We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best service ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sherwood Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sherwood Residence
Ranked #20 of 447 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best service ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Excellent service, the apartment was spacious and very clean. The facilities were great... Overall worth every penny. Thank you to all the staff making our stay a delightful one.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phucdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Thank you very much for your very complimentary feedback posted on trip advisor.

We are indeed, very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and trust that you will continue to come back again to the Sherwood Residence Pasteur.

Your comments have been shared with all our associates and they were very pleased to know that their efforts have been duly appreciated and recognized.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    135
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
304
34
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

Currently staying at the Sherwood and about to leave to go home.
On the surface a nice place but scratch the surface and you will find aa lot to be desired.
Accomodation 2 star
Food 1 star
Service 2 star
Free bus service 5 star

Waiters cannot remove corks from wine bottles, chefs cannot cook simple fish dishes and the Saturday barbeque was a complete mess, poor planning, poor service, poor organisation, poor food, we lft in disgust, this was the final straw.

One expects some kind of 5 star standards but sadly not here, training is seriously needed.

Geoff Parkin (Happy to be in Vietnam but disappointed by the Sherwood)

Room Tip: Try somewhere in District 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffPManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
We would like to thank you, for posting your comments during your visit, so that our Deputy Director of Guest Relations, still had the chance to talk to you and rectify the situation to your complete satisfaction.

It is our sincere intention that our guests enjoy all aspects of their visit at Sherwood Residence.

Apologizing once again for the dissatisfaction caused, we wish to anticipate your needs on your next visit with an assurance of our best services at all times.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

This is an excellent hotel , very handy to the main attractions of Saigon......15 minutes casual walk to most. Our apartment was very spacious and well-maintained , with excellent inroom and hotel facilities, including a handy free shuttle bus service adn good security. Very helpful staff who work hard to please their guests.
The hotel also arranged an airport pickup and this was all done very efficiently. A very adequate breakfast was included.
We'd stay there again!

Room Tip: Our 11th floor room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterandPatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your valuable comments on trip advisor.

We are delighted to know that you have appreciated our services and product and thank you for your kind comments by telling us that we made your stay a pleasant one.

It is extremely motivating for us to see that guests appreciate their stay with us so that we keep on going on like this.

At Sherwood Residence we believe in guest satisfaction and to know that you have been satisfied is our reward.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I have stayed at the Sherwood Residence over a half dozen times now and find the apartments a great base for my business travels, but also a fantastic break for a family holiday.
The rooms are spacious and very clean, supporting from 2 to 4 bedroom layouts, good size lounge and dining, and fully equiped kitchen if wanting to cook yourself. Bathrooms are also accommodating with a fullsize bath for a relaxing rest.
The facilities of the Sherwood are extremely functional and also practical, with a private pool area which accommodates for children, and play area, and fully equiped gym which looks out onto the pool. Dining facilities are available for meals, although there are numerous restaurants nearby if wanting something different.
There is secure underground parking in the building, although it is quite easy to get a taxi to anywhere in the city, although utilize the friendly reception staff to translate onto a card for the taxi drivers.

Room Tip: Rear corner rooms are quite and cooler, although all have clear views across the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Thank you for again and again choosing Sherwood Residence as your place to stay while in Ho Chi Minh City and for posting your positive review. The Management team is very delighted to hear that you again enjoyed your stay with us.

It is our aim to always exceed our guest's expectations and this such encouraging review will keep us continue providing the best possible service at all times.

I trust we will see you again soon for another enjoyable and quality stay at the Sherwood Residence - your home away from home.

Best regards,

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We spended more than a week at the Shewood Residence with our 3 children.
This was a wonderful week. The hotel is very well located, in the center. The staff did everything for us to be happy. While I was swimming in the wonderful swimming pool where I had plenty of space to do my laps, the kids were playing in the hotel, they even wanted to spend afternoons in the hotel as there are so many activities for them. There is even a cinema !!
Breakfast was excellent, fresh fruits, pastries, differents breads, corn flakes and asian food. In fact, there was everything you could dream of, for all tastes.

The appartments are spacious, clean and confortable, the beds are fantastic. We slept really well.
We wil miss this hotel, where we felt as if were home with much more luxe and love.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your excellent experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment and it is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s hospitality and care as you felt like home with "much more love".

Once again, thank you for your review. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again the 'Sherwood Way' in the near future.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

The Sherwood was a great choice for us to stay in.
Our apartment had 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen and large living room.
The breakfast was good, not a fantastic choice but it set us up for the day.
We ate in the restaurant twice at night and the food was excellent.
The pool area was great, as was the gym.
Its also in a good location, within walking distance of the War Museum and the Reunification Palace. Indeed its an easy walk into District 1.(just watch the traffic)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiana12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Thank you for your complimentary review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at our property Sherwood Residence.

We appreciate your time taken to advise us and the positive feedback regarding the dinner experience and facilities.

It is encouraging for us to receive such praise and we look forward to welcoming you on a return visit.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Great apartment

It was recommended by our trip adviser that we should use these apartments for our last two nights in HMC. We booked online at short notice and got a great deal. From the moment we walked in we were made to feel at home by the friendly staff. Everything was clean and inplace for our arrival with the exception of the third bed (Sofa) not being made up. This was recitifed immediately. Both king and single bed were typical asian standard, hard as a rock and I should of asked for a doona to act as a mattress topper.

We stayed in the three bedroom apartment and it was huge with the bonus of a washing machine and dryer. A supermarket is close for necessities and although this hotel being located in district 1 it is within walking distance of everything.

The pool area is fantastic and games rooms for hire available. There is a cinema for up to 10 people for hire and a large indoor airconditioned toy /play room for toddlers /under 5. The gym is large with modern equipment.

Breakfast was good though a little under the normal selection usually available at a buffet breakfast. Not enough tables, though you can sit at the lounge and tables, but they are more set up for beer and skittles than eating off. This was the only short fall of our stay. We were lucky enough to have a bbq buffet by the pool and it was a great selection of food. We all left extremely satisfied. We had lunch at the hotel and again had a great meal.

I still find it amazing that the allocated smoking area is located on the ground floor and breakfast is on level 1. I know it is acceptable locally but were shocked because smoke rises up to you eating breakfast.

We had a late flight out (2200) so we asked the staff for a late check out. This was done and we were given full access to the hotel facilities til we left, including change rooms and showers. Full toiletries available for use so we only needed to have a change of clothes.

I can say we will be using the Sherwood again on our return to Vietnam and recommending use. it was an excellent place for our three kids and offered good value for money consider you have to try get ajoining rooms in a hotel if you have a family of five.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tfgclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Thank you for choosing Sherwood Residence as your place to stay while in Ho Chi Minh City and for posting your positive review. The Management team is very delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities, services available and the friendliness of our staff.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your stay with us and truly want to make your experience as pleasant as possible and we hope you will continue to choose Sherwood Residence for your future travel needs in Vietnam.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.8 mi away
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
#26 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Somerset Chancellor Court
Somerset Chancellor Court
#68 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
3.8 mi away
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
#66 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SILA Urban Living
SILA Urban Living
#52 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel
Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel
#35 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silverland Sakyo Hotel & Spa
Silverland Sakyo Hotel & Spa
#17 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Residence

Property: Sherwood Residence
Address: 127 Pasteur St | District 3, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#16 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#38 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#51 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sherwood Residence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on scenic Pasteur Street, Sherwood Residence provides easy access to international schools, consulates, hospitals, and is just a short distance from the Central Business District. An added convenience is the complimentary shuttle service to key shopping, dining, and entertainment hotspots in Saigon's cultural center. Travel assistance is available at the front desk with local and international bookings for weekend getaways or extended trips. And enjoy a direct route to Tan Son Nhat International Airport, just 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sherwood Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Residence Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing