We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel for $50 a night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lavender Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lavender Central Hotel
Ranked #138 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for $50 a night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

For $50 a night I couldn't ask for anything better than this. It is right in the center of Saigon right behind the Ben Thanh market. Breakfast is included. Everything is clean and up to international standard. The staff are very nice and laundry service is offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    275
    107
    20
    18
See reviews for
90
176
33
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Booked this hotel through Malaysia tour agent www.12fly.com.my as we bought the ground tour inclusive of hotel. Was given a choice of this hotel ( mid range) or the lower range of hoang hai long 2/ha hien hotel. Paid > RM 1,200/pax.

Stayed for 3 nights. Hotel location is excellent , right behind the Ben Tanh market (less than 1 min walking distance).

Given room at 2nd floor right at the end. Room is small but gooe enough for 2 pax. With fake windows ( as there is no actual window, normal in HCM), fake lavender flowers etc....

Private tour ( for only 2 pax) include breakfast and there have reasonable spreads but you tend to have enough when you dine there for 3 days!!. Breakfast opened at 6am and we were amongst the 1st to be there so to walk round the ben tanh market every morning before the start of tour.

Problems started on day 2. We bought some souvenirs ( local handcrafted bags) and just dumped it at our hotel room in a bag after tour and went to ben tanh for a quick walk before dinner starts. During that 90 mins gap, someone went to our room and stole our bag with the souvenirs bags. I thought my mum got it until the next morning, she confirmed that she didnt have it and we lodge a complaint with the hotel and infomred my tour guide to help settle.

Worse during this period, my mum ( more than 70 yrs old) got " stucked" in the toilet room for 20 mins and the toilet door could not be opened. The hotel staff didnt seem to have the right tool for it until when I pressure them when it took more thanm 20 mins, they forced opened it by banging it after the lock were taken out!!

Thank goodness mum was fine after.

Drama didnt end here. Next settle my lost things in my room!

The guide was thakfully aggressive enough to force the hotel management to do something.
They originaly didnt allolw us to view the CCTV but later gave in but when viewed it, the image is very blurred and worse the CCTV is near the lift and couldnt see who went in /out of our hotel room. But we knew its an inside job.

My tour guide Mr Tran Chi Hung from New Orient Tours HCM threaten for a police report and we decided to give them 1 hour to settle internally before we proceed to police station. ( thought my that tour days i gone!!)

around 11am the manager and the front desk girl came to our room and repeatedly asked me what were the things inside the bag that were missing which we expleined again!!. During this period, another hotel staff appeared with our bag!! And were told it was found at level 1 which they claimed we have left it there!! Obviously we didnt even went near there.

With toilet door down and security a major concerned, we decided to ask for room change.

This time, a higher floor nearer to lift ( CCTV could viewed) and with small actual window!!

Hotel management apologetically gave us a basket of fruits which we have politely declined.

If not because of these 2 incidents, this hotel stays were pleasant.

Note: Circle K conveninece store is very nearby.

Hotel has 2 computers at lobby free to use. You may print out the checkin boarding pass as well free of charge.

Room Tip: If you have to choose, face behing upper floor and near to lift if possible at least you are covered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeithW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. Staff very friendly & helpful. Great location opposite Ben Than Market & night market. Rooms small but very clean, comfortable bed, tea & coffee making facilities. Small but very clean bathroom with nice toiletries available. Breakfast buffet very good with good choice. All in all a very good value for money hotel, would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ourdowntime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

First the "not so good bits": don't expect an outlook. The room was small with no window, just a fake window which gave a bit of light from a sort of light well. Not a major drama as you don't tend to use the room for more than sleeping at night. The tv had terrible reception and remote seemed faulty, and no English channels worth watching - again not a real problem as watching tv is not really a priority. One morning, there was no hot water for shower - a minor inconvenience. The bed was 'firm' but found this to be the case in all the hotels I used. Air con was a little noisy but there was no street noise. All these were minor issues and did not add up to any significant annoyance. On the plus side, the location was excellent, the staff were charming and helpful; the breakfast was pretty good; the room and bathroom was spotless and the price made it very good value.

Room Tip: I did not enquire whether there were any rooms with real windows but might be worth asking if this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennycantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Strategic Location, right opposite Ben Thahn Market! (Superb Pho restaurant across the road, it was so good that both hubby & myself ate there twice!). Top notch service provided by the hotel staff, friendly and helpful! Rooms were very clean, just nice for two! (There were lavenders in the room, well it is 'lavender' hotel after all). Buffet spread is just nice and fresh, waiter & waitresses were friendly too.
All in all, Lavender Hotel and ALL their staff were VERY WELCOMING! Highly recommended!

Indeed a hotel which is value for money!

- Sherman & Kristy (Malaysia) -

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsuichen26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

The hotel is in a great location, close to the Ben Thahn market and the night market. The street outside is vibrant with all sorts of shops, vendors, etc. I had an excellent pedicure for a ridiculously cheap amount. Our room was small but well appointed, and very clean. Staff were friendly, helpful and obliging. Free wifi and free internet in the lobby. Good breakfast with plenty of variety.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KandCTaucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this small hotel, ideally located for exploring the sites of HCMC. It's immediately across the road from the main market, and within easy walking distance of many of the best museums and places of cultural significance.

We were lucky enough to get the suite on the 7th floor - which has a lovely balcony overlooking the city. The room has a queen size bed, chez lounge, large TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom is spacious - but water pressure is an issue. There's a spa - but we can't begin to imagine how long it would take to fill!! The TV has an enormous range of cable stations - but no BBC World, CBS or the like - which can be frustrating if you're wanting to catch up on news from around the world.

We found the walls to be very thin. We could clearly hear conversations occurring in rooms next to ours.

The staff are very friendly and keen to help. There is a restaurant on the mezzanine floor, which does a terrific breakfast between 6am and 10am. Free internet terminals are in the lobby, and free wifi is available throughout the hotel.

In short, this place is a great, cheap place to stay in a fascinating city. Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingPeteShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Lavender Boutique Hotel
Lavender Boutique Hotel
#149 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#24 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
#55 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alagon Western Hotel
Alagon Western Hotel
#132 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Luxe Hotel
The Luxe Hotel
#86 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anpha Boutique Hotel
Anpha Boutique Hotel
#21 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Central Hotel

Property: Lavender Central Hotel
Address: 210 208, Le Thanh Ton Street, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam (Formerly Lavender Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lavender Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lavender Hotel sits in the heart of Ho Chi Minh, near the Ben Thanh Handicraft Market, Saigon Notre-Dame Basilica, and Saigon Opera House. A great choice for business travelers, it is close to many commercial areas and international consulates. All guestrooms are well-furnished, elegantly designed and modernly equipped to establish a homey feel. To facilitate any meetings and seminars, the hotel provides fully-equipped meeting rooms of varying sizes, including a business center and library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Lavender Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing