We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
129
134
39
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
134
39
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbackpacker areashower with hot waterbui vienstreetfridgereceptionist
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Friendly staff, clean beds, clean (but tiny) bathroom and a mediocre breakfast.
The guesthouse is good place to stay to explore the city and surrounding activities, but it's very basic for the price you pay.
Downside for your energy (upside for your general fitness) is the absence of an elevator in this tall building.
Ps. Organise your own cab to the airport instead of the service offered by the guesthouse, it's far more economical and plenty of other taxi services are available (even in the exact same alley).

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Giant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Really nice place which was a good standard for the price that was paid. Staff very friendly, spoke decent English and always helpful. Rooms were clean, comfortable and secure. Breakfast could have been better but plenty of places nearby you could grab a cheap breakfast if you wanted.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

The staff are helpful and kind, I booked a City tour and Mekong Delta over night tour through the hotel staff. They looked after my backpacker while I was away one extra night also assisted with booking bus to Mui Ne on my return, no extra costs and no pressure to book with them. Also hooked me up with a Vietnamese sim card. They will look after you.

The hotel is located down an ally way off the main street and has a great Pho noodle soup shop on the corner, $2.50 AUD how can you complain.

I booked a room with a window and it was perfect. Everything you pay for, with that little extra view of the interesting sketchy ally. :)

It's a trustworthy friendly spot in the overwhelming city of Saigon.

Very much enjoyed my stay here.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank Katopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here twice once in Giang Son and once in Giang Son 2 (presumably Giang Son was full). Both rooms were nice, most importantly clean and we had a window in both rooms. Be warned there is no lift not a problem for us. Giang Son 2 is a more modern building and room but we couldn't get any hot water in the morning so had to settle for a cold shower. Both had very friendly and attentive staff, always happy to help and go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. They will warn you to watch your bags, we watched ours and still had one snatched whilst crossing the road. Be very careful not to take too much out with you it happens in seconds and they are on mopeds so you have no chance of pointing them out or stopping them.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ned46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Nothing special. Don't go for the $15 airport pick-up, the normal price is $5-6. The room we had did not have any windows facing the street, and the air inside got quite humid and unpleasant. Another unpleasant factor was how thin the walls were - on the second morning we were woken up by loud noises downstairs. Breakfast is also regular, though their homemade jam was really good and they offered us breakfast even after we overslept. Unlike the other reviewers, we liked the neighborhood - stayed on a weekend here and streets were packed with people sitting outside drinking and eating from the street vendors. In fact one of our best meals of the trip was fresh grilled octopus from a street vendor here. This area is so different from the more upscale Saigon we saw later and well worth exploring just for one evening.

Room Tip: Be aware that there is no elevator. But probably the lower your floor the more noise you will here from the breakfast room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pomegranate2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews