We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I didn't feel safe”
Review of Thuan Duc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thuan Duc
Ranked #207 of 453 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I didn't feel safe”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I booked this hotel based on the reviews.. The hotel was hard to find to me. I'm not used to the little dark alleys off the main streets of Saigon. There was no one at the desk when I arrived, although a friendly young man appeared right away. I was led to a 3rd floor room. Very simple and clean. However, the lock on the door was VERY basic. No further locks from inside. I seriously worried about the safety of my belongings when traveling with a lap top and expensive camera. No safe in room. With no front desk security, the sketchy guy who gave me directions in the alley could have easily followed me in and picked the lock. I ditched my 3 night online booking and $80 tonight.

Female, Canadian, traveling alone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    33
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
3
30
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at 10pm the guest house had shut although they had our booking written down in the book.
We were rudely greeted but three boys who were obviously more concerned about their own social meeting than us as guests.
We were shown to our room and the floor was dirty with hair and the beds only had one tiny pillow so sleep wasn't exactly restful.
I was told off for speaking on the phone in the corridor which I could understand totally if it wasnt for the blaring electronic dance music the host was playing in the lobby the next morning!
It is also worth noting ad a couple we ordered a double room but were given two hard single beds
Obviously we left the next morning for one of the many better hotels in the city.
I understand it was a budget hotel but we have stayed in much nicer for the same price and ended up on paying a few dollars more for a much more suitable hotel in Ho Chi Minh city

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe7oaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Simple but clean and quiet room. No frills, but none needed with this price and location! Friendly and accommodating staff. Great location in the heart of district 1 excitement. Happily spent a night here when I first visited HCM, and then came back later for a whole week.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

For an exceptionally cheap rate, you get a nice bed, a clean bathroom, working AC, and a great location. It's a small room but hopefully you won't be in there other than to rest/shower anyway.

The staff is very friendly and helpful and absolutely would not accept tIps. I was never locked out...they would wake up and open the gate for me even at 4am... so yes it's a good place if you like to party.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puzzlermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

For its price, shouldn't expect too much from this hotel. The basics are there and the guy running this hotel is very approachable. For its location and price, this hotel is very value for money. You can also book tours from this hotel, trustworthy and reliable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markgoh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Highly recommended!!! Thien - the person in charge (receptionists, bell boy, room boy etc!!) is a very very good person! Always available if you need help in almost everything. He arranged all the tours for me (two separate tours around Saigon). The location is great - close to everything (food centers, shopping center, city center, city tourist spots, etc). I am a frequent solo traveler and I prefer to stay in places like this one, clean rooms, affordable rates, and safe. Thank you Thuan Duc!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GomezA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I highly reccomend this place. The staff are so helpful. They went above and beyond for us and always greeted us with a big smile. Cheap accommodation with all the basics you need. Located in ideal location just a small walk from the markets and very close to Bui Vein street.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
2.6 mi away
Thien Vu Hotel
Thien Vu Hotel
#125 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ha Vy Hotel
Ha Vy Hotel
#262 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
#162 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thao Nhi Hotel
Thao Nhi Hotel
#140 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thuy Tien Hotel
Thuy Tien Hotel
#326 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.1 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#95 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thuan Duc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thuan Duc

Property: Thuan Duc
Address: 26 219, Pham Ngu Lao | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 453 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Thuan Duc 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HostelWorld so you can book your Thuan Duc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thuan Duc Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing