We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable small hotel”
Review of Thuan Duc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thuan Duc
Ranked #233 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Affordable small hotel”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

A little bit hard to find in the small alleys of the backpackers district. Very friendly and helpfull staff. The rooms are basic and clean. The location of the hotel is in the middle of the backpackers distrcict. So the location is excellent for backpackers. Overall great value for your money,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wouter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    33
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
3
31
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

At first it was a little hard to find as it's located in a small alley, but the location also leads to quiter rooms even though it is in the backpacker's district. Basic rooms with everything you need and great airco. The guy at the reception is super friendly and always there to help you with anything. We went back here three times during our trip through Vietnam, so would definitely recommend this place when on a budget!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed as a solo traveller, in a room with a double bed, and it was my first stop in Vietnam. Thien, the guy who runs the reception, was great. At times, a little abrupt, but when I needed help he was amazing. Reception closes at about 11pm, but he sleeps on the floor and is happy to open up to let people in - I felt bad, but as he said (with a smile!) it's his job. I took 2 tours, booked via the hotel and they were great (to Mekong Delta & Cu Chi Tunnels). The tours were through a different travel agency, but actually I ended up paying $4USD less on each tour than other people on the same tour (booked through their respective hotels)! The bed was hard, but all beds in Vietnam seem to be hard! Facilities otherwise basic, but it was good for me. I also felt safe in the hotel, but it was a bit tricky to find as it was down an alleyway off another alleyway. One thing - there were ants, so just don't leave food out!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teah007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I booked this hotel based on the reviews.. The hotel was hard to find to me. I'm not used to the little dark alleys off the main streets of Saigon. There was no one at the desk when I arrived, although a friendly young man appeared right away. I was led to a 3rd floor room. Very simple and clean. However, the lock on the door was VERY basic. No further locks from inside. I seriously worried about the safety of my belongings when traveling with a lap top and expensive camera. No safe in room. With no front desk security, the sketchy guy who gave me directions in the alley could have easily followed me in and picked the lock. I ditched my 3 night online booking and $80 tonight.

Female, Canadian, traveling alone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at 10pm the guest house had shut although they had our booking written down in the book.
We were rudely greeted but three boys who were obviously more concerned about their own social meeting than us as guests.
We were shown to our room and the floor was dirty with hair and the beds only had one tiny pillow so sleep wasn't exactly restful.
I was told off for speaking on the phone in the corridor which I could understand totally if it wasnt for the blaring electronic dance music the host was playing in the lobby the next morning!
It is also worth noting ad a couple we ordered a double room but were given two hard single beds
Obviously we left the next morning for one of the many better hotels in the city.
I understand it was a budget hotel but we have stayed in much nicer for the same price and ended up on paying a few dollars more for a much more suitable hotel in Ho Chi Minh city

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe7oaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Simple but clean and quiet room. No frills, but none needed with this price and location! Friendly and accommodating staff. Great location in the heart of district 1 excitement. Happily spent a night here when I first visited HCM, and then came back later for a whole week.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

For an exceptionally cheap rate, you get a nice bed, a clean bathroom, working AC, and a great location. It's a small room but hopefully you won't be in there other than to rest/shower anyway.

The staff is very friendly and helpful and absolutely would not accept tIps. I was never locked out...they would wake up and open the gate for me even at 4am... so yes it's a good place if you like to party.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puzzlermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Ha Vy Hotel
Ha Vy Hotel
#273 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thao Nhi Hotel
Thao Nhi Hotel
#144 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
58 reviews
2.6 mi away
Thien Vu Hotel
Thien Vu Hotel
#129 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
#174 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel MaiVy
Hotel MaiVy
#312 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madam Cuc 184
Madam Cuc 184
#119 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thuan Duc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thuan Duc

Property: Thuan Duc
Address: 26 219, Pham Ngu Lao | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Thuan Duc 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Thuan Duc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thuan Duc Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing