We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice little hotel, friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giang Son Guesthouse
Ranked #28 of 913 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice little hotel, friendly staff.”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at the Giang Son after having tried several HCMC hotels, and it proved a good choice. We arrived really late at night so needed airport transfer which they readily provided at an OK price. The rooms are pretty and I found the staff to be very friendly, and speak good English.

The location is great, it is in the midst of it all without being noisy. I also liked the breakfast, it was in a funny little kitchen place on the ground floor but boy, could the lady fry eggs!

I recommend the Giang Son to anyone who can appreciate a nice, no frills place in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmP243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    131
    36
    16
    7
See reviews for
25
157
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Rooms are clean and comfortable but the staff is absolutely rude and irresponsible. Don't try to book any trips or flights via them. Leaves you a bitter taste, empty wallet and lot's of extra hussel.
Booked a flight with their "help" and found out couple of days before flight that it was cancelled. Hotel personal never bothered to tell me although they were notifed by the airline. When addressing the matter, they got angry and it took a while to get the right tickets. Flights get cancelled and it's part of the travelling but it really was the ignorant and irresponsible attitude that pissed me off.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The guesthouse is well located in the backpackers area but on a side street which keeps the noise down. We had a room on the 5th floor (lots of stairs!) which was a little loud because the stairs going to the roof (staff going there for laundry, etc.) was right against our window. The room was very small but that is to be expected in HCMC. The bed was comfortable, good hot shower, good AC and for the most part good wifi. Breakfast isn't great but there are plenty of options nearby. The housekeeping staff walked into our room at 8am the first morning without knocking which we really didn't like. The reception staff is friendly and helpful (except the guy in the evening as he gave us wrong information about our bus the next day). Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would probably stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audree_Joshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biel, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

A lovely place with very helpful staff. It's a bit hard to find in an alley and taxis won't be able to drive you there. In a lively area and due to its location in the alley it's nice and quiet. A very good place to see everything in Saigon. And, again: great staff.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urskaenel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My ensure room was clean, average size and comfortable. Staff speak excellent English and are very helpful. Central location and decent wifi. I had an internal room so Jo street noise but people do have to slam their doors shut to lock so that's annoying late at night / early in the morning. Would stay again. Lift would be nice though...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

A nice, quiet hotel on an alley just of the street that is lined with hotels. The reception staff in Giang 1 & 2 (next door to each other) were both very friendly and helpful!
We booked a tour to the cu chi tunnels and had the famous Mr Binh as our guide. Also booked a bus to Phnom Penh (2 options a cheap bus or better bus $4 difference) we went for the more expensive option and had a western style bus with great staff on (giant ibis transport). The hotel also changed all our dong into dollars. We used the airport transfer, although not the cheapest option worthwhile as I'm not sure I would have found it on the alley initially. The driver was great and after a frosty reception in hanoi we were thankful for a private pick up with a good driver.

The room was small but all we needed. The private bathroom is in the room and screened off with frosted glass as opposed to a separate bathroom. Limited breakfast choice (2 options bread with egg or bread with butter an jam plus fruit and drinks) but considering it was just a couple people working you can see why they limit the choices. The food itself was nice.

Overall a good stay

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ajpaddon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed in January for 5 day. The staff was very helpful and the guesthouse arranged the airport pick up for me as well. The Guesthouse is situated in one of the happening parts of the city. Not far away from museums, the palace etc. The breakfast is satisfactory and the rooms always clean.
I had i nice stay at this guesthouse.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Giang Son Guesthouse 2
Giang Son Guesthouse 2
#26 of 913 in Ho Chi Minh City
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Giang Son 3 Hotel
Giang Son 3 Hotel
#19 of 913 in Ho Chi Minh City
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saigon Inn Hotel
Saigon Inn Hotel
#4 of 913 in Ho Chi Minh City
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Diep Anh Guesthouse
Diep Anh Guesthouse
#12 of 913 in Ho Chi Minh City
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mai Guest House
Mai Guest House
#31 of 913 in Ho Chi Minh City
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Hotel & Capsule
Galaxy Hotel & Capsule
#35 of 913 in Ho Chi Minh City
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giang Son Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giang Son Guesthouse

Property: Giang Son Guesthouse
Address: 14 283, D Pham Ngu Lao, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Giang Son Guesthouse 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Giang Son Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giang Son Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing