We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel- fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hanoi City Palace Hotel
Ranked #107 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel- fantastic service”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

This nice little boutique hotel has a good location (in the Old Quarter), nice, clean rooms and fantastic service provided by all staff at the hotel (yes, all staff). We had planned to stay at another of the Hotel Elegance group (Hotel Ruby) however the deluxe double room was not available so we took the room at the Sapphire instead.

The staff are friendly and helpful, explaining everything on arrival, suggesting restaurants to eat at, organizing taxis for us, and serving breakfast (loved the bircher muesli).
The deluxe room, although a little narrow, was more spacious than I expected (as it is long), and had a window looking into the corridor/light well, rather than the street, but this was still ok. There are some quirky features to some of the rooms such as the ‘throne’ looking toilets/basins (however not all rooms have these).

We stayed a couple of nights, then went on tour to Halong Bay, returned for a night, then went on another tour (to Sapa). On our last return to Hanoi we didn’t stay the night but arrived a the hotel, had breakfast, were given a room to shower in, then got an organized transfer to the airport through the hotel. The staff moved our bags around numerous times with all the coming and going we had – and didn’t seem to mind at all!

All our tour bookings were handled well and it made it easy going through the hotel. The staff looked after our luggage between trips so that we didn’t have to take it with us on each of the short trips.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling_too2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    233
    46
    17
    12
See reviews for
219
568
126
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Vista, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Wonderful staff, very clean rooms, great breakfast, and right in the old quarter. Easy walking distance to touristy areas. Not a great big hotel, but the services made up for it. Tours offered by the hotel can be found elsewhere for a lesser price, but the quality can vary. We did book our tours with Sinh Tours which wasn't too bad.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can be a little noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

just need to agree with pretty much what every one else says about this small boutique hotel. the staff are very helpful - my thanks especially to mr long - nothing seems too much trouble. i would have some minor quibbles with the breakfast and room if this were a 5 star or expensive hotel but what you pay represents fantastic value.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drobnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Very convenient location, room is clean and very comfortable, breafast was hot and tasty. Staff are friendly, warm, and very helpful, they really go out of their way to help guests, it makes a big difference.

We went back to the hotel 1 early morning, after we came back from Sapa by train, since we left our luggages at the hotel. They let us use the shower, brought us fresh towels and soap, even though we already checked out and it was 5:30am.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleepywawa_SR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Lovely experience, unusual but great breakfast as you can choose off a menu, and lovely and clean room. Very central, right on hang bong street so easy to walk, and very nice staff! Go snd see the different streets around it. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kangja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

This hotel is in a good postion and the staff were all very friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable and breakfast was very good. After our trip to Sapa on the night train we came back to this hotel for a couple hours and they let us shower and freshen up before our drive to Halong Bay. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed at the Sapphire hotel for two nights at the end of a three week cycling tour through Vietnam. Having chosen the hotel for its great reviews on Trip Advisor, we had high expectations and it is fair to say that this hotel not only met, but exceeded all of them. Beginning with the warm and professional greeting by their Guest Services Manager, I have never experienced such fantastic service in a hotel anywhere else in the world. The rooms were spotlessly clean, quiet, and comfortable, with great beds and a laptop with free wifi. Breakfast was fantastic, especially since it was a la carte instead of the rugby scrum that often occurs with buffets. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone staying in Hanoi. Class and service at a good price. Who could want more?

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TG119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#82 of 586 in Hanoi
528 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#62 of 586 in Hanoi
1,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
#27 of 586 in Hanoi
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
#84 of 586 in Hanoi
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi City Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi City Palace Hotel

Property: Hanoi City Palace Hotel
Address: 106 Hang Bong Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance Sapphire Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#20 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#42 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi City Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated team, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. Staff can speak multiple language ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi City Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elegance 3 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 3 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing