We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cockroaches in two different rooms followed by ants in the 3rd change bed”
Review of Sunny Hotel

Sunny Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunny Hotel
Ranked #362 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Complete disgrace and would advise nobody to take a chance booking this hotel. I have travelled to over ten countries and never been in worse. On arrival the restaurant were breakfast is served was also a bike garage for mopeds. We arrived ataround 10pm after a 13 journey and found cockroaches running everywhere so requested a room change which was arranged . In the 2nd room we put our bags on the bed and another cockroach ran on the bed and over our bags. The 3rd room had ant type bugs in the bed, it was now pas midnight and leaving was not an option. The next morning after no sleep we checked out where I explained to the morning staff I was not happy to pay. I also asked if cockroachs in hotels was the norm in the city which she replied no. She confirmed that full payment was required I asked for the manager who funny enough didn't stay at the cockroach infested hotel. We paid and left and hope no one else will book this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't use the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leighton s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

After having stayed here in February and being quite pleased, I came back for a second time and was equally happy. I stayed in a single and the rooms are large and very clean, and come with a mini-bar, separate bathroom with hot water, plasma TV with cable, and plenty of storage room for clothes. The only small negative would be the slow wi-fi in the rooms, but if its a problem, they do have free internet downstairs that works fine. The location is also a 5 minute walk from a great area in D1, and everything else is close enough too.

The best part about the Hotel is the staff. Both day and night staff are very friendly and helpful-from calling up bars to get directions, to advice, or making sure you have everything in the room you need. I highly recommend Sunny Hotel, and after 2 stays, I'm sure there will be a 3rd.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhaig5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

There is BETTER HOTEL with a BETTER PRICE and BETTER LOCATION. In order to go to the happening areas like bars, restaurants street shopping and travel agents you need to cross a six lane road which the traffic might just run into you. In 4 nights stay I witness 2 accidents. The hotel will serve you SAME daily breakfast, so you know what you expect when you wake up - 1 bread with 2 eggs and a pinch of margarine and jam with no refills, they have only two tables to serve breakfast which you need to wait if the table is occupied and if the occupant start chatting or talking history you might ended waiting for more than half hour. On the day of check out during breakfast they will ask for your key so they could shut down the AC which I only knew after I came back from a sweating morning walk , just imagine how do you feel when you are back in the room, the heat was waiting for you instead of a cool room moreover this happen after informing them I will c/out at 1330 hours.(I c/in after 1800 hours) I just don't understand why they do this to their guests before the c/out time. Worst experience of all on my check out date was they have miserably forgotten to return my passport ?????????I did settle my room bill day after I c/in.They will remember to check your minibar even after informing them I do not consume anything????????reaching airport I realize I do not have my passport which I have to make 2 trips to airport and 1 trip back to town to get back my passport which cost me to waste VND 400,000 and my precious time, tension and wasted my plan to go to a shopping mall nearby. That also they misplace and mix up my passport, after she make a call only my passport was found. Even in tripadvisor comments the hotel is good but after you experience your stay you will know and realize what is true or what is not.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyms43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank langgeng14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mag B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Thank isabellep95150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Farid N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.7 mi away
Morning Rooms Phan Dang Luu
Morning Rooms Phan Dang Luu
#421 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hong Vy Hotel
Hong Vy Hotel
#132 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
67 reviews
3.6 mi away
My Anh 120 Saigon
My Anh 120 Saigon
#204 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Meraki Boutique Hotel
Meraki Boutique Hotel
#171 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#205 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
42 reviews
1.8 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#96 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Hotel

Address: 54 Dang Dung Str., District 1 | Tan Dinh Ward, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £14 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunny Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing