We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff were probably the most helpful and obliging I have ever come across in a hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hanoi City Palace Hotel
Ranked #104 of 585 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The staff were probably the most helpful and obliging I have ever come across in a hotel.”
Reviewed 27 November 2010

We only stayed one night, but kept returning between trips on 3 other occasions, for each of which we had free luggage storage and showers. They also gave us a free meal for the train.

The staff were probably the most helpful and obliging I have ever come across in a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graticular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    232
    46
    17
    12
See reviews for
219
567
126
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Stayed 6 nights on and off during my travels. Fantastic Hotel. Staff always attentive, charming, welcoming. If only there were more hotels like this around the world. Great value. All the hotels of this chain (three others in Hanoi) are good as well.
Great central location for walking to places of interest and just being in Hanoi - which is an amazing City.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickTheobald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Very friendly and helpful staff. Very clean rooms and great breakfast menu. Only problem we had was being woken on the second night we stayed by, what we think was, the airconditioning unit for the whole hotel. Sounded like it was just outside our door. We stayed in Room 503 which is right next to the stairwell and not sure but seemed to echo right up the stairwell. Otherwise, would stay there again. Location was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesanniam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoielegancehotel, General Manager at Hanoi City Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2010
Dear valued guests,

Thank you for your comments on our hotel service. We are happy to know that you had a good time in Vietnam.

As we are always trying our best to continually improve our service and facilities, kindly be informed that during your stay we have conducted an experiment with the new water pumping system as a back-up for the current one, that caused the unexpected sound on your 2nd night stay. Since then, our technicians have managed to adjust it correctly and the gear is in good function now.

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that may have once caused to you and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you for your kind understanding.

Sincerely yours,

Hanoi Elegance hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

This hotel gets it. They are great to work with (joke right back with you), speak fluent english (no need to talk caveman), took care of ALL the details (without asking) and the accommodations were worth every penny. Clean, comfortable and a welcome break after countless planes, trains and automobiles. Used Hanoi as our hub while we toured 3 other cities. After each city we returned to the Sapphire for a night before departing to the next city for 3 days. The staff took care of all of our transfers and transportation, offered to help with every aspect we overlooked and made us feel right at home. We can't recommend this hotel (and the staff) enough.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YnotCtheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We stayed in Hanoi for three nights and this hotel was very good. The breakfast was one of the best ones we had in Vietnam with really good with a good choice of food and drinks, inclucing omlettes. The service excellent with nothing being too much trouble. Our room was comfortable and quiet. On walking out of the hotel you are right in the hustle bustle of city life and most things are only a short walk away. The hotel might be expensive by Vietnam standards but no more than a cheapish B&B in the UK. Book well in advance though if you don't want to be disappointed.

This also applies to internal flights which we used to save time. Flights generally need to be booked about two to three weeks in advance if you want half decent availability or pay over the odds. We just about managed it with a weeks notice but occasionally ended up paying higher fares and wasted time there with bookings.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wodonga, Victoria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

We originally booked 2 nights in another hotel before we left Australia. I had done some research, on Trip Advisor, and written down names of other popular hotels - lucky I did. We weren't happy with our first hotel and set off to find an alternative.

Due to our very limited knowledge of Hanoi, we set off with map in hand and fate lead us to Hotel Elegance Sapphire!! We were greeted with open arms and Tui became our second 'mother' - (sorry Tui - we know we were almost old enough to be YOUR mother!!) After being given cool drinks and towels, Tui sat with us and organised the rest of our trip as we had no real plans apart from wanting to travel to Hoi An. She advised us that the weather was shocking and there was flooding (and she was right - a hurricane was forcast not long after!). Tui organised pick up from our exsisting accommodation, after our two nights there, trips to Ha Long Bay and to Sa Pa. I didn't even check out prices as I know many people had already written (on Trip advisor) how reasonable they were!! Every side trip we went on, we were accompanied by a HE Sapphire staff member to our point of pick up and there was someone waiting for us when we returned. The only time this didn't happen was on our return from Ha Long Bay. Due to Hanoi's 1000th birthday celebrations, mini vans weren't allowed in to the city centre so we were dropped in an unknown place - which was a little scary. After a phone call to HE Sapphine, Vin - our night in shinning armour, came to our rescue on his motor bike. He organised a taxi back to the hotel!

When we travelled to Sa Pa, Tui called our Tour Guide to check if we had been picked up from the train OK and to see if everything was OK. She then spoke to me and confirm that all was fine. We found this a very kind gesture! By the way - you MUST visit Sa Pa. It is so beautiful and was the highlight of our trip!

The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Yes, we did have an internal window but this didn't worry us!! The bars across the lower part of the window make excellent drying racks!! lol The rooms were still bright and airy as the sunshine still came through the windows (from above!) Fresh water and fruit every day were lovely BUT the best part was a computer in every room. The free internet enabled us to check emails and facebook. Breakfast was delicious. Lots of food with a great variety! Pancakes, eggs etc were cooked fresh!

The hotel isn't large BUT no hotel in the Old Quarter is. All buildings are skinny and tall - due to tax paid on buildings. If you want huge hotels with swimming pools etc you will have to stay in another area. The Old Quarter is the place to be though. You step out the front door and you are in another world. The people, buildings, smells are so different to our world. Shopping is brilliant and the hotel is in walking distance to all local attractions. Fabulous Location!!

Nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful, caring staff at Hanoi Elegance Sapphire!! You won't find them in any travel brochure so ask for them by name or book directly via the internet. We will DEFINITELY be staying here again and we have told our travel agents about the hotel so they can book others there!

Well done Hotel Elegance Sapphire! You should be proud of the hard work you do!!

Love to all from Michelle and Sharen (Australia)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dolphinchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
138 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

Great location. Not the best facilities, but I doubt you can find better unless you stay in one of the American brand hotels. The hotel organised the pickup from airport. We then trusted them to get us to Sapa, HaLong bay and look after our luggage.

Others have already said all the good things about the hotel. I agree. But let me emphasise - this is NOT 5 star, but you will not find anything better in Hanoi unless you want the sterile Sheraton-type place.

Great breakfast (included). Free wifi - pretty fast. Even had computers in the rooms for those who don't have laptops.

I recommend this to anyone less than the business traveller who may find it a little boutique-y

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBeaucoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#86 of 585 in Hanoi
528 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#61 of 585 in Hanoi
1,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
#26 of 585 in Hanoi
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi City Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi City Palace Hotel

Property: Hanoi City Palace Hotel
Address: 106 Hang Bong Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance Sapphire Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#20 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#41 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi City Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated team, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. Staff can speak multiple language ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi City Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elegance 3 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 3 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing