We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sherwood stay again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sherwood Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sherwood Residence
Ranked #26 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sherwood stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We rented a 3 bedroom apartment in this hotel. We found everything to be ok without being "knock your socks off" fabulous. The pool and Gym were great - the room service good and the apartment itself was roomy and clean. If you are looking to stay right in District 1 this is not to hotel for you - but it is only 30k VND (1.50 USD) to take a taxi to Dhong Khoi and 20 minutes to walk to Ben Thanh Market.
The breakfast was OK (nothing like the Majestic!) but it met our needs and we really had no complaints about the food. The service was really good - and the staff helpful.. Some Taxi drivers didn't know the hotel but they all know Pasteur Street (pronounced "Paht-teur"). Take a free hotel map and show the driver. Overall we thought this was a comfortable 4-star property and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZippoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you most kindly to post your praising review on Trip Advisor following your stay here with us at Sherwood Residence.

We were delighted to read your review of your stay with us and that you enjoyed our facilities and staff services. We go that extra mile to ensure all our guests get that something special, and we have the staff to make it happen. I am pleased to know that we were able to make your special stay one to remember and we trust you and your family will be able to return in the future and experience more of our Vietnamese hospitality.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    131
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
295
34
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights with family. Nothing new to add to previous reviews except to reiterate that It is great value for families. Definitely geared to families/expats - little kids play area, games room for older kids, popcorn and icecream at the pool. Awesome pool - half sheltered to escape the hot sun and plenty of nice sun loungers.
Very clean, spacious apartments and two full sized bathrooms. Main bedroom is massive second and third bedrooms are small. Best for kids only or a single adult - two adults would not fit on the small double bed. Like a slightly larger single bed - not a double by Australian standards.
Would not recommend for couples or ppl who want to walk downstairs straight into hustle and bustle. But this is district 3, stay in district 1 for that. This is only a 5 minute taxi ride into the city.
Only complaints - Wifi was expensive for Vietnam at US$15 per night. There are computers with free Internet at the KFC down the street. I joined my family at the last minute so paid extra per night but had advised it was only for five nights - my family booked 8 nights - I advised them on my last night that I was leaving and they saw me leave with luggage and hailed a cab for me. Different person on front desk when my family checked out a few days later and the person I spoke to had not noted it down so charged them as if I stayed. I was clearly not there and it left a sour taste after an otherwise lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mango53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you most kindly to post your valuable comments on Trip advisor following your stay with us here at Sherwood Residence.

It was delighting to read that you and your family have discovered our family friendly environment and great value offered through various facilities tailored to families of long term stay guests as well as short term stay guests.

The comments you have made are very much appreciated and have already been discussed with our departments concerned for immediate improvement.

Hoping that you and your family had a safe trip back home and that we will be able to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Five of us girlfriends, booked the 3-bedroom apartment for about 3 nights in the April 2013. It feels like a home to us and we missed staying there so much. Will definitely go back there again if we were to visit HCM again.

Bright, spacious and clean apartment! Conveniently located to supermarket and food places within walking distance from the apartment as well. Staff are really friendly, and always acceded to our requests promptly and efficiently. Shuttle services were provided as well to the main street or shopping area, which we used it quite frequently. Discounts were also available at certain restaurants due to the collaboration they have with the apartment.

There are many facilities available at the apartment as well. We only made used of the gym during our stay there and it was good enough :D

Breakfast was included for our stay as well and we love the waffles! Food variety was alright, with different pastries and local delights daily.

The only problem we had was our room was near the garbage room, thus, foul smell tends to come from the kitchen at the end of the day.

All in all, the stay was comfortable and we really had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aceneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you very much for posting your most positive and valuable comments on Trip Advisor after your stay here with us at Sherwood Residence.

It was delighting to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you "missed staying there so much".

At Sherwood Residence we believe in guest satisfaction and personalized service as well as giving all our guests the feeling to be part of our family, you were able to experience both mentioning "it feels like a home".

Rest assured that your feedback will inspire us to continue to give the best experience to all our guests.

We look forward to the opportunity of serving you and your friends again in the near future.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We went to Ho Chi Minh city for 4 nights' family break with my kids and parents (6 of us). The hotel had 2 bedroom apartment. The rooms are very spacious. 2 bathrooms both with bath tubs. The hotel is normally catered for expat family's residence, so they had free afternoon tea at the restaurant. Breakfast p offered great range of Asia, Western and Vietnamese cuisines. Services were excellent. A little far from the center (possible to walk if you like long walks) but they offered a shuttle bus to center each hour (around the market, too). The only problem is that the bus is small, so if you are catching 1st bus of the day, go early. Otherwise, taxi is handy, very close by taxi. They had great facilities. Nice swimming pool, kids' room, ping pong, Games room, golf putting and pool table all inclusive! I will go back again if I am going to the city next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your most valuable comments on Trip Advisor following your stay here with us at Sherwood Residence and for praising our restaurant amenities, such as high tea and breakfast buffet.

It was with great pleasure and pride to read that you have felt and enjoyed our excellent services and that you intend to return to our property if you are back in the city.

We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We (family of 4, kids aged 7 & 6) stayed here for 4 nights in June. It's located in district 3 but is only a 10 minute walk or $1.50 taxi to centre of district 1.
We booked a 2 bedroom apartment but were upgraded to a 3 bedroom which was great to have extra space. The hotel caters extremely well for families, there is a nice very clean pool as well as a play area for s,aller kids. There is also a games room with play stations, wiis, putting range, pool table & your own cinema to hire out! The rooms are a little aged but very clean and the stand were always polite & helpful. Definitely recommend to any family visiting Ho Chi Minh city.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara_TravelTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you very much for posting your most positive feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay here with us at Sherwood Residence.

It was delighting to read that you have enjoyed our facilities and staff services. To know that you would "Definitely recommend to any family visiting Ho Chi Minh city" is our biggest reward.

Hoping that you and your family had a safe trip back home, we keep on wishing to be able to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed there with family for 5 days earlier this year. It was a great choice for us travelling with two adult couple we stayed at the 3bedroom Executive suite which has 3 spacious bedrooms and a very large living room and kitchen. It was a great value deal for us than stay at a hotel! Plus travelling with family, we enjoyed socializing in the living room and have snacks/tea together. The services was very good and efficient, the restaurants recommendation in the area was superb. The breakfast western style was sufficient and fresh. The location is great and we were able to walk to a number of local attractions easily. After reading the recommendations on Tripadvisor, we chose to stay at a higher floor apartment to avoid noise. The room was very quiet ! A great choice for our stay, highly recommend for travelers travel with family or friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silvia20003544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your most valuable comments on Trip Advisor following your stay with us.

It was with great pleasure to read that our facilities and services have made your stay a special one to remember and we do sincerely hope that we will be able to welcoming you and your family back one day in the very near future.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Visited HCMC in family of four adults, we stayed in 3-bedroom apartment for 4 nights. The apartment is spacious, clean and tidy. Good location, 10 mins. walk from War Museum, 20 mins walk from Reunification Palace (If you know the way, and taxi is very cheap, within USD2 :P). They provide free shuttle bus every hour to Ben Thanh Market. A large supermarket just across the road. Only 20 mins from the airport. Pool and gym is a bit small but still nice. We pay USD 170/night and include breakfast which I found is very nice deal! Breakfast in buffet style, didn't expect too much, the food quality is fair, choice is limited. Our package didn't include wifi, in-room wifi need extra USD17/day, while you can get free wifi at lobby, so it doesn't bother us too much.
Good service standard, staff generally speak good english (even the doorman and housekeeping staff!!), front desk staff are very helpful, much appreciated their help :) !!! Would definitely stay in the Sherwood again if I return to HCMC and will recommend to all my friends!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clngada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your comments following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

It was a pleasure to read that you have not only enjoyed our facilities, value for money as well as the location but that you have mentioned our biggest asset- our team.

At Sherwood Residence we do believe in guest satisfaction and one of our core values is
"Quest for excellence" which you were able to experience through the English skills as well as service attitude of our team.

We would like to one more time thank you for recommending us to your friends and hope to be able to welcoming you back in the very near future!

Regards,

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.4 mi away
Somerset Chancellor Court
Somerset Chancellor Court
#68 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.9 mi away
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
#41 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
3.8 mi away
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
#65 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Riverside Serviced Apartments
Riverside Serviced Apartments
#67 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
SILA Urban Living
SILA Urban Living
#64 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel
Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel
#33 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Residence

Property: Sherwood Residence
Address: 127 Pasteur St | District 3, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#38 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#51 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sherwood Residence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on scenic Pasteur Street, Sherwood Residence provides easy access to international schools, consulates, hospitals, and is just a short distance from the Central Business District. An added convenience is the complimentary shuttle service to key shopping, dining, and entertainment hotspots in Saigon's cultural center. Travel assistance is available at the front desk with local and international bookings for weekend getaways or extended trips. And enjoy a direct route to Tan Son Nhat International Airport, just 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sherwood Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Residence Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing