We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay for a large group”
Review of Sherwood Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sherwood Residence
Ranked #14 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good place to stay for a large group”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We were a group of 6: 4 adults and 2 small kids for a couple of days in HCM. We had a 3 bedroom apartment although the bed in one of the room was substandard.

Overall the furniture is a bit cheap and decoration a bit IKEA style so don't except stylish place but that was not really the intention

Facilities are good, location is ok although you need to take a can to go near the action. Breakfast was ok but nothing fantastic

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank caribu75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you very much for posting your most constructive comments on Trip Advisor following your stay with us here at Sherwood Residence.

The comments you made on furniture and room set up are most welcome and I am delighted to inform you that we are currently working on a renovation plan for all our guestrooms, including bathrooms and kitchen facility.

Hoping that you had a safe trip back home and wishing to see you and your family back to show you the newly renovated rooms in the very near future.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    136
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
314
34
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This was my second time staying at the Sherwood Residence, and it once again delivered. This hotel is well located to almost all tourist attractions, staff are friendly, kind and helpful, and the rooms are clean, safe and very comfortable. The breakfast is really good, with both western and asian options available. Just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NICandEMILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your highly apreciated feedback about your returned stay at Sherwood Residence.

It was delighting to read your positive comments concerning our pleasant colleagues and we were happy that you enjoyed our facilities and amenities for the second time already and that there are many more time for you to stay with us in the near future.

Hoping that you had a safe trip back home, we wish you a

Happy new year of the horse 2014!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We just left the Sherwood Residence where we stayed for 4 nights. It was a great stay. The room was clean (we had a 3 bedroom apt), the facilities were nice, pool was great and there is a play room for little kids and one for big kids too. The breakfast was really good too, a nice mix of Western and local. The staff were really what made the stay so nice. The ladies at the front desk were so helpful and sweet.
The location is great too. We walked a lot plus there is a shuttle to district one every hour. My only complaint is that if you want wifi in your room you have to pay $18 a day. RIDICULOUS. Free wifi in common areas so nice to sit by the pool and check email. Overall a great stay and I would recommend this place esp for families.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annehinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your most wonderful comments on Trip Advisor after your most recent stay here with us at Sherwood Residence.

Our team is deeply passionate about providing each and every one of our guests a memorable experience and so we are always thrilled to receive such positive feedback. I have already passed along your kind words and they are deeply appreciated.

Hoping that you had a good trip back home we hope to be able to welcoming you and your family again in the very near future.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights with my family of 5 in a 3 bedroom executive apartment. There is a 24 hour reception with room service and pool/gym etc. It has everything you would expect of a 5 star hotel. It really suited our family as you have a kitchen if you want to cook and washer/dryer for clothes. The kids loved it because they had plenty of room and privacy, 2 bathrooms etc.
The decor of the rooms is not really 5 star scratch but who cares, it was spacious and always keep clean and tidy by the hotel staff.
The service at the front desk was excellent and they could not do enough to help with any request. At times the communication was a little difficult but they would always help out as much as possible.
The front of the hotel is positioned on a main road, Pasteur St. This street basically runs into the centre of town, from the hotel, its about a 15 minute walk. They do have a free shuttle service that we never used. Its good to walk to the centre of town the first time but then after that you just hop into a taxi because they are so cheap and from our experience honest. Nearly all the taxi's are 7 seaters and we never waited for a cab, they are always available. Just to give you an idea it is about $1 USD to go into town, or the markets or just about anywhere. I would always give them a tip because it just seemed so cheap. While we are on this subject it only cost me 140,000 Dong ($7 US) for the taxi ride from the airport to the hotel so definitely worth hoping in a cab.
The breakfast was great and was included, we had freshly made eggs/omelettes every morning with fresh fruits and cereals.
Would definitely stay here again if I was to return to Ho Chi Minh.

Room Tip: I would try to stay at a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulPSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you most kindly for choosing Sherwood Residence for your last stay in Ho Chi Minh City.

We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests' satisfaction is our main priority and that you have been satisfied is our reward!

We are extremely pleased that we were able to make your special stay one to remember and we trust you will be able to return in the future and experience even more of our Vietnamese hospitality.

Happy new year of the horse 2014!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We are a family of 4 and stayed here for 4 nights. It is ideally located with a regular shuttle service into Ho Chi Minh City from 8am till 8pm daily. You can also walk easliy from this hotel and taxis are about $2. The pool is a nice retreat after a really busy day. We had a 3 bedroom apartment. The third bedroom had a king single size sofa bed so not really ideal for 6 people. I only mention this as it seems to be an issue with other reviewers. The 2 bathrooms were ideal and it also had a large laundry.
Breakfast was lovely and i recommend this place to families who need a bit of extra space.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

We are grateful to receive such remarkable comments " a little piece of paradise...." on the services and facilities provided to you during your family stay, wonderful and positive remarks about the staff and the hotel atmosphere which have already been shared with all colleagues.

Rest assured that your feedback will inspire us to continue to give the best experience to all our guests.

Happy new year of the horse 2014!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We decided to spend a bit of extra money and splash out at the Sherwood Residences after spending 1 month roughing it around SE Asia with 3 children and we were going home from there. The pool was beautiful, the breakfast was always fresh and it was wonderful to not go 'searching for food' first thing in the morning. They have a shuttle bus to the markets but we found that it was easy to walk to many places from the hotel. I had my phone stolen by pickpockets while at the markets on our last day and the staff was absolutely amazing. They filled out all of the forms and the desk staff and a security officer personally took me to the police station and handled everything for me. I couldn't believe it. They took an awful situation and made it as easy for me as possible. Thank you so much!!!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 5th floor. It was a nice 3 bedroom which had quiet aircon and most importantly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monoellu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you most kindly for posting your detailed feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

It was with great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed our facilities as well as your stay with us and the biggest reward was certainly your praise to our most helpful and hospitable colleagues.

At Sherwood Residence we believe in guest satisfaction and to see that although you have been in a difficult situation our staff was able to turn it into a caring and well looked after memory, is our biggest pried.

We hope that you and your family had a safe trip back home and that the good and happy memories of Vietnam will be the ones to bring you back to the beautiful Ho Chi Minh City one day in the near future.

Happy new year of the Horse 2014!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis
Level Contributor
133 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I really enjoyed our stay in Vietnam. A big part of that was the incredible staff at Sherwood Residence. They were very helpful. They helped us plan our days and where to eat. I wanted a place that was very authentic and their suggestion was spot on.

The room was nice and comfortable and the price was great for what we got.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikelboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your most positive review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

Your comments have been shared with all our colleagues and it was delighting to read that you have enjoyed our professional attitude as well as Vietnamese hospitality.

Hoping to be able to welcoming you or your friends back one day in the near future, we remain

with best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.8 mi away
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
#24 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Somerset Chancellor Court
Somerset Chancellor Court
#69 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
3.8 mi away
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
#70 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SILA Urban Living
SILA Urban Living
#55 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel
Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel
#35 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silverland Sakyo Hotel & Spa
Silverland Sakyo Hotel & Spa
#18 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Residence

Property: Sherwood Residence
Address: 127 Pasteur St | District 3, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#13 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#38 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#51 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sherwood Residence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on scenic Pasteur Street, Sherwood Residence provides easy access to international schools, consulates, hospitals, and is just a short distance from the Central Business District. An added convenience is the complimentary shuttle service to key shopping, dining, and entertainment hotspots in Saigon's cultural center. Travel assistance is available at the front desk with local and international bookings for weekend getaways or extended trips. And enjoy a direct route to Tan Son Nhat International Airport, just 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sherwood Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Residence Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing