We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, clean room, friendly staff”
Review of Saigon Zoom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saigon Zoom Hotel
Ranked #213 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent, just 1 minute's walk from the Khao San Road of HCMC full of bars and restaurants and 5 minutes to the big market, 10 minutes to the War Remnants Museum (well worth a visit). Our room is on 4th floor and there are no bugs, it's clean and towels are replaced daily. The only thing is it's very loud in the morning but that's because we're in the middle of a huge city so not really to do with the hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful and overall it is great value, i highly recommend for a short stay in HCMC.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraCarter25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

The hotel location is quite good as it's in the Backpacker district and the rooms are okay for Vietnamese standards. On our check out day we packed our money into four different wallets in four different bags and went to breakfast. We had counted the money before breakfast and we counted them again when we were on a bus to our next destination. During our breakfast we lost 4.500,000 Dong from four different wallets. Only the biggest notes were taken and the smallest ones left. Our bags were unattended inside our locked hotel room only for a half an hour while we were having breakfast and during this time somebody from the staff entered our room and went through our bags.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pykami1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saigonzoom H, Manager at Saigon Zoom Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear pykami1
Thank you for sharing your valuable comments with us.
We are extremely concerned to note your comment regarding about something in our hotel. please do accept our sincere apologies for you and your friends during you stay. this issue has been brought consideration .
We hope you will see the improvement in your next visit. Your feedback is extremely helpful for us to improve our services and products. We are seeking for another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The rooms were filthy. I had a massive brown stain on my bed sheet. The floors had not been vacuumed and there was hair all over it. On checkout, the staff tried to cheat me by quoting an exchange rate that was far from standard. The location was the only thing that was okay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pratul_awasthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Good value, ok location. I started off in a room on the ground floor that was just grim.....for a few dollars more I moved up to a much better dual aspect room. The manager of the hotel is charming, concerned for you and very helpful. He has some smiling lazy boys working for him in the evening who you will find bedded down in the reception at night

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed at this Hotel recently. Finding the place was hard as it was tucked away in an alley in District 1. Upon check in we were told that the our room's shower was broken and there was no available room so we were put in their sister hotel which was a shady hotel with blood stains on my bed. Upon coming back to the hotel the next day I had specifically ordered for two single-beds but was given one double bed. Hot water did not work. For the price I paid I could have found any decent hotel in District 1. I will not go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Imran_A_Sultan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This hotel is located down the end of the "back packer" strip, round the corner and down a alley way. A little hard to find if your not sure where your going, but locals are happy to help out. Hotel is clean and comfortable with very friendly and helpful staff. My room was a little bit noisy. Mainly on Saturday night, but still some noise from neighbours during the week too. The internet was reasonably fast with only a few hick ups in the 6 days I spent there. Room was cleaned daily.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lochy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed in Saigon Zoom for 5 nights and found it to be very good value. The location is within walking distance to the backpacker area and an easy walk to the Ben Thanh market or the river. The staff were very friendly and can help with setting up a Vietnam sim card or with any tours you might want to do. Airconditioning and wifi worked well too. Would stay here again.
Note - make sure you have the address written down in advance for your taxi driver if you don't organise an airport pickup. Ours didn't know the hotel name but could work out the address.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#105 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kim Hotel
Kim Hotel
#133 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
205 reviews
2.7 mi away
Thien Vu Hotel
Thien Vu Hotel
#126 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Madam Cuc 184
Madam Cuc 184
#138 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Le Petit Sai Gon Hotel
#184 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
3 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel MaiVy
Hotel MaiVy
#313 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Zoom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Zoom Hotel

Address: 102/1A Cong Quynh | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 848, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £13 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saigon Zoom Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SAIGON ZOOM HOTEL 1 is located in a very good location; off the main street CONG QUYNH, down the safe alley so all of rooms are kept quiet from the traffic noise; on a walking distance to get almost useful service such as backpacker area (around 3 minutes), bar and coffee shops, ATM, local market and super markets, restaurants, tailor, travel agencies; to get BEN THANH market is around 20 minutes; tourist attractions just some minutes by metered taxi with fee around 2 USD; to get MEKONG EXPRESS BUS just within some minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Saigon Zoom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saigon Mini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing