We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kim Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Kim Hotel
Ranked #129 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Basis is the word to describe this place. But it has everything you need on a functional level. The big difference between Kim and other similar priced places in this area is that there is a lift to all floors and that's why we choose it. They can turn every double room into a twin room because all the double beds are really two singles together. The mattresses are wafer thin but surprisingly (for an insomniac) I slept okay. The room wasn't noisy although our friends (on a higher floor) moved out because of the noise. Aircon, bathroom and WIFI we found all okay. Best advice would be to stay here for a night or so and if you like it, then stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    73
    28
    13
    6
See reviews for
14
77
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We originally booked for Kim hotel but upon arrival were told to go Kim 2 down the road. Many other reviews before have mentioned this practice before. I was disappointed.

Kim 2 down the road is on the side of the main road which is noisy. We were on the 6th floor it was not too bad but it was extremely hot! Rooms were clean which was a relief. Staff were friendly but obviously just doing the very minimum.

Wifi at Kim 2 hardly worked at all which was frustrating. We ended up just going to coffee shops in the area.

So overall I'd say our stay was ok because the location was close to city central. The room was clean and quiet. With what we paid for, it was ok. But the practice of attracting people to book for Kim and blindly transferring to Kim 2, to me was just bad practice and a major put off. I will not be back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank connie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
372 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

As the saying goes you get what you pay for and in this case - about $18/night for a twin room. The room was basic - twin beds, wardrobe, fridge, chair, small table. The bathroom was very basic - shower and toilet with the shower spraying everywhere! The beds were rock hard.
Our room was on the first floor so could hear all the noise from the reception area underneath starting at about 0600. The room had a small window with bars on it giving the feeling of being in a prison cell.
Upon arrival we were greeted with a cold drink and fresh fruit which was a nice touch. The staff were always friendly as we came in and out and would gently remind you to look after your belongings. Being locatd in one of the alleys just off Bui Vien that is sound advice!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up and one with a balocny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatielouAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed here because it was highly recommended by Lonely Planet. I think they need to review it again because I don't think it deserves their praise! We booked and paid about a month in advance. When we arrived the owner/manager was very friendly and made us sit down whilst she served us with fruit and water. Great start...

Unfortunately she then tried to get us to upgrade our room from a First Class to a Deluxe Class ($3 more/night) as she had no First Class rooms available! She wanted us to pay an extra $2 a night whilst she would cover the other $1. I told her that as it was her error (double booking!) she should cover the whole $3! She got rather angry with us and then, miraculously, a First Class room suddenly became available!

After that she was very falsely friendly to us every time she saw us and, on one occasion, was downright rude about us as we were walking up the stairs. It wasn't a very nice place to stay although we did enjoy the rooftop balcony at sunset. We did have our own balcony but it was too small to even fit a chair on so it was actually rather pointless! The mattress on the bed was extremely hard and we found it very difficult to sleep - thankfully the air con worked well as it was very hot outside.

On the positive side, the hotel was very conveniently located, the airport transfer worked very efficiently and there were lots of nice restaurants along the alleyway. Wouldn't stay there again as there are plenty of other nicer looking places to stay in the same alleyway.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, get a First Class room as they are exactly the same as the Deluxe Rooms ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolinedk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed there only two nights at my short stopover in HCMC this year. Friendly people, basic small rooms but all I needed. I had a nice balcony and was lucky they have an elevator (stayed 7th floor next to the rooftop).
Located in a reasonably quite alley off Bui Vien (of course, the whole area is not "quite").

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pzinken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipheim, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We were given a room with twin beds and we got what we paid for. The room was really small with hardly any storage area. Our room was on the first floor and you could hear all the conversations in the reception area which started at 06.30. The location is really good and the airport pick up worked a treat. I looked at a few hotels nearby and they were about the same.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our group of 4 had two double rooms here, each with a balcony over the street. Rooms were clean and spacious with modern decor, aircon, TV, fridge, and desk. We expected there to be noise from the very noisy street below, but it was extremely quiet in the room and we slept very well. Location is perfect as it is walking distance from everything. The rooftop terrace is a great place to chill out with a beer from the very reasonably priced mini-bar after a hot day of sightseeing! Our only complaint was that the bathtub did not drain properly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurayjosue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
#154 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seventy Hotel
Seventy Hotel
#152 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nguyen Khang Hotel
Nguyen Khang Hotel
#117 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Elegant Inn
Elegant Inn
#75 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#107 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#71 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kim Hotel

Property: Kim Hotel
Address: 18 40, Bui Vien Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kim Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Kim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing