We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Duper”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giang Son Guesthouse
Ranked #30 of 890 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super Duper”
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We moved to Giang Son after we came back to HCMC and found that the Hong Han Hotel is fully booked. After the little dissapotment it was clear that our new hotel is even better! Locate off the bussy streety, very clean and extrimely friendly staff. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HilaZa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    130
    35
    16
    7
See reviews for
25
155
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Agree with everything 'ajsm' has said in their review - that has excellent detail in there for you. We stayed in a triple room and had our baby with us. It was great as it was close to everything but we all slept well as was not noisy. Was fun going up and down the stairs with the stroller but the staff were super helpful. Recommend staying on a lower floor as we did if you have a baby! Rooms are very basic but completely fine for us. Breakfast was simple but good. Laundry place for very cheap just out the lane and across the road. Excellent thai place called Coriander close. Great beauty therapy for literally $1 out the lane and across - 150m away. They booked a taxi man for us for the day and the cheeky buggar conned us out of some more money for 'parking' which was a have. Not their fault but keep an eye on those taxi drivers! You can get them to organise taxis for you and they will come to the back of the lane not on the busy road which is good. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeandlogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Giang Son Guest House is in the backpacking area of Saigon located in a narrow alley between and running roughly parallel to Phan Ngu Lao and Bui Vien Street. The former is a busy road running next to large parks, while Bui Vien has many small shops, restaurants, bars etc… Arriving at Giang Son is a bit problematic as a taxi cannot access the small lane - so you (or perhaps your taxi driver) will need to hump your bags a short distance. The reception is actually on the second floor, but if the staff see you, they will help you carry the bags up. Like other Vietnamese guest houses, the building is narrow and tall with three rooms on each floor. The rooms facing the lane (front) are nicest (and most expensive) as they have a large window and two beds - a double and a single. The middle rooms are smallest with a double bed and no window. The rooms facing the back have a window with a view of a ventilation shaft, one double bed and are slightly larger than the middle rooms. Wireless internet reaches most rooms and if it doesn't ask and they will boost the signal for you. This may take 24 hours as the IT expert is only there in the evenings. The television is small, not flat and has terrible reception - not that you want to spend your time in Saigon watching TV, but sometimes in the afternoon, when it's hot and you're tired, it's nice to relax and watch a movie. Air-conditioner and fan both work great, and the shower is fine. Breakfast is on the ground floor and offers you a choice of butter and jam OR egg. No pho or meat, but many great little cafes are are situated less than 100 metres from the hotel. It's about a 15-20 minute walk from hotel to the Ben Thanh market area, and we made the round trip at least twice a day. A taxi there should cost around 10,000-15,000 VND. Remember, Mai Linh cabs are the cheapest and most reliable. Finally, if you've got the talent, have been travelling for a while and would like to play a piano, there is an upright in the breakfast area which you're free to use. A nice place run by a friendly family - I would stay again. Most of the other travellers were French as the hotel is recommended in the Routard Guide.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York and Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2009

I arranged a two-night stay using the email address on their website, and they were always prompt and helpful with their replies. We missed our original flight to Saigon and so we could only stay one night -- we called and emailed them and it worked out perfectly and they picked us up at the airport as promised for $12. We stayed in the smaller ($20) room, which was very clean and had a fridge, TV, AC, and private bathroom with hot shower. The room is smallish but we liked it and for $20 it makes a comfortable place to stay, right in the backpacker district which is close to the main part of the city. A big plus is that it's on a quiet side alley, so there was no noise bothering us at all. The owners were very friendly and laid-back, we offered to pay for the night we had missed at the last minute but they wouldn't let us. We didn't have much chance to interact with them but I have a feeling they would be very helpful if you needed anything. A good crash pad!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmfsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We were especially impressed with how clean it was. The location is perfect because it's very close to the downtown area, but off of the main backpacker road and very quiet. So quiet, I didn't need earplugs!

Cost $20. The only thing I could complain about was that the hot water didn't work. The women working there were very lovely, and the taxi they ordered for us made the trip to the airport hassle-free.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmmmjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We had a very pleasant stay at Giang Son Guesthouse and would recommend it to anyone.
We booked by email and they kindly arranged airport transfer for us.

Giang Son is located in a quiet alley off a main road. There are lots of restaurants and cafes in the area and it is within walking distance of a number of attractions. We were greeted warmly and given a welcome drink of pineapple juice. Our room was clean and comfortable with A/C and hot showers, TV and in-room WIFI. A simple breakfast was included in the price of the room (US20) and served around the family dining table! Service was attentive and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.

We would happily recommend Giang Son and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwimeetsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

I was looking for a highly recommanded Guesthouse in this alley, which turned out to be fully booked. However, I felt so lucky beeing refered to Giang Son Guesthouse located off the busy street in the same quiet alley. Very friendly staff. The room comes with breakfast, WIFI, TV, Aircon, Fridge, Shower with Curtain (Hot Water). We paid 18 USD for the bigger room (one Queensize Bed) on the 4th floor.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sascha411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Giang Son 3 Hotel
Giang Son 3 Hotel
#17 of 890 in Ho Chi Minh City
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saigon Inn Hotel
Saigon Inn Hotel
#4 of 890 in Ho Chi Minh City
238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Giang Son Guesthouse 2
Giang Son Guesthouse 2
#29 of 890 in Ho Chi Minh City
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Diep Anh Guesthouse
Diep Anh Guesthouse
#11 of 890 in Ho Chi Minh City
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vy Khanh Guesthouse
Vy Khanh Guesthouse
#2 of 890 in Ho Chi Minh City
569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Town House 50 Saigon
Town House 50 Saigon
#3 of 890 in Ho Chi Minh City
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giang Son Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giang Son Guesthouse

Property: Giang Son Guesthouse
Address: 14 283, D Pham Ngu Lao, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 890 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Giang Son Guesthouse 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Giang Son Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giang Son Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing