We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay with helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hanoi City Palace Hotel
Ranked #114 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the hotel on three separate days during our recent trip to Vietnam. With $55 per night including a serve to order breakfast, this 2* hotel feels to us like a 3* hotel in the western world.
On one of our stays, we arrived at the hotel in the wee hours of the day (5 am). We were just to stay at the hotel for 3 hours until the pickup by our shuttle to a Halong Bay tour. Despite of the fact that we were going to stay overnight, the staff welcome us and provided breakfast prior to our trip to Halong Bay.
For our overnight stays, we found the rooms are very tastefully decorated and clean with flower paddles on the beds. Even though the size of the room was not large, but it had everything we looked for in a hotel.
We are very satisfied with our stays at Hanoi Elegance Sapphire Hotel. We recommend this hotel to anyone looking for solid value, comfort stay but does not care that much for the bells and whistles.
YHX from Dana Point, California

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Y X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,254)
There are newer reviews for Hanoi City Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

My husband, adult daughter and I stayed at Hanoi Elegance Sapphire for 5 nights in Oct 2012. The room (305) was a spacious family room, with a balcony that faced the street (pretty but the street noise was loud and we did not open the balcony door much). The lobby was small but classic. breakfast was great and the dining room was very comfortable. service was wonderful. staff were friendly and caring and took special attention to all details. They arranged taxis, excursions, dinner reservations, water puppet tickets. But most impressive was how hard they extended themselves to find us a room when our Halong Bay cruise was cancelled due to a hurricane (and there were no open rooms in the entire Elegance chain) - if this was back home in US they would be under no obligation to find a room for us, but after much effort they were able to arrange a switch with another customer and we were able to stay in our room. they even went out in a bad rainstorm to buy some needed toiletries for us. they were always warm, friendly and gracious. Hanoi is a very chaotic place but this place was warm and calm

Room Tip: 305 was spacious family room, many smaller rooms have interior window only
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed 3 nights and left luggage in their care while we did two other trips. On our return each time the genuine welcome and outstanding provision of services, shower facilities, breakfast and sound advice was quite exceptional. The level of service far exceeded anything we have experienced and all the staff - front desk, bellboy, housekeeping and restaurant all consistently looked to provide good service, engage appropriately while all the time appearing to love their job.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 900wanderingwyllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

The best service I have ever experienced, they go out of their way to find out what your doing in Vietnam and then make sure it runs smoothly. These guys do it all, great restaurant suggestions, use the best cabs, book tickets, book tours, late checkouts, great breakfast (including Pho) and more with a great sense oh humour. We really had some fun with the staff.

And the rooms are clean, well appointed, good ac and good priced mini bar.

Hotel is in a central location, we walked everywhere (once we got used to the traffic). But cabs cost nothing anyway.

Don't hesitate staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ant_greeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed 2 nights, the staff were more helpful than any hotel i've ever visited in my life. They organised a train trip and hotel package for us with no fuss. Would stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhyceandnaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We used the hotel as our base with 2-3 night trips to other locales. The very friendly staff often seemed to know our itinerary better than we did. Bags we left in storage would be ready for us in our room and laundry left days earlier would be waiting upon our return. As we packed lightly we sometimes needed same day laundry turnaround. If the daily laundry pickup had already been done, staff would jump on their motor scooters to take our clothes to the laundry. On one occasion we asked for a specific wine for our room. The wait seemed a little long, then we found out they hadn't had it in stock and had sent a staff member to a sister hotel to obtain it for us. Nothing seemed too much for the ever smiling and friendly staff. We have often seen the expression of "your home away from home", but this is the first time we've ever experienced it. Oh, and by the way, the breakfasts are fantastic, the rooms are lovely and the location is perfect.

Room Tip: As with probably every small hotel, the quietest rooms are at the back. That said, the front rooms a...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtraveler1716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Beautiful room and really fantastically done up art-deco in style. The room we got was deluxe, as from photos the other room type looked a little cramped. Didn't regret this as the room was really comfortable, spotlessly clean and the bathroom to die for. The shower had good water pressure and the toilet bowl is very pretty, as you'd see from many pics of this hotel.
The staff was very friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed our stay. Silk street is only up the road, on the same street. There are lots of shops selling silk clothing from budget to high end prices.

Room Tip: book the deluxe, it's a great room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaticaNera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Gratitude Hotel
Hanoi Gratitude Hotel
#267 of 598 in Hanoi
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
#36 of 598 in Hanoi
431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#61 of 598 in Hanoi
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
#92 of 598 in Hanoi
738 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Glance Hotel
Hanoi Glance Hotel
#62 of 598 in Hanoi
559 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi City Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi City Palace Hotel

Address: 106 Hang Bong Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance Sapphire Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#20 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#46 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: £27 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi City Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated team, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. Staff can speak multiple language ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hanoi City Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elegance 3 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 3 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing