We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hanoi Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Ranked #65 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hanoi Hotel”
Reviewed 9 November 2008

We just returned from Vietnam, Hanoi to be more precise. While there we stayed at the new Intercontinental Hotel. Wow!! These guys have really done it well. For the high-end, there's only the Metropole (downtown) and the Intercontinental (WestLake). Our very capable travel agent, Mr Bac of FriendlyVietnamTravel.com recommended that we book the club room with lake view. The club room package included a great and very private buffet breakfast, free internet and an impressive lounge and facility. This was indeed a good call- we paid a bit more but the benefits were well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank HOWARDLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Manager-ICH, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 6 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate the comments.

Please do let us know if we can assist in any other way

Regards

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,252
    722
    182
    58
    39
See reviews for
378
902
127
416
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2008

A beautiful hotel set on a lake ten minutes from Ha Noi central. Many of the rooms are over water, providing beautiful views from balconies. The interiors are Minimalist Asian, and possess all the latest mod cons.

In terms of facilities, the Sunset Bar was absolutely beautiful. The gym was as good as any I've seen in a hotel. The pool was beautiful as well.

The staff were very attentive and attractive, and made my stay very enjoyable (to the point I extended my stay).

Additionally, I found the hotel to be very good value for money.

  • Liked — Everything.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wandering_Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Manager-ICH, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 6 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate the comments.

Please do let us know if we can assist in any other way

Regards

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Stayed here for four nights whilst in Hanoi and exceeded my expectations. Despite arriving quite early I was promptly checked in and given my room keys.
Every part of the hotel is immaculate and is perfect respite from the hustle and bustle of Hanoi. The 'Sunset Bar' is quite reasonably priced and the staff are very warm and helpful.
Taxis are quite plentiful around the hotel and costs approximately $5USD to get to the centre of town.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Breville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Manager-ICH, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 6 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate the comments.

Please do let us know if we can assist in any other way

Regards

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2008

Beautiful property entirely set on stilts on the Westlake. Well-trained service staff, although some seemed to be struggling with English. Didn't mind though as the attitude to service was good. We got an upgrade to the westlake view room upon check-in.

Nice pool, although a bit small for a hotel this size. This didn't affect our stay though because it seemed the hotel was well below capacity. Very cute tanning beds with a partial covering to shield your face.

Great room service - fast and good food. Drinks by the pool and in the lounge were also great.

Sunset Bar was cute and great for picture taking.

Overall, a sanctuary in overly noisy Hanoi. Only gripe is you'll have to enter the Old Quarter for non-hotel food and shopping.

The only thing that can be faulted regarding this hotel - our room had an LCD TV but no DVD player. We wanted to watch some movies so I called to inquire about having a DVD player delivered to the room. They called back saying they did have a DVD player for dispatch, however it would cost us 40USD. This is unacceptable for a hotel of this stature; especially we were not on business or using it for a conference or anything of that sort.

Also you have to pay for internet access in the room. A bit of a let down. Otherwise, the property is fantastic.

  • Liked — Stunning views and great architecture
  • Disliked — Lack of free internet and having to pay for DVD player rental
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank islandhopper67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Manager-ICH, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 6 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate the comments.

Please do let us know if we can assist in any other way

Regards

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2008

This new hotel is way surpassed my expectations (and these are generally high)

A series of pavillions on Westlake 10 minutes from Hanoi's old quarter.
The rooms are great with tranquil views over the lake with great luxurious bathrooms.
I ate at Milan restaurant (the best Italian food i have had in Asia)

To top it off the hotel has an amazing health club and overall great service. (the guest relations manager Suzi is amazing and incredibly helpful - seek her out for sound advice)

After a day of hectic sightseeing and shopping it was great to finish it off in peace and style with a glass of good wine at the hotels open air sunset bar overlooking the lake.

A great and surprising experience.

A must visit. I will be back.

  • Liked — Room size and lake views.
  • Disliked — Boring room service menu.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas_destinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Manager-ICH, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 6 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate the comments.

Please do let us know if we can assist in any other way

Regards

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2008

Booked the hotel through a friend and got a really reasonable deal. I must say this is for an InterContinental quite an exceptional experience.

The hotels design, the food and especially the service is outstanding.

Most of all I liked the setting.

There were a few hiccups with the room key but that happens everywhere from time to time and the reception handled it really well.

  • Liked — the friendly staff and service provided - outstanding
  • Disliked — one smaller issue i had with the room service which was rectified by the hotel right away
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RolandUO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Manager-ICH, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 6 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate the comments.

Please do let us know if we can assist in any other way

Regards

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2008

This is a fantastic hotel. Service was top class, restaurants are excellent, rooms are great, gym is fantastic - could not fault the hotel at all. I would highly recommend staying there. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in without a doubt.

  • Liked — Everything - could not choose - service was fantastic
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chookie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Manager-ICH, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 6 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate the comments.

Please do let us know if we can assist in any other way

Regards

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.8 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#81 of 588 in Hanoi
1,753 reviews
4.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
#88 of 588 in Hanoi
1,417 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#94 of 588 in Hanoi
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hanoi Westlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hanoi Westlake

Property: InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Address: 5 Tu Hoa street | Tay Ho District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#13 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#27 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#36 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hanoi Westlake 5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Westlake Hanoi overlooks the 800-year-old Golden Lotus Pagoda on Hanoi's largest lake. It is the only hotel in Vietnam to be featured on Condé Nast Traveler s 2008 Hot List, garnering the honour for a sublime waterfront locale. The historic city centre is within a 10-minute ride, as is a wide range of shopping and cultural venues. The hotel is just 40 minutes by taxi from Noi Bai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Hanoi Westlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hanoi Westlake Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing