We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Phuong Nam Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ho Chi Minh City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Phuong Nam Resort
Ranked #386 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Sittard - Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stay away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

I think this was a very nice resort in it's glory days, now it's old and needs a lot of work! We went here on our trip to have lunch which was good (seafood and fish).

The pools are nice but need work and the sunbeds are from wood which is broken and old and does not have pillows.

Lunch yes, stay here..... big NO!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    3
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

I came 3 times to Phuong Nam Resort and everytime I have many problems with the service.
First time, in the morning it was raining a lot, so I called reception to ask if its possible to have breakfast in the room (because the restaurant is 200mts away from the rooms and have to walk outside). The receptionist answers me yes OK. I wait for 20mn but no news, I call again the reception, they tell me no sorry, cannot bring breakfast in your room. So I ask them for an umbrella to go to the restaurant; after waiting another 10mn I still dont receive the umbrella so I run under the rain to the reception to find an umbrella.
Second time, I give some clothes to the laundry, and one of my top comes back with 2 holes in front. Very angry, I ask for sewing kit at the reception, they tell me its in the room with the toothbrushes. Coming back to the room, impossible to find the sewing kit. I come back to the reception again, they tell me sorry, we bring one for you to your room, which I also wait for at least 15mn.
Third time, at 5am in the morning suddenly a radio switch one very loud outside of my room. I call the reception, they inform me that they cannot stop it because its outside of the hotel, and today the manager will talk with the people to stop this radio. The day after, 5am the radio switch on again, impossible to sleep, I ask to transfer to another room to sleep. At 7am I have to leave for work so I ask them to transfer my things from the old room to the new room; they need to help me do it because I will be back very late after midnight. At midnight when I come back, my things have not been transfered to my new room, I have to go and pack it and bring it by myself.
Not mentioning the breakfast which is mostly for Asian taste, but nothing for westerners taste except sandwich bread, jam, and cereales which are so wet from starying outside too long. No internet in the rooms.
I would not recommend anyone to go there even if they need to work in Binh Duong, its preferable they take hotel in HCMC.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coralie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

The grounds and restaurants are very beautiful and well-kept. Reception and house-keeping staff friendly and helpful. Room clean and very spacious. Unfortunately, the restaurant service and cooking were pretty bad. The breakfast buffet was fine, but go elsewhere for lunch and supper. There are two clean swimming pools. nicely situated, but the loungers are wood, with no pillows. We went down the road to the Metro and bought our own. I think we paid $30 per night, dirt cheap for a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank agatestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2009

What a great place to stay just outside Ho Chi Minh City limits. We booked through their website and had one of their taxis pick us up at the airport. The location of the resort is through an alley which looked deceiving but has around the clock security guards. We stayed with our two kids, had fun in the two pools and using the lounging and fishing pond. The food was excellent and fresh and would try to cook waterever you wanted. Enjoyed the nice strolls at night around the resort. The staff was terrific in helping with our needs. Check the website for pictures. Very relaxing except we were there when they had lots of rain. You have mulitple areas where you can seat for a meal or a drink and relax in the open air. We were there for both Christmas and New Year, where they had lots of activites and food for both the guests and people from outside. The price is right and is listed as a 3 star hotel/resort. I'll definitely return on our next trip over.

  • Liked — Relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — breakfast food selections
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Schooner88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2008

If you have planned to do a stop over in Ho Chi Minh (more commonly known as 'Saigon') for more than 2 days, then take the opportunity to stay at this excellent resort located about 15 km outside CBS. I stayed there in July 2008 for a full week and it was a decision i don't regret since Ho Chi Minh CBD can be extremely, and i really mean Extremely, noisy. If you just in town for a day or two, it might be a better idea to stay in the city since it takes about 40 minutes to travel (one way) in to the city.
A taxi cost about $10-12 one way.
There are 4 room categories:
a) Standard (320.000VND, b) Superior (350.000VND, c) Deluxe (400.000 VND) and d) VIP (750.000-990.000VND). I stayed in the VIP for 750.000 which was very spacious and perhaps more than i needed but well worth the money. Most of the rooms are actually cottages so you really gets that 'resort' feeling.
I had fresh fruit delivered daily to my room and free breakfast was included in my deal and it further had an electronic safe in it.
The resort is surrounded by a high wooden wall which further increases security.
There is a huge fishing pond in the middle, approx 150x75 feet,
which have tables along the edges where you can have your meals. There are further 2 big swimming pools and various other leisure areas with pools table tennis, free wi-fi etcetera.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank topboxAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Les Hameaux de l'Orient
Les Hameaux de l'Orient
#113 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
An Lam Saigon River
An Lam Saigon River
#14 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#15 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#36 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuong Nam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuong Nam Resort

Property: Phuong Nam Resort
Address: Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #386 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Number of rooms: 330
Also Known As:
Phuong Nam Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing