We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for the money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ho Sen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ho Sen Hotel
Ranked #237 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“OK for the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

For the money it was fine. Was not expecting much but the location was great, could walk to most places and the area itself seemed safe.
Our suite was on the 9th floor and we did have a view out the window. The bed was awful, but most are throughout Asia.
The one thing that did annoy me was when we were checking out they charged us for 4 bottles of water that were in the fridge! There were no notices in the room saying water was not free. We had travelled through Vietnam for 5 weeks and had stayed at some pretty cheap places BUT water was always supplied. When asked why we had to pay the receptionist said "it is because we are a budget hotel"......

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    37
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
9
17
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Level Contributor
189 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Right the plus points...terrific position, great staff, and helpful. The downside; some of the rooms are downright nasty...mold...ancient Jacuzzis in the bathroom, beds 6 inches off the floor and a distinct lack of windows in some rooms....[though window blinds are provided for non-existent windows]
I was lucky i got my room changed, i swapped mold for no window, though some people had to live with the defects. They do try hard to be a good hotel so A for effort. Breakfast is ok but get there early as tour groups wolf down the buffet and the best bits can run out...also it is open to the garage on one side, so i not totally air-conned, so can be a bit sticky.

Room Tip: look through the blinds to see if there's a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettystaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Hotel was clean and the front desk was very good. Nice size room and it over looked the street but was quiet. The bed was rock hard and need an extra foam pad to make it . They were helpful and quick to get the pad.

Breakfast was nothing special but had the basics for a western person. Location was good Just what you would expect from a 2 star except the bed would be a one star. Just fix the mattress and it would be good place. Maybe not all beds are this hard as it was not mentioned before from what I reviewed.

Room Tip: many places to eat within walking distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ron r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

The room was a decent size very clean good views of the city especially at night breakfast very average for a westerner but ok the staff were excellent the front desk got us two flights cheaper than we could find them on the Internet good location

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

This was a pretty basic hotel. Rooms were clean, free breakfast (although, pretty bare), free computer usage with printer (useful if you need to print something out for a tour or something). Basic amenities, AC is good. TVs are good. Rooms feel a little cramped, especially if you're in one of those no-window rooms. Not my favorite, but the price was pretty reasonable for such a prime location. You are literally just a block or two away from some of the best restaurants on Saigon.

Staff was friendly enough. You'll find them sleeping if you come in at an odd hour, but that's pretty typical of Vietnamese establishments, so it's not all that weird. To be fair, the "odd hour" I arrived was about 4:30 am.

Overall, it wasn't my FAVORITE hotel and it's not anything to write home about, but it was great for what I needed it to be! :)

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a window if you like to know when it's daylight. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

The rooms here are basic but clean with good air-conditioning.
The staff were friendly and helped me with my bags and with taxis.
My only complaint would be the lack of variety of breakfast as there is not much for vegetarians!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissRjM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
235 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

For almost a fifty united states dollars the over all experience was not bad. The hotel is better than others in its range. The room was bright and the sun transmits its rays through your thick window curtains all day long. House keeping is fairly acceptable as there are no daily cleaning agenda. Breakfast includes few hot dishes , sausages, club sandwiches, sauteed vegetables, two kinds of soups, three kinds of fruits, juices and cofee/tea. FOr a short stay this is good property as it links you to all busy outlets of HCMC.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHADIADNAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
HoSen Boutique Hotel
HoSen Boutique Hotel
#352 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aquari Hotel
Aquari Hotel
#107 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.0 mi away
TTC Hotel Deluxe - Saigon
TTC Hotel Deluxe - Saigon
#277 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Silverland Inn Hotel
Silverland Inn Hotel
#212 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Northern Hotel Saigon
Northern Hotel Saigon
#101 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.1 mi away
A&EM Hotel
A&EM Hotel
#332 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ho Sen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ho Sen Hotel

Property: Ho Sen Hotel
Address: 4B - 4C Thi Sach St. | Ben Nghe Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ho Sen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ho Sen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing