We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good 3 star hotel in old quarter” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Hotel Hanoi

Paradise Hotel Hanoi
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Paradise Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #194 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
182 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good 3 star hotel in old quarter”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

This is an older hotel with high ceilings and good size rooms. It was clean and tidy but when we were there is was very hot (40C) and the airconditioners were struggling to keep it cool. The fittings had been updated although some of the finishing was poor. Bed were typical hard, but this seems to be standard in vietnam. The pool was great. Its small and inside, It was about 30 C which was a lovely place to cool off. I think it is the only hotel in the old quarter that has a pool.
Even though the city is very noisy we had rooms that had windows into stair wells and thus it was quiet at night. Obviously there were no views but the stairwells had natural light so you didnt feel enclosed.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was ordered off a menu, which was had a good assortment but it was not up to the standard of the buffets we had encountered at other hotels. Croissants were bread rather than pastry. But it was an ok breakfast.
The rooms had a computer with an internet connection which was very good.
We were later moved to Paradise 2 because that were overbooked. I would not agree to this again. The rooms At Paradise 2 are new, but a lot smaller and there is no pool. They say its only 5 minutes away, but in the heat the benefit of the swim would be gone by the time you walked to the other hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    13
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
29
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
233 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2010

I was directed to this hotel when my first choice was full.

The rooms are fine. The A/C sometimes stopped for unknown reasons but only when the rooms were cool. Free wifi was available but sometimes rather slow. The shower in my room was located so that it was hard to avoid it wetting the bathroom floor. The hot water also ran out during my first shower so from then on I conserved my hot water. Contrary to another review, there is an elevator in this hotel.

One negative was the phone charges. They first wanted to charge me VND 140,000 for a few local cellphone calls. After I questioned it, they mysteriously managed to come up with a lower charge, about half as much. Since it wasn't much money, I paid. Here I believe I was overcharged.

The breakfast was good. The service was very attentive overall with a number of hotel staff eager to offer good service. But USD 40 may be a tad overpriced for this level in Hanoi. The hotel is located on Hang Bac which is in the middle of the Old Quarter. It is very convenient for late night eating for example.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

My husband and I stayed here after having read other reviews and were also attracted by the the free car service from the airport. The hotel was clean, the room was spacious, towels and linen were perfect and the computer in the room was an absolute luxury as we dont generally travel with a laptop. We had a room with an indoor window, it looked down on the reception which was great because Hanoi is a noisy place!! The breakfast wasnt anything special but at least the dont charge you extra for extra fruit or yoghurt. The staff were ok, friendly and helpful but not overly so. I would stay there again as the standard is good but I just feel that at $60 a night it is overpriced when we were able to compare with prices further down south.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cailin_stef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2009

We booked this hotel in advance via the internet. Initially seemed good - we were picked up from airport as arranged. However, on arrival were told that there was a problem with our booking (which was for four nights) and that we could only stay that night, then would have to move to another hotel for two nights, and then come back for one night. As we were travelling on business, this was extremely inconvenient (as it also would have been if you were on a holiday!).

We were reassured that the new hotel we would be checked into would be of the same quality or higher (Paradise Hotel already had our money for four nights via the website we had booked through). On first glance the new hotel did appear to be similar - in fact it is not at all, and is very poorly set up for business travellers. However we were told there weren't other options, and to take it or leave it (which would have involved leaving our pre payment as well!).

Staff initially apologetic, and then just difficult. Would probably be fine for walk up travellers, but don't pay money in advance through any of the internet booking systems

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frustrated_in_Hanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
160 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2009

nice clean room, in a great location, but the owner and staff are extremely pushy and try and hook you up with every tour, special etc etc that there is going. gets to the point where you run through the foyer.

  • Liked — quiet
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneyslicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2008

My wife and I arrived late in the evening, tired after a long journey. Got an upgrade to a family room, and the receptionist, a charming young lady sent out one of her lads to get dinner for us. This hotel is well placed for visiting all the attractions of the city on foot if you've got the energy. It is in a very vibrant and noisy part of the city but the hotel is quiet and the rooms are very comfortable. We had a 3 night stay and after 2 nights they asked us to move to a standard room because they had a family arriving. They had all been such friendly and helpful people we were very pleased to agree with this request. We packed our bags and went out for the day, when we got back everything had been moved to our new and equally comfortable room. We couldn't fault this place, it offered good value for money, the free breakfast was as good as you'll get in this city and the staff are really lovely people. We'd like to call again. Best wishes to all the staff.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — No restaurant
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jugface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2008

After arriving off a long train journey from Sapa we were greeted by the lovely staff of this hotel. On first viewing the hotel was more than adequate and the staff offered us facilities to shower etc. We originally booked this hotel for 3 nights but due to commitments elsewhere we could only stay 1 night. We informed the staff of this and were told no problem. After a while the staff informed us that there is a hotel condition that they must recieve 2 days notice for cancellations and told me I had to pay for the 2nd night even though i would not be there. The receptionist produced this piece of paper from the manager stating the conditions but it was not from the offical hotel website and from another website therefore he had no comeback with me. After being put out by this,by me being right and him in the wrong I then went later on to pay my bill due to early check out the following morning only to find that 2 calls to Ireland cost 48 USD!! This hotel is a total rip off, the breakfast is not good, and you will defintitly find better for cheaper in better locations. It looks a great hotel and bargain - my advice forget it..

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
1.3 mi away
Hong Ha Hotel
Hong Ha Hotel
#324 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Paradise Hotel
Hanoi Paradise Hotel
#60 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.9 mi away
Golden Lotus Luxury Hotel
Golden Lotus Luxury Hotel
#132 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Ann Hanoi
The Ann Hanoi
#63 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
May de ville City Centre II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Hotel Hanoi

Property: Paradise Hotel Hanoi
Address: 45 Nguyen Truong To, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing