We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service at Hanoi City Palace!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hanoi City Palace Hotel
Ranked #110 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous service at Hanoi City Palace!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were treated like royalty at the Hanoi City Palace Hotel. They provided comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast selections, tour information and even some language lessons. Cam on rat nhieu!

We thoroughly enjoyed meeting Pham, his wife, and the rest of the staff and we would return to this hotel gladly on another visit to Hanoi.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    233
    46
    18
    12
See reviews for
220
568
126
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Great location, lovely boutique hotel & delightful staff. We learnt on arrival however that our family suite was no longer available. We'd been switched to a junior suite, on the assumption this would suit our booking of 2 adults, 2 kids & to accommodate another guest's request for a longer stay. The junior suite (1 king bed + 1 foldaway) is really nice & would be fine with 1 child, or maybe 2 little ones, but we felt it was too small for 2 adults & 2 tall pre-teens. The hotel staff quickly agreed, were profusely apologetic & moved us to the larger family suite (1 king + 1 double) the following morning. The larger room was perfect for our family.

Apart from that initial issue which was quickly sorted, everything about the hotel (rooms, location, etc) & its staff reflects their many positive reviews. They were always very keen to help us with whatever we wanted to see or do. We love trying local food & got fantastic tips from the reception staff as to great local mon-touristy places to eat.

Overall, the hotel manager & his staff did their utmost to ensure we enjoyed our stay & we'd be very happy to stay here again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We were unfortunately given a far smaller room than what was booked. However, they did offer a free ride to the airport as compensation which we accepted, after some bad tax experiences here!

The shower's hot water ran out after just a few seconds each time, but the room was generally clean, quiet and the staff very friendly.

We tried to order room service around 7pm as we were worn out, but were told that the chef had gone home. However they did point out a fantastic restaurant which wasn't far to go and we loved it!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwitravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhongPham, Owner at Hanoi City Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear kiwitravellers2

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we have noted down on your comments and will at ways to improve.

“Wrong room” To overcome the weaknesses of OTA (such as room status is not up to date on weekend or on their holiday time) we have upgraded our booking system at our official site hanoicitypalacehotel.com for the most convenient, up to date and instant booking

“bad tax experiences” We would like to say sorry for the inconvenience with the taxi as we try to minimum the problem but at time it is still a kind of out of control
Overall we would also like to thank you for your feedback. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Hanoi City Palace Hotel.

Thank you and warm regards,
Phong Pham
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were recommended this hotel by good friends in Melbourne. When we arrived we stepped in from the busy old quarter street and were greeted by wonderful staff and served a welcome drink, much appreciated after a long trip. Our first impressions of the hotel was beautiful old world charm with marble floors, marble columns, ornate ceilings etc.Our room on the 2nd floor was modern, clean with a balcony overlooking the street which has double glazing so nice and quite at night, air conditioning, free internet, tea and coffee, a kingsize very comfortable bed and a bathroom like it came out of a French villa (beautiful). Breakfast is served in a charming room by very attentive staff (you must try the exquisite pancakes). Nothing was to difficult for the staff, arranging tours, advising where to eat etc. Then there is Mr Phong the hotel manager what ever you needed he is there to make it sure it came about. Arranging internal air flights, accommodation in Hoi An and Ho Chi Minh making sure we had good rooms. this was our best hotel on our Vietnam trip. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: A front room with a balcony looks on to the busy old quarter street . The windows are double glazed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I spend one day before and nearly 2 weeks here after a built with "Habitat for Humanity"
The staff was very helpful from the get go:
-The help me getting the right SIM card for my cellphone with a good coverage with where I was going to be. Today it was $16US for one month and 5GB of data (and I used 4.5GB)
- finding place for 12 to go out to eat
- arranging transportation for day excursion
- breakfast is included - but I asked something different every day
the place is very clean and well maintain the staff is so friendly they are like a concierge services in high gear

I'll be back here next time

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jf_in_Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Without any doubt this was the best hotel we stayed in on our entire tour of Vietnam.

A hotel with real character, conveniently located within Hanoi Old Town. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the facilities within the rooms are modern. As with most hotels in Vietnam some rooms don't have windows but we were able to upgrade at a decent price.

However, what really made this hotel stand out was the warmth of the staff and the high level of customer service throughout our stay. The staff are welcoming, helpful, knowledgable about the local area and the best places to eat the local cuisine and can communicate in English extremely well.

Thank you to all the staff for an excellent stay.

We would undoubtedly stay here again next time we visit Hanoi.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unazukin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I recently stayed 4 nights at this great hotel during a Habitat for Humanity GV trip. The hotel is very nicely appointed and in a very central location, but what sets it apart from the rest is the excellent service by the staff. Pham and his team have an excellent customer service focus and no detail is too small for them to attend to. The price, location ands quality of service make this hotel an incredible deal. I have many free nights accumated at majot global chains, but my next trip to Hanoi, I would skip them and stay at the hanoi City palace Hotel.

Room Tip: The front rooms have balconies that open on to the very bust street, Hang Gai. I liked being able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SE_AD_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#62 of 591 in Hanoi
1,024 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
#35 of 591 in Hanoi
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angel Palace Hotel
Angel Palace Hotel
#82 of 591 in Hanoi
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Glance Hotel
Hanoi Glance Hotel
#61 of 591 in Hanoi
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Splendora Hotel
Splendora Hotel
#45 of 591 in Hanoi
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi City Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi City Palace Hotel

Property: Hanoi City Palace Hotel
Address: 106 Hang Bong Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance Sapphire Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#20 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#44 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi City Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated team, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. Staff can speak multiple language ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hanoi City Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elegance 3 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 3 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing