We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hanoi City Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$168
US$126
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$318
US$249
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$274
US$243
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$107
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$144
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$111
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$66
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,254)
Filter reviews
1,254 results
Traveller rating
944
233
47
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
944
233
47
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalong bayold quarterhang bong streetthe hotel stafffamily suitebreakfast staffhotel is centrally locateddeluxe roomphoairport transferinternetphamhearttoursmaplakechaos
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 1,254 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My personal best hotel experience ever thanks to amazing reception staff and management. Hotel has an excellent location for sightseeing in an old Hanoi part of the city. Extremely close to upscale restaurants and shopping. Room amenities are 4 star with large washroom with Jacuzzi style bathtub, room includes laptop computer. What made all the difference however and stay extremely enjoyable for my wife and I was extremely attentive reception staff who assisted us with every request (booking tickets to art venues, tours, motorcycle rental, train tickets, etc.). Amazing service and I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

Room Tip: rooms on lower might have a better water pressure as on our last day we had minor issues on a fifth floor with water pressure when taking shower
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were treated like royalty at the Hanoi City Palace Hotel. They provided comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast selections, tour information and even some language lessons. Cam on rat nhieu!

We thoroughly enjoyed meeting Pham, his wife, and the rest of the staff and we would return to this hotel gladly on another visit to Hanoi.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Great location, lovely boutique hotel & delightful staff. We learnt on arrival however that our family suite was no longer available. We'd been switched to a junior suite, on the assumption this would suit our booking of 2 adults, 2 kids & to accommodate another guest's request for a longer stay. The junior suite (1 king bed + 1 foldaway) is really nice & would be fine with 1 child, or maybe 2 little ones, but we felt it was too small for 2 adults & 2 tall pre-teens. The hotel staff quickly agreed, were profusely apologetic & moved us to the larger family suite (1 king + 1 double) the following morning. The larger room was perfect for our family.

Apart from that initial issue which was quickly sorted, everything about the hotel (rooms, location, etc) & its staff reflects their many positive reviews. They were always very keen to help us with whatever we wanted to see or do. We love trying local food & got fantastic tips from the reception staff as to great local mon-touristy places to eat.

Overall, the hotel manager & his staff did their utmost to ensure we enjoyed our stay & we'd be very happy to stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We were unfortunately given a far smaller room than what was booked. However, they did offer a free ride to the airport as compensation which we accepted, after some bad tax experiences here!

The shower's hot water ran out after just a few seconds each time, but the room was generally clean, quiet and the staff very friendly.

We tried to order room service around 7pm as we were worn out, but were told that the chef had gone home. However they did point out a fantastic restaurant which wasn't far to go and we loved it!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kiwitravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhongPham, Owner at Hanoi City Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear kiwitravellers2

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we have noted down on your comments and will at ways to improve.

“Wrong room” To overcome the weaknesses of OTA (such as room status is not up to date on weekend or on their holiday time) we have upgraded our booking system at our official site hanoicitypalacehotel.com for the most convenient, up to date and instant booking

“bad tax experiences” We would like to say sorry for the inconvenience with the taxi as we try to minimum the problem but at time it is still a kind of out of control
Overall we would also like to thank you for your feedback. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Hanoi City Palace Hotel.

Thank you and warm regards,
Phong Pham
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were recommended this hotel by good friends in Melbourne. When we arrived we stepped in from the busy old quarter street and were greeted by wonderful staff and served a welcome drink, much appreciated after a long trip. Our first impressions of the hotel was beautiful old world charm with marble floors, marble columns, ornate ceilings etc.Our room on the 2nd floor was modern, clean with a balcony overlooking the street which has double glazing so nice and quite at night, air conditioning, free internet, tea and coffee, a kingsize very comfortable bed and a bathroom like it came out of a French villa (beautiful). Breakfast is served in a charming room by very attentive staff (you must try the exquisite pancakes). Nothing was to difficult for the staff, arranging tours, advising where to eat etc. Then there is Mr Phong the hotel manager what ever you needed he is there to make it sure it came about. Arranging internal air flights, accommodation in Hoi An and Ho Chi Minh making sure we had good rooms. this was our best hotel on our Vietnam trip. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: A front room with a balcony looks on to the busy old quarter street . The windows are double glazed so quite at night.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews