We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel with exceptional staff and service, highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hanoi City Palace Hotel
Ranked #104 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Tallebudgera, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel with exceptional staff and service, highly recommended”
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Great Place to Stay in Hanoi .Outstanding service and organisation that ran like clockwork from the moment we arrived at the ariport with friendly helful staff waiting for us through every aspect of our stay.

We used Hanoi as a base for other short trips over a 17 day period and stayed in three different rooms at the elegance Hotel and found all to be spotlessly clean, well appointed and relaxing.

The location was great. Only a five - ten minute walk to the lake and other atractions around the old quarter. We were out and about from early morning until late at night and felt safe at all times.

Tour desk was great with well organised professional tours with reputable quality providers which again all ran like clockwork. Amazed to be greeted by smiling happy Hotel staff at Hanoi train station in the pouring rain 4.30am in the morning ready to take us back to the hotle after a trip to Sapa.

At the end of our holiday we spent one last night in Hanoi at the Elegance and on our arrival after four days away - the reception staff greeted us with "welcome home" and that was exactly how we felt.

If you want to be sure your have the best holiday possible in Hanoi - stay at the Elegance Sapphire.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iana014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    233
    46
    17
    12
See reviews for
219
568
126
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Welcomed like family, hotel moto is to exceed expectations and this they do many times over, a real hidden gem. Respectful and smiling staff ensured all we needed and more, including salonpas patch & ginseng tea for headache, evening escort to local pharmacy (staff even added cash from their own wallet when I came up short) and assistance to access english speaking Doctor when needed on our second stay. We had two single night stays but were welcomed to store excess bags between and given access to toilet , shower and given refreshments when we collected bags. Staff even sang happy birthday & provided a surprise birthday cake for our friends.Staff deserve the highest praise, they are the hotels best recommendation.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manpa63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

The staff at Sapphire was absolutely brilliant- professional, helpful, speaking v. good English, smiling and friendly. even recommended great restaurants to eat at.
Room was great with the added bonus of a computer with internet access in every room.

Breakfast was also very good. Due to the narrowness of the building our window was onto the corridor although it didn't pose any problems to my husband and I. My mother in law also could not speak highly enough of the hotel.

My mother in law's bathroom gave a new meaning to the term royal throne!

Would recomend to anyone

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RaeJefferson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

This hotel is fabulous! It was the highlight of my Vietnam trip. From the moment I arrived up till my departure, they never fail to impress and delight me. When I arrived via the prearranged car transfer, the staff came out of the hotel to welcome us. They greeted us with smiles and got us welcome drinks as we wait for them to do the check in. After which, the manager gave us an orientation map of Hanoi city, pointed out the attractions and F&B outlets. He then brought us up to our room personally.

The room is very spacious and clean. Bed is comfortable and there's wifi access and a good laptop in the room. They gave us fresh fruits everyday too!

The staff are very friendly and helpful. They are very pro active and willing to offer advice on where to go and how to go.

I had booked my Halong Bay tour and Sapa tour through them as well. It was very well organized. They arranged a good guide for us, sent us to the train station and even picked us up at 4.30am when we return. Although we had already checked out of the hotel, they brought us back to the hotel and prepared hot coffee specially for us. When a room became available, they arranged it for us immediately so that we can shower and rest before going to the airport.

When I got back to Singapore, I saw that they have even sent me an email asking if I had a good flight back and to express their thanks for staying at their hotel!

This is a fantastic hotel!! Strategically located, clean hotel with very sincere and helpful staff. Will recommend this hotel to anyone going to Hanoi!!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duckieyazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

The staff at Sapphire was absolutely great - professional, helpful, speaking v. good English, smiling and friendly. However, we were not 100% happy with the room. It was modern, nicely furnished and clean, but had no window (narrow Vietnamese buildings, I guess), so even though the aircon worked fine, the room had a a bit of stuffiness feeling to it. Also, although we had a TV, none of the channels actually worked.
On the other hand, great breakfast, and an unexpected detail - laptop in the room was a real bonus. Just make sure that you book a room with a window and you'll definitely be happy to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carsten_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoielegancehotel, General Manager at Hanoi City Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Dear valued guests,

Thank you for your comments on our hotel service. We are happy that you have recognized the efforts of our servicing team and that would certainly be a great encouragement for us to keep on trying our best to serve you.

Regarding your comment on the room, you are right to say that the typical house in Hanoi is a long tube with narrow frontage. We did understand that you had expected an outside, French-window, however, in the bustle & cramped Old Quarter, while almost buildings are being nested together, the outside windows for the rooms at back side are not prevalent. That is why apart from the rooms in front with balconies and/or windows that open to outside, some rooms aback in our hotel have internal windows that look to the décor light-well. However, we believe that with big effort of furnishing the sound proof, the rooms are quiet and away from the noisy streets of the bustling Old Quarter.

The television signal on one day of your stay was disrupted due to a technical problem from the central system which we have also informed tenants whenever they came down to the lobby. We, as a subscriber was noticed from the provider and also tried to switch to an alternative source which has been managed to recover at soonest by that late afternoon.

We once again thank you for your kind support and look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2011

I stayed this hotel for 1 night and then I moved to Hanoi View 2 Hotel. it was a wonder full experience, everything you need is in this hotel. Location great. Rooms great, food great & staff great. if this hotel rate lower, I will stay her for longer.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adammanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We stayed at the Hanoi Elegance Sapphire for two nights while we made our way up to Halong Bay. The hotel is absolutely lovely. The rooms were spacious, with large, comfortable bathrooms. The hotel even provides a laptop computer and free wifi in each room. We paid about $60/night and were amazed at what a good value we got. The best part was the service. One of the hotel employees actually walked me two blocks down the street to go to a pharmacy when I needed something, making sure that I safely crossed the street (if you've ever been to Hanoi, you know that crossing the street is like playing Frogger). I mentioned that my husband was sick, so they brought up a cup of tea and asked later if he was feeling better. When we had to leave at 6am for our flight, they packed us a breakfast to take to the airport. Overall, I'm not sure I've ever stayed at a hotel with such thoughtful, considerate service. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#83 of 586 in Hanoi
528 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#62 of 586 in Hanoi
1,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
#27 of 586 in Hanoi
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
#89 of 586 in Hanoi
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi City Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi City Palace Hotel

Property: Hanoi City Palace Hotel
Address: 106 Hang Bong Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance Sapphire Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#20 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#41 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi City Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated team, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. Staff can speak multiple language ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi City Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elegance 3 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 3 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing