We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value, clean and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Saigon Smile Hostel
Ranked #246 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at the Thuan Duc hotel! It is a small hotel with only a couple of rooms. I had a room on the 4th floor, with a little window. The room was very clean, only had some minor ant issues as is apparantly common in Vietnam (they are really small, crawl only on the ground and do not bother you at all). The shower had warm water. Furthermore there was a TV, a fridge and airco. Of course for this price you get a basic hotel, no luxury, but if you only want to sleep in the room but still want to have a neat room this is your first choice!

The hotel is run by a family who care for their hotel and the well-being of their guests. The lady was really very helpful and gave me great hints on how to get on to Tra Vinh cheaply by public transport. She even called a bus company for me!

Would stay here again without hesitating!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BenTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

This hotel and the owner really made that difference to our Vietnam holiday. It is tucked away in a small lane way away from the traffic noise of Hoi Chi Minh City. The room we stayed in was comfortable and clean with air conditioning and a ceiling fan.. The room had an Asian 'wet room' ensuite bathroom in which when you turn on the shower just about everything gets wet. (:-).
The hotel staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms have free wifi and are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

The owner of this hotel is extremely helpful. She gave you many options of tours/restaurants/etc, including the budget ones, not just recommending what she may receive a commission for. Also helpful in teaching you some useful Vietnamese phrases! She will organise tours for you with Tropic Tours but is not at all pushy. I loved that this hotel was down a bit of a winding alleyway - it felt that every time you went back it was more like going home to your 'apartment' rather than an obvious hotel. And I don't think it's that hard to find - it's 219 Pham Ngu Lau - just find the closest lane to that number on the main street and walk down it (keep left). Rooms very quiet, very basic but a nice clean bed and you can rely on Loan (the owner) to keep your luggage safe if you need to travel elsewhere for a short time. The lady straight across from it will also make you a lovely Vietnamese coffee for 10000dong (50c)! Really great place.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I just arrived in Ho Chi Minh City today and it took me over an hour to find this hotel and asking a number of different people where it is located. I got sent in every direction and there is good reason for this it's because it's down are dark alley off another dark alley with everything else around it closed up. Went to check in and got told "we have 2 hotels I put you in the other one 2 doors down" (alarm bells started ringing) I asked to see the room and it was like someone put a mattress in a shoebox and called it a guesthouse. (The room door didn't even have a lock that worked.) I told them I wouldn't be staying as I didn't feel safe. (Single female travelling alone).

Walked into the Phan Lan 2 and was treated like royalty and felt safe!!!
I should have gone with my first choice and booked the Phan Lan 2 to begin with.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CarlzDarlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

While the place is hard to find (tucked in an alley inside an alley off Pham Ngu Lao), it is well and truly worth the effort. The room was quiet, comfortable with a TV and aircon, and cheaper than other hotels nearby. The hotel provides tour and bus booking services, and are often cheaper than the travel agents nearby. I will definitely stay there again!

Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
1  Thank Bajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Used this hotel as our base in Ho Chi Minh city for a few days. The staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The lady on the desk has good English.
It is located just off the popular street of Pham Ngu Lao and provided us with a welcome sanctuary from the hectic main streets. Once we had located the hotel we had no problem in finding it again, but we did find that most maps do not show the layout of the alleyways very accurately.
Rooms are simple, with fridge, tv, AC and the hotel is kept very clean (they politely ask you to take your shoes off when you walk through).
There are no communal facilities and breakfast is not included so opportunities to meet other travellers are limited, however it suited our needs and we had a good stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammys_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

I try to stay in this hotel after confusing with so much option in ho chi minh city,and Im very satisfied with the location and cleanliness of this hotel.more over the lady at the reception is very friendly and also very helpful.
Its also very easy to find a restaurant in this area within 2 minutes walking you can easily find many restaurant .
The room in this hotel is very clean even though alitlle bit small in size but its very clean and they have a airconditioner.fan and also cable tv in the room.
The only minor problem when you arrived here you can be alittle bit confuse to find this hotel location because inside a small alley.but everything else from this hotel is good if you have limited budget.
If you want to go to major object like war remnants museum,reunification palace,ben thanh market,notre dame church its also within 10 minutes walking from this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mariop79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
#165 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Graceful Saigon Hotel
Graceful Saigon Hotel
#149 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thao Nhi Hotel
Thao Nhi Hotel
#159 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Huy Hoang Hotel
Huy Hoang Hotel
#255 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2 reviews
1.1 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#102 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saigon Zoom Hotel
Saigon Zoom Hotel
#209 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Smile Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Smile Hostel

Address: 219/26 Pham Ngu Lao | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Thuan Duc)
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £10 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Saigon Smile Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Saigon Smile Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thuan Duc Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing