We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very nice place to stay by Valentine and Matthieu (french travellers)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giang Son Guesthouse
Ranked #31 of 942 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Even the district is very noisy this hotel is in a small street and it is quiet enough. The must of the giang Son hotel 2 (there is in the same street the number 1) is Minh, a very friendly and helpfull guy who will manage every thing to make your stay easy. He speaks very well english (better than I), it's not so obvious in Vietnam, Just clother to the hotel, there are many very good street food shop. If we come back in Ho Chi Minh, we'll shure book again the Giang Son Hotel 2. Valentine and Matthieu (french travellers)

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthieu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Friendly staff, clean beds, clean (but tiny) bathroom and a mediocre breakfast.
The guesthouse is good place to stay to explore the city and surrounding activities, but it's very basic for the price you pay.
Downside for your energy (upside for your general fitness) is the absence of an elevator in this tall building.
Ps. Organise your own cab to the airport instead of the service offered by the guesthouse, it's far more economical and plenty of other taxi services are available (even in the exact same alley).

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Giant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Really nice place which was a good standard for the price that was paid. Staff very friendly, spoke decent English and always helpful. Rooms were clean, comfortable and secure. Breakfast could have been better but plenty of places nearby you could grab a cheap breakfast if you wanted.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

The staff are helpful and kind, I booked a City tour and Mekong Delta over night tour through the hotel staff. They looked after my backpacker while I was away one extra night also assisted with booking bus to Mui Ne on my return, no extra costs and no pressure to book with them. Also hooked me up with a Vietnamese sim card. They will look after you.

The hotel is located down an ally way off the main street and has a great Pho noodle soup shop on the corner, $2.50 AUD how can you complain.

I booked a room with a window and it was perfect. Everything you pay for, with that little extra view of the interesting sketchy ally. :)

It's a trustworthy friendly spot in the overwhelming city of Saigon.

Very much enjoyed my stay here.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank Katopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here twice once in Giang Son and once in Giang Son 2 (presumably Giang Son was full). Both rooms were nice, most importantly clean and we had a window in both rooms. Be warned there is no lift not a problem for us. Giang Son 2 is a more modern building and room but we couldn't get any hot water in the morning so had to settle for a cold shower. Both had very friendly and attentive staff, always happy to help and go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. They will warn you to watch your bags, we watched ours and still had one snatched whilst crossing the road. Be very careful not to take too much out with you it happens in seconds and they are on mopeds so you have no chance of pointing them out or stopping them.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ned46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Nothing special. Don't go for the $15 airport pick-up, the normal price is $5-6. The room we had did not have any windows facing the street, and the air inside got quite humid and unpleasant. Another unpleasant factor was how thin the walls were - on the second morning we were woken up by loud noises downstairs. Breakfast is also regular, though their homemade jam was really good and they offered us breakfast even after we overslept. Unlike the other reviewers, we liked the neighborhood - stayed on a weekend here and streets were packed with people sitting outside drinking and eating from the street vendors. In fact one of our best meals of the trip was fresh grilled octopus from a street vendor here. This area is so different from the more upscale Saigon we saw later and well worth exploring just for one evening.

Room Tip: Be aware that there is no elevator. But probably the lower your floor the more noise you will here f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pomegranate2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Very Nice Hotel - Bed and Breakfast.
Employees are all attentive and attention to details in ur needs.
Good for Budget travels.
Very Helpful employees
Nice Shower room - everything you need - shampoo etc
strategically located
they have personal computers that can be used by everybody
I really recommend this Hotel

Room Tip: can ask for assistance for ur tour package and city tours and they even give you discounts. and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamAng168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Madam Cuc 127
Madam Cuc 127
#146 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Giang Son Guesthouse 2
Giang Son Guesthouse 2
#28 of 942 in Ho Chi Minh City
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Giang Son 3 Hotel
Giang Son 3 Hotel
#16 of 942 in Ho Chi Minh City
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hong Han Hotel
Hong Han Hotel
#12 of 942 in Ho Chi Minh City
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diep Anh Guesthouse
Diep Anh Guesthouse
#10 of 942 in Ho Chi Minh City
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yen's Hotel
Yen's Hotel
#34 of 942 in Ho Chi Minh City
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giang Son Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giang Son Guesthouse

Address: 14 283, D Pham Ngu Lao, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 942 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £13 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Giang Son Guesthouse 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Giang Son Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giang Son Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing