We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleased”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ho Chi Minh City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saigon Sports 2 Hotel
Ranked #308 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Very Pleased”
Reviewed 16 August 2010

While I'm not extremely impressed by this hotel, I can't fault it on any level. Even though they try to push some tours, they're not in your face like similar establishments in Vietnam. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The manager is a lovely lady and helped us anyway even though we didn't want to book loads of tours through the hotel.

We stayed there for two nights at first in a very spacious room on the 4th floor at the front of the hotel and then we went to the Mekong for a couple of days. When we got back, we got a smaller room on the 5th floor for the same price as the first room. Unfortunately the elevator only goes up to the 4th floor, so you have to take the stairs for one floor. That's not bad in itself but the stairwell is a bit slippery and mind your head if you're 6ft or taller.

A young lad at the front desk rented out his scooter for us for $7 (including petrol).

The rooms are decorated tastefully and while the included breakfast is totally dull, it's a useful start to a day.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rugsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

The room we had was in the back so there was no noise from the street however we had a 'window' which couldnt close all the way so the noise came in anyway. The room was not very clean, a lot of dust and there was still a dirty towel in our bathroom.

The location is very central and nice. If you want to stay for 1 night it should be fine but if you want to stay longer there surely must be a better place for the same price.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liworldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2009

Stayed on 5th floor of thei hotel for 2 nights with Intrepid Travel. Lift only goes to the 4th floor, so a bit of a trek up some very steep stairs to get to our room. Room at the front of the hotel on top floor is soooo noisy it was impossible to sleep. There was only hot water through the shower (no cold mixed in at all) and so we had to shower using the toilet hose. The room was clean but not a very enjoyable stay. Other rooms at the back of the hotel, although they have no windows, are much more quiet, and better to sleep in.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayhoney46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
513 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2009

Stayed for one night after finishing a trip from Cambodia. Right in the heart of the City and on a busy corner. But isn’t everywhere busy in Saigon! Hotel was clean and the rooms were well appointed and furnished well. The Air con was good and the bed comfortable. Staff pleasant but not very flexible in allowing for late check out as they wanted half a days rate for anything over ½ hour extra. Changed some dollars at the hotel as they were advertising a good rate but found that it was only that good rate if you exchanged $100, something they forgot to mention when I cashed $20. Use the banks. No dining facilities so went out for breakfast to the Apollo Bez not far from the hotel. 10 minutes from the Night Market which is well worth a visit. Good deals on Crocs shoes. Picked up a pair for £7, genuine article as well. They will barter at most places in the market, but be pleasant, don’t shout or raise your voice and smile a lot. It works nearly everytime. The quality of the t-shirts is not great but okay for souvenirs. General rule is whatever the price is they tell you half it and reduce it by 20%, then work it from there.

Great restaurant next to the market on the left side, can’t remember the name but look for the frogs in the tank at the front of the restaurant and you might be at the right one. Some good sight seeing over by the main Post Office, which is also next to the Notre Dame cathedral. Buy postcards from the post office as they 25% of what the street sellers will ask. Some good deals on copy watches, they certainly look the part so might be worth picking one up.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billythefish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mt.gambier
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2008

sen hotel was very quiet and friendly.my room was at the back of the hotrl so it was nice and qiet at night.the staff were very friendly and helpful especialy the security guy!. the rooms were spacious and their is a lift if you need it.
so close to everything,across the park are lovely and cheap cafes, the 'le cantina' was lovely
allroond i would stay their again.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank leebee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2008

We were there for 3 nights at the end of an Intrepid tour. It was a pleasant surprise to find a welcoming foyer and friendly staff who went out of their way to help. We had a clogged toilet, and I dropped the shower hose which then broke, and the staff fixed these straight away.
There are only 17 rooms in the hotel and it's very small. We were in room 102 at the rear of the building, so no traffic noise. A couple on a higher floor overlooking the street did report hearing the traffic, so maybe ask for a room away from the road. The bed was hard, just like beds throughout Asia, but we had a wonderful, peaceful sleep with perfectly silent AC. Bliss!
The room was modern, beautifully decorated, large with mini bar, flat screen TV, A/C, sitting area and plenty of cupboard room. The bathroom was mid-size and nice enough, but there was a little mould in the bottom corner of the shower and maybe could have done with a real good scrub. That is the only slight fault in an otherwise pleasant stay.
Note that there is no restaurant attached to the hotel. KFC is next door (if you like that sort of thing), but if you cross over La Lai Street, through the little park, you hit the back-packer area with a huge choice of food and drink, shops etc. My tip - try Kim Cafe (next to Kim travel) for breakfast - large serve of home made baked beans with toast for 15000 VND ($1.50 AUD) - the best I had in Vietnam (I am vegetarian and don't eat eggs).
The Ben Thien market is 500 meters down the same road (over some busy intersections) and there are nice places to eat there at night. But watch the stall holders. They are pushy, rude and will grab you to pull you into their stalls. I made a rule that if they touched me, I walked away. They are all very competitive for your dollar and will try to get you to buy from them while you are bargaining with another stall.
We also walked to the War museum (horrific), the post office area (very nice), and Tax department store which I loved! Same stuff as the market but in air-conditioned peace, and you can bargain with them too. They still try to get you to buy but no where near as aggressive.
In short the Sen is a new small hotel in a great spot close enough to everything that you can walk if you're brave enough to cross the street!

  • Liked — Modern, peaceful and close to everything
  • Disliked — Bathroom needs a good clean
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KGB_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Thien Hoa Hotel
#283 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thao Nhi Hotel
Thao Nhi Hotel
#137 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#110 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Duy Hotel
Le Duy Hotel
#123 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asian Ruby Park View Hotel
Asian Ruby Park View Hotel
#244 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alagon City Point Hotel & Spa
Alagon City Point Hotel & Spa
#127 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Sports 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Sports 2 Hotel

Property: Saigon Sports 2 Hotel
Address: 82 Le Lai Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Sen Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Saigon Sports 2 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 240

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing