We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hanoi City Palace Hotel
Ranked #111 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Service”
Reviewed 2 September 2009

This was a great hotel. Outstanding value. Very clean, comfortable, great breakfast, quiet, not quite as a good a location as Elegance 1 and 2, but a lot quieter, Very atmospheric location in the Old City. What really made it, though was the service. It was the best service if any hotel we have ever stayed at, anywhere in the world! We were treated like VIPs. When we'd travel and come back from elsewhere in the country , it felt like coming home. We miss it. The staff manages to be extremely welcoming and friendly, and extremely professional-a hard balance. They went out of their way for us so many time; we lost count. Do yourself a favor and stay there.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Larry21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    233
    46
    19
    12
See reviews for
220
568
126
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

if you read the previous reviews basically everything has been said : the hotel and especially its staff are a true paradise in the crowded and busy district of old Hanoi !

Thanks to mrs. Thao and all her colleagues we had a great stay in Hanoi. The hotel is centrally located and if you choose eg. room 402 you have a very quiet room (but without a view). Rooms have everything you need (and even more). We asked in advance for a baby-cot and also were provided with a small baby-bath. Breakfast (between 06.30 and 10.00) is super (and can be delivered to your room for free) ; you may chose (several tasteful items) from ca. 8 different menus while sitting in a cosy part of the hotel. Staff is very attentive and remembers your preferences, without being pushy or cheesy.

Examples of staff-dedication to the limits ?
1) Eg. our little daughter had her first birthday during our stay and the evening before she received two big balloons from the staff.
We were picked up by the hotel-taxi (showing the signboard with my name) from the airport and arrived in the hotel as early as 10 am. and fortunately were already allowed to move into our room.
2) While working on the computer in the breakfast-room, the staff immediately came to offer me a cool glass of water.
3) On Sunday I wanted to visit Halong Bay and arranged the tour through the hotel; 30 USD per person for a one day trip (from 8 am. to 8 pm.; but if you have time : stay overnight !) with a small group of 10 : an absolute must and soon to be chosen as one of the seven Natural Wonders of the World !). However, I also wanted to see the Ho Chi Min mausoleum (which opens at 07.30 and closes at 10.30 am) before departing to Halong Bay, which would normally be impossible. Nevertheless, hotel-staff arranged with the tour-company that I was the last to be picked up from the hotel.
4) During our visit to the neighbouring night-market (only on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays, from 18.00 - 24.00 hrs) my wallet was stolen (a stupid unattentative provocation from my side to leave it in one of my pockets ....; be careful at such very crowded places !) and the next morning mrs. Thao accompanied me to the police-station (3 times) and arranged a police-declaration (not that easy, as the police don't like to see their crime-statistics turn more negative ...).

Leaving the hotel (by hotel airport taxi; 16 USD; not a bargain but without hassle) gave a sad feeling : after only two nights in the hotel we felt like at home .....

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MichaelNieuwegein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

During my last trip to Hanoi, I decided to book this hotel because of so many good comments about the place. Because I normally traveling on business, I chose to stay in a more expensive hotel, but I was wrong all along. Hanoi Elegance 3 answers all my needs much better than 4 or 5 star hotels!

I requested an airport pick up from the hotel, which costs a little bit more than normal taxi fare, but much better than being asked questions and being suggested service that I don't need along the way. The hotel check-in was smooth and the hotel arranged the room for me earlier than normal check-in time.

The room is basic, with an ok bed, powerful hot shower, cable TV (that I never watched), and free internet connection in the room. The hotel actually provided desktop computer in room, but I mentioned that I'd like to use my own laptop. The hotel manager immediately asked the staff to remove the desktop so I could have more space to work on my laptop.

The staff are so friendly and trying hard to meet every request efficiently. the level of English is very good. They were so attentive that they remembered where I normally took taxi to every morning, and that I prefer my drinks with ice. If I requested for something twice, they'd provide it for me without having to ask again. The staff both morning and evening shift, recognized me by the face and provided me with the key without asking for the room number.

This is a 5 star service that even a certain 5 star hotel in Hanoi cannot provide. Next time I'm in town, I'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank breakofdawning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCMC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Quiet and clean, a rare find in itself for a hotel located in the Old Quarter.

Staff very professional and helpful, fluent in English.After we checked out, we were in the Hanoi train station trying to get onto our train bound for Sapa. It was chaos in the the train station and I called the hotel for help as the counter staff did not speak much English. The Hanoi Elegance 3 staff turned up at the train station within minutes after my call to help us get onto our train.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cloudlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Stayed 4 nights in this delightful hotel. We arrived in the morning after breakfast. Realising we had not eaten that morning, they insisted on serving us breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff went the extra mile. Rooms were large and cleaned thoroughly each day. There was a good choice of breakfast and fresh fruit in our room each day. Free internet service was a real bonus. Thank you Nam Elegance for looking after us so well!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaryCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

As soon as we arrived at the elegance 3 we were welcomed by the friendly staff and calm atmosphere. It is our frist visit to Vietnam and this hotel made everything so easy for us; booking our water puppet theatre trip, halong bay tour and flights to Hue. The staff went out of their way to be helpful wherever possible.
The room was clean and spacious and very quiet.
The hotel is located a short walk from the Lake and also some good places to eat.
This hotel and our experiences in Hanoi marked the start of what has been an amazing honeymoon!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank winks76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Our 9 night stay at HE3 was everything and more than the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor.
The staff felt like friends, the room felt like home with tea and coffee making facilities, TV and internet. Breakfast was excellent (personally would have liked muesli as an option). Nothing was too much trouble. When I became unwell they arranged an appointment at Family Medical Centre staffed by international doctors, well done!

Rarely have I met such a team of people working together with such a common aim- the guests satisfaction. We return at the end of August for a few days and can't wait to be at a true home from home!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#60 of 588 in Hanoi
1,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
#34 of 588 in Hanoi
419 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#85 of 588 in Hanoi
528 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
#87 of 588 in Hanoi
735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angel Palace Hotel
Angel Palace Hotel
#84 of 588 in Hanoi
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi City Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi City Palace Hotel

Property: Hanoi City Palace Hotel
Address: 106 Hang Bong Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance Sapphire Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#20 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#43 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi City Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated team, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. Staff can speak multiple language ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi City Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elegance 3 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 3 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing