We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hanoi City Palace Hotel
Ranked #110 of 589 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unbeatable service!”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Yes, this place is always a favourite. A real gem in Hanoi. The customer service is fantastic. Staff were always happy and helpful; offering maps, advice, planning transport, or were just happy to chat and say hi. You can tell they really enjoy working there! Located centrally on Hang Bong, a short walk to everthing that the old quarter offers. There are many great little chicken-noodle-soup restaurants in the area for cheap eats. My room was comfy and had an inside window, which was actually a peaceful escape from the noisy chaotic streets, and not claustrophobic in the slightest. Also a brilliant a la carte breakfast! Loved the banana pancakes and fresh fruit juices!

Room Tip: Choose a room with an inside window for a quiet, peaceful escape from the loud busy streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dingo_woop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    233
    46
    19
    12
See reviews for
220
568
126
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Upgraded to a familyroom. All the staff speak English. The gentleman I think he was the manager was very nice and accommodating. Everythinh was great except for the tour guide they had set us up with. The tour company called APT tour. We had a bad experience with this tour going from Hanoi to Ha Long Bay. The tourguide was inexperience and unprofessional. He didnt know what he was doing.He gave away our seats as well as 4 others who were originally on the bus to other riders from another bus. Our items we left behind were moved and we wereleft to sit on uncomfortable foldable chairs in the aisles for 4 hours.As soon as we came back from the tour we noticed people were sitting in our seats. And that's when we were finally informed by the host that he had given upour seats to others. Throughout the tour he failed to inform us the history behind Ha Long Bay. Lucky for us there was another tour guide on the same boat which we followed. Eventhought we couldn't understand Japanese, but her body language taught us more than our tour guide.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TRLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Great position in the midst of all the old Quarter activity.
We had a 4th floor room at the front with the verandah turned into a terrace so noise not a big issue. Back rooms less likely to have windows to the world.
"Over the top" decor was in fact charming and comfortable....our room and bathroom were great!
Breakfast personalised and pleasant...not a tired buffet.
Best of all were the staff. They were lovely, efficient, careful and proactive.
It seemed that all one had to do was think..."perhaps I should do/book/organise something" and it would be done already! They really "got it" when it came to service and cared about our wellbeing and enjoyment.
Excellence in Ha Noi!

Room Tip: Depends what you like. Front for windows and a bit of noise. Back for quiet but windows to corrido...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed at Hanoi City Palace Hotel with my family for about three nights when we first arrived in Vietnam. The hotel is well located, in the old quarter within walking distance of many attractions. The staff were very friendly and attentive and I didnt feel pressurised by them as someone had mentioned on a previous review. Very comfortable beds and clean rooms with great bathroom, free wi fi and bottled water.
Recommended.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the balcony as it was so fascinating to watch the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palmerrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

From the moment we steppe into Hanoi City Palace we could tell the level of service was raised to a different level. They sat us down and brought us a fresh cold drink. The team had incredible customer service. My husband hadn't been feeling well and they set up some ginger tea. The breakfast was wonderful with fresh homemade like crepes filled with banana and pineapple. It was a great place to stay

Room Tip: Try the crepes for breakfast - yummy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kedmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week en route for Vientiane (where we intend living for a while) and we absolutely loved it. I have never come across more attentive staff who went out of their way to help: looking up locations showing the match I wanted to see, giving suggestions for shops and restaurants. When I needed dollars and found the banks don't sell them, the manager personally escorted me to an agency ten minutes away where he changed my euros into dollars at the current xe.com rate with no commission.

The bed was the biggest we have ever seen and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful and the hotel's location is perfect for exploring the Old Quarter.

When we arrived they found out we were on honeymoon, so when we returned to the hotel on the second night they had decorated the room and left a chilled bottle of white wine and a special 'Happy Honeymoon' cake on our bed! (see photo)

The one piece of advice - and it applies to ALL budget and mid-range Vietnamese hotels - is that a room described as having a window will not necessarily have a view. Vietnamese buildings are tall and thin and often back onto other buildings (especially in Ha Noi), so often only the rooms at the very front will have what we call a proper window or balcony. Other rooms have a window but it opens onto a dividing wall only a metre away. So if staying here, opt for the Junior Suite rather than the Deluxe or Superior (we upgraded for just $10 a night).

Bear in mind that if you opt for a room at the front, it is a bit noisy, day and night, but that is Ha Noi - eight million people with four million motorbikes! It will be the same in any hotel!

Room Tip: Best rooms are the Junior Suites at the front of the hotel but they will also be the noisiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruairi1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Hotel is nice and ltean. Breakfast has everything you could ask for and more, you order until you are full.
I have never experienced more friendly staff anywhere, they really went out of their way to help us arrange everything we needed for our visit

Room Tip: Ask fro a room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
#33 of 589 in Hanoi
420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#60 of 589 in Hanoi
1,011 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
#90 of 589 in Hanoi
735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#87 of 589 in Hanoi
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angel Palace Hotel
Angel Palace Hotel
#85 of 589 in Hanoi
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi City Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi City Palace Hotel

Property: Hanoi City Palace Hotel
Address: 106 Hang Bong Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance Sapphire Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#20 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#43 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi City Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated team, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. Staff can speak multiple language ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi City Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elegance 3 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 3 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing