovely guests deserve the best service.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Adam McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
2.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
4.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
0.8 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#78 of 597 in Hanoi
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
#85 of 597 in Hanoi
1,464 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#93 of 597 in Hanoi
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hanoi Westlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hanoi Westlake

Address: 5 Tu Hoa street | Tay Ho District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#27 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#36 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: £92 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hanoi Westlake 5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Westlake Hanoi overlooks the 800-year-old Golden Lotus Pagoda on Hanoi's largest lake. It is the only hotel in Vietnam to be featured on Condé Nast Traveler s 2008 Hot List, garnering the honour for a sublime waterfront locale. The historic city centre is within a 10-minute ride, as is a wide range of shopping and cultural venues. The hotel is just 40 minutes by taxi from Noi Bai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Hanoi Westlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hanoi Westlake Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing