We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Spring House Hotel

Spring House Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ho Chi Minh City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spring House Hotel
Ranked #320 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My first stay at this hotel was in 2008 and then I stayed there again in 2009 and again in April 2014. This shows how much I like this hotel and the standard has not changed. I always book a Deluxe Double room which is not on the street side and it is all quiet. The free Wi-Fi works well with Android phone. This is a well situated hotel with a few minutes walk to a variety of restaurants and to the nearby Ben Than market for shopping of all sorts of items. Also the nearby park provides good relaxation in the afternoon where the locals gather to play, ballroom dance and a newly constructed venue for singing, free entertainment, etc. The staff has always been very polite with me. For me this hotel is always clean. I did not have breakfast at this hotel because I am given to understand that it does not provide same although I now see this advertised on some booking agencies websites. Anyway I had my breakfast at the bakery next to the hotel. I shall again stay at this hotel everytime I go to Ho Chi Minh city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilbert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

A centrally located hotel in District One, with quick access to the main bus station, the Ben Thanh market, a plethora of restaurants and clubs, nightlife and tourist information. Many of the cheaper budget hotels in this area are what one would expect in the 10-20 USD dollar range; backpacker type hotels that generally are just okay. I enjoyed my stay at Spring House; it was clean, more spacious than I expected, walls were a cheery yellow, bamboo type furniture and bed was good. Average comp. toiletries, water, etc. TV reception and channels were good. Breakfast not included but breakfast in Vietnam is very cheap and I would prefer eating breakfast out in one of the many local cafes. Room was 18.00 for the night. Excellent value for a much better than average hotel in this price range. One note of caution; they brought a towel to the front desk when I checked out and said I had stained it; it was in the shower on the floor when I left, I used it as a bathmat; I put up a bit of a fuss and I was not charged; but this would be my one high caution area on this hotel, as I see another review said something similar. So you might examine any linen and towels on arrival and report any 'stains' or substandard linen as soon as you check in, much as you would a rental car.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on upper floors, near the back of hotel, to avoid any street noise from the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CARL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

When you wet and dirty bed cover, they make you pay when check out.

If you stay there a little long, let says, more than 10 days, all the drink can
in the refrigerator are yours. They say they can not sell to other customer and
they make you pay when check out. If you are there, check out quick. It will
be a nightmare horrible experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Been through Phuket, Nakhon si tamarat, Bangkok, siem reap and Phnom Penh on the way here and based on location, room and service this has been the best budget hotel in SEA so far.

The room has everything you wish other rooms had from hot water to tooth brushes etc. Comfortable bed, $15 a night with aircon right in the heart of district 1 can't think of much more you can ask for.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank Zachary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This review is quite late. The Spring House Hotel is located along Pham Ngu Lao Street, a major thoroughfare in District 1. Opposite this hotel you will find the Mekong Express Limousine Bus arriving from and departing to Cambodia. Below the hotel is a travel agent where you can book day tours (Mekong Delta tour, Cu Chi Tunnel and Cao Dai Cathedral, etc.) and purchase air and bus tickets. next to the hotel is the ABC Bakery where you can buy delicious bread and pastries. Most of the tour bus companies leaving for different destinations in Vietnam operates within the area.

The rooms at the reception floor are smaller compared to those on the higher floors. The hotel has no restaurant so you need to eat outside but this is not a problem because there are scores of good restaurants and coffee shops within the backpackers' area.

There are two PCs at the lobby which is avaiable for guests use free of charge. The internet speed is acceptable, you will be able to read your mail and send messages.

If you want to enjoy the nightlife the bars are just a short walk away. Also, the public park is just in front of the hotel.

Considering the affordable rates, the decent facilities and the good customer service I strongly recommend this hotel to those who are coming to Ho Chi Minh City on a tight budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinoytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Very good location where hotel is short walking distance to Phuong Trang bus, Sapaco bus (to Cambodia), travel agents, restaurants and other budget and 3-4 stars hotel. One can also walk up further towards to Ben Thanh market where there is a park.

Room size is small and they have recently increased their room rates. They have separate room rates for VN nationals and foreigners. Room cleanliness is OK, some rooms tend to have the mouldy smell. WiFi is available, as well as decent stocked minibar. There are 2 old computers located at the very small lobby for guests to use but within limited time frame.

For this room pricing, one can choose to stay in newer budget hotels nearby. Most loyal guests chose this hotel is because of the location and convenience to walk around the busy roads of Pham Ngu Lao and nearby streets packed with tourists.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AviationFO_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Nice hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Clean and quiet and location is vey near all places to see for first-time visitors to Ho Chi Minh. I will surely check-in again in this hotel if I have again the chance to visit Vietnam.

Ted Borlongan
Philippines

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#20 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,744 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,562 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#40 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#13 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#53 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring House Hotel

Address: 221 Pham Ngu Lao Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #320 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £18 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 332

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing