We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanoi City Palace Hotel
Ranked #148 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2009

There is a reason this Elegance hotel consistently gets good reviews - it deserves them!

We could only stay here one night as it was fully booked. The hotel found us a room for the other night we were in Hanoi though, and walked us there and moved our luggage there and back for us.

Mike the Guest Services Manager was brilliant!

The room we stayed in was small, but thoroughly modern. A computer with internet in the room - just brilliant! Nice bed, nice furniture. Great breakfast. Excellent staff.

And easy transfer to and from the airport. Thanks! We would love to stay here if we are even in Hanoi again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tullobay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 964 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2009

My husband and I stayed for 5 days in March and found that the Elegance 3 more than lived up to all the positive reviews. We stayed in a suite and loved the space and natural light and the cost was still so reasonable. The staff were truly outstanding; they could not do enough to help, and always with such a cheerful manner. One day we had left the Do Not Disturb sign on our door all day so returned in the late afternoon to a messy room. It was our mistake and we just asked for clean towels. Within 15 minutes our room had been perfectly cleaned by pleasant team of 4! One feature we were happy to discover was the HSBC bank machine just outside the lobby. On a future trip I would have confidence in this hotel doing bookings such as the train to Sapa. Without question we will recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JDFOttawaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2009

Its great to be able to learn of this hotel from this site so a big thankyou to fellow reviewers. Staff was the standout at this hotel- they just wanted to serve you and feed you more- make sure you are having a great time. The marble foyer is really something- the location is awesome and what value for money. Noise was not a problem for us but could be a potential problem however I would not let this deter you as the type of guest here would be considerate I think (from our room I could hear toilet, shower etc).The only other negative comment sorry was that we checked out of hotel at 6:30 one morning and apparently breakfast starts at 6 but they arrived late and the other staff did it for us so we just got the basic toast not cooked breakfast. The staff will hail a cab for you as they want to make sure that you dont get scammed. Breakfast was nice and rooms very clean and comfortable- I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beantherePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

The staff was execellent. Nice hotel. We made our booking through internet. The service was like a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rasidsibir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

This hotel (along with 4) has a much better location that 1 and 2 in the sense of a quieter and more upscale area. Service was fantastic from the very first email contact with all changes and tours. Nice that the rooms have their own computer. Rooms were a bit small but adequate.

The only disappointment was the Jasmine Junk overnight boat to Halong Bay. We thought it was incredibly overpriced based on other things in Vietnam. But service and staff on the boat were excellent. Lunch was nice when we arrived but dinner was very disappointing. Rooms were small but nice to have a balcony to see the sights while relaxing. Although weather wasn't too great, we enjoyed the area.

Hanoi is a fascinating city with a sea of motorcycles everywhere. Lots of nice shops, restaurants, bars. Great for just wandering around. The water puppets were very interesting and just the right amount of time to see the skill and beauty of this tradition.

Would like to go back soon. Food was excellent and reasonable!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chikind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2009

It's all been said before. This was the best value hotel we stayed at in our 26 night trip. The location is good, the room's plenty good enough (shame about the view of a wall) and the staff all go out of their way for you. The cafe across the road selling "Pizza in a Cone" was a first!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amp-qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

We greatly enjoyed our 3 nights in Hanoi, including a day trip to Halong Bay arranged directly with the hotel. The PC in the room for internet access was also a great touch and something you just wouldn't expect.

The service was excellent and the city an interesting place to visit and crossing the road was an interesting experience, but one we quickly got use to!! You'll see what I mean when you visit.

If we visit Hanoi again, we would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Just as a comparison we went to the Sofitel Metropole one afternoon for their afternoon Chocolate Buffet (good, atlhough you quickly realise there is a limit to how much chocolate you can eat in one sitting!!). The hotel itself looked nice, but had a rather large hotel feel and the menu prices reflected this. We did consider this as an option to stay in, but at around 3 times the price, I wouldn't consider it unless that sort of hotel is your sort of thing.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank the_hair_thief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Trendy Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Golden Cyclo Hotel
Golden Cyclo Hotel
#383 of 607 in Hanoi
645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silk Path Boutique Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi E Central Hotel
Hanoi E Central Hotel
#21 of 607 in Hanoi
963 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Marvellous Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Hanoi Gratitude Hotel
Hanoi Gratitude Hotel
#203 of 607 in Hanoi
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi City Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi City Palace Hotel

Address: 106 Hang Bong Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance Sapphire Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#17 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#28 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#61 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: £30 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi City Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated team, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. Staff can speak multiple language ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hanoi City Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elegance 3 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 3 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing