We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still good quality and value.”
Review of Sherwood Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sherwood Residence
Ranked #15 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Still good quality and value.”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed here for the second time in 12 months, only a 4 day stay this time. Stayed here with friends, not family this time, in 3 bedroom apartment.
Same good service and quality as last time. Great location, and only 15 minutes to airport.
This property is the ultimate answer for anyone wanting to stay in Saigon for even a small amount of time, but wants the advantage of "room to move" in a hotel. The pool and services are great for families, and also people without kids. We were on the 21th floor facing Pasteur Street.

Will always stay here when in Saigon.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomwehereInTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Thank you very much for being our returned guest and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

It has been a great pleasure serving your needs and we are extremely pleased that we were able to make your special stay one to remember assuring that you will be back once again in our beautiful city!

Hoping that you and your friends had a safe trip back home we keep on wishing to be able to welcoming you in the very near future!

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    138
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
318
34
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We were very impressed with the Sherwood and we would rate your apartments in the top 2 along with the Somerset Apartments in Bangkok we have stayed in over the many years we have been travelling . The rooms were clean , well furnished and surprisingly quiet considering the location and our children loved the pool area.

Also very handy having the Co-Op Supermarket across the road.

The Staff ( Front desk, Security, Pool Area & Breakfast ) were of a very high standard in customer service and always had a friendly smile.

They were very accommodating by not only upgrading our room but also exstending our check out by 1 hour to 1pm so that our 2 ½ year old daughter could get some extra sleep before our long flight home , this was much appreciated.

When we return to Saigon in the future we will definitely stay at the Sherwood again and will be recommending your apartments with all our friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Thank you most kindly for taking the time to post your most complimentary feedback following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence rating us in the top 2 apartments you have been stayed in so far.

At Sherwood Residence we believe in customer satisfaction and to get to know that you have enjoyed the "high standard in customer service" of our smiling front line staff who are going the extra mile to ensure you have a memorable stay with us, is our biggest reward as well as one of our core values: "Quest for excellence".

We do hope to be able to welcoming you and your family back in the very near future.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The Sherwood is nice and clean. Showers are stand in the bathtub type. We were on the third floor and the view out the window was directly into a building site.
Staff was friendly and spoke good English.
You can walk to the Saigon market in about 30 minutes from the apartment.
I paid US$130 per night which I though was very good value.
The restaurant has a limited menu and the food there is not that great. I would go out for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOCH276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

It was with great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the efficiency of our entire team as well as the value for money given at our property tailored for short term leisure trips like yours or long term stays.

The comments you have made on the food are welcome and I am delighted to inform you that a new menu is going to be launched by the end of June, which will feature a huge variety of exiting local-, tasteful Asian- and delicious western dishes.

Hoping that you and your family had a safe trip back home, we remain

with best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed at the Sherwood Residence Apartments in Ho Chi Minh at the beginning of April. We are a family of 2 adults and 3 children and we had the 3 bedroom apartment which was spotlessly clean and spacious. This accommodation was great for various reasons. Firstly it had a great pool area which was very welcome after a day of sightseeing. The breakfast in the mornings was one of the best we had in our entire trip to Vietnam with large selection of continent and cooked breakfast. The staff at the front desk were very welcoming and helpful with information. But most of all we liked the location. District 3 felt more like we were in Vietnam as oppose to the main tourist area of District 1 which is full of big department stores and hotels and to be honest could be any big city in Asia. Also most of the major sights were within walking distance of the apartments and we really only needed to use the shuttle bus a couple of times. Overall I would highly recommend the Sherwood Residence particularly for families travelling to Ho Chi Minh.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Isabelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you most kindly for taking the time to post your praise about your last stay at Sherwood Residence.

The entire Sherwood team was delighted to read your comments calling us
"Sherwood Splendour".

To see that you have enjoyed our caring housekeeping team, dedicated chefs who are eager to provide a balanced breakfast variety to have an excellent start in the day, the hospitable expertise of our receptionists as well as the location fills us with pride and we are glad that we were able to make your stay an unforgettable one.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Sherwood residence. Its location (District 3 - but walking distance to District 1) was good. We had a 3 bedroom, ensuite apartment, which was a little dated and worn in places, but clean and spacious. The washing machine and drier were handy to have.

The included buffet breakfast was great - one of the better breakfasts we had on our trip. The menu and food quality for the dinner we had in the restaurant was okay - pretty "standard" fare.

The pool and games rooms were fantastic for the family to have some "down time".

I was stunned at the charging for WiFi - it was the only place we stayed in Vietnam that charged, and at $15 US/day, it was very expensive.

The staff were helpful at all times.

There is a supermarket across the road from the rear entry of the establishment, which was very handy. Initially it appeared that there were few other decent dining options nearby, however a good explore of neighbouring streets soon found us some decent restaurants.

The shuttle bus into the city went regularly. Drop off points were at average restaurants - we were suckered into thinking they must be okay restaurants if they were recommended by Sherwood - not so.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jomater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thank you for choosing Sherwood Residence for your last stay in Ho Chi Minh City and for taking the time to give us your most valuable feedback about our property, as our guests' satisfaction is our main priority.

Your praise about our team’s helpfulness and breakfast has delighted us and we are glad that we were able to make your special stay one to remember.

The comments you have made on internet fee as well as our group owned restaurants have been noted and discussed with our management team for revision and we do equally appreciate for letting us know about them.

Looking forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the near future we remain with

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

This place is semi centrally located in district 3 and is very comfortable and secure. Wifi was 15usd per day which is ridiculous considering every other place I stayed in Vietnam both cheap and expensive had free wifi. There is a free hourly shuttle to district 1 which takes you to the lacklustre and overpriced western restaurants that are owned by the hotel chain. This would be a great place to stay for business travel or if you had afamily or group as it is serviced apartments rather than a hotel and has kitchen and laundry facilities and a supermarket next door. However if you are a tourist visiting for afew days you would be better off in a hotel in the central district 1. This place is very expensive compared to what you get elsewhere in Vietnam.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Amzstar83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you most kindly for posting your constructive feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

It was with great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the comfort and security at our property, though the comments you made on internet price are most welcome and have been discussed with our Management.

As for our 4 group owned restaurants: Japanese Kissho Restaurant, German Gartenstadt Restaurant, Amigo Grill Restaurant and Cafe Central we do very much regret that we have not met your taste.

Indeed you are right, we are a serviced apartment residence rather than a hotel, as our spacious and fully equipped apartments (82m²- 143m²) allow long term guests as well as families or business traveler on an extended stay to feel "home away from home" though we are operating with all hotel facilities needed.

Once more, thank you very much for your comments and we do hope that you had a safe trip back home.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This was our first stop on a very long flight from Europe. We booked on the recommendations from this site and were more than pleased with not only the legendary upgrade but the service , friendliness and facilities of the Sherwood Residence. The pool and games room were well patronised by our 2 children aged 10 and 6. The location is actually better than we had been led to believe. You don't necessarily need to take a taxi to get to the centre but it is a good idea if you are not used to the heat. We mainly did our touristy things in the morning after the huge buffet breakfast and then retreated back to the pool in the afternoon just to get a break from the heat. Someone did some thinking when they designed the pool area too because they have taken into account that not everyone wants to have the sunlight on them despite wanting to swim. Half the the pool is under the shade of the hotel. We were extra lucky to be there during weekends when they serve free ice cream and popcorn, Bonus !! The apartments themselves are great. Beds on the firm side, bathrooms are spacious and have everything you need. We managed to use the washer and dryer at least twice and the swim wear automatically went straight in after the pool sessions. We didn't have much call for the fully equipped kitchen but if you need it, it should suit your purposes. I should also mention that we ended up staying here twice. After going up north and doing Hoi san, Da Nang, Hue and Hanoi we just had to go back to the Sherwood for another couple of days. The kids basically demanded it and we could not say no. The second stay was just as good as the first but this time we concentrated on the attractions and facilities in the immediate vicinity. We revisited the "Pho Co" restaurant just around the corner in 211 Ter, Dien Bien Phu street. Best Vietnamese food we had during our entire trip. Just parallel on Pham Noc Thach there are a few Spas to choose from. We settled on Rosies Garden where my wife got a great body and face package and the kids got spoilt with massages.

I can't really identify any cons about the Sherwood. One thing I can give advice on is that you don't actually need to use the Airport shuttle service. Even though it was great to have someone standing there with my name and a huge smile when I arrived it is actually cheaper if you can just grab a cab. Look for Vinasun or MaiLinh like everyone recommends. They will drive you straight to the door for 150 000 instead of the 700 000 for the shuttle. I booked it because I wanted something safe and predictable in case I was in a zombie like state after the flight over.

So back to the postives , like the title says our whole time staying at the Sherwood was just an exercise in how spoilt we could get. As you can guess I not only recommend this place, it is perfect for the start and/or finish of your Vietnam experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobFog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you very much for posting your most positive and complimentary feedback following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

We at 'Sherwood Residence' strive to make every guest satisfied and leave us with excellent memories of their stay. Guests' satisfaction is our main priority and that you have been satisfied with our facilities, services and friendliness is our very big reward!

Your comments have been shared with all our associates and they were very pleased that their efforts have been duly appreciated and recognized. That your kids have “demanded" to come back to our property has made us very proud.

It has been a great pleasure serving your needs and we are extremely pleased that we were able to make your special stay one to remember!


Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,533 reviews
0.8 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,505 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#4 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
#22 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
495 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#13 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,661 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pullman Saigon Centre
Pullman Saigon Centre
#12 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Residence

Property: Sherwood Residence
Address: 127 Pasteur St | District 3, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#13 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#38 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#51 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sherwood Residence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on scenic Pasteur Street, Sherwood Residence provides easy access to international schools, consulates, hospitals, and is just a short distance from the Central Business District. An added convenience is the complimentary shuttle service to key shopping, dining, and entertainment hotspots in Saigon's cultural center. Travel assistance is available at the front desk with local and international bookings for weekend getaways or extended trips. And enjoy a direct route to Tan Son Nhat International Airport, just 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sherwood Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Residence Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing