We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel ever ”
Review of Elegant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elegant Inn
Ranked #89 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

This was by far the best hotel we stayed in during out time travelling. The staff are extremely polite. We arranged to stay one night but wanted to say another night. Unfortunately we gave them too late notice and they were full up. But they very quickly found us another place to stay, at the same price, seconds down the road. Highly recommended for anyone travelling on a budget, rooms were spotless and clean. Shower was great too!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Sam H ,

Warmest greeting from Elegant inn Saigon ,
Thank you very much for kindly support our hotel and spent time to write such a nice review about our hotel . We would love to have you stay the extra night with us , we tried but could not set that up .Thanks for understanding and support .
We hope you would experience more good things cross your trip in VietNam .

Best regards !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
There are newer reviews for Elegant Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 389 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

This place is all about the service. The staff are friendly and couldn't do enough to help. They open the door for you every time you walk in or out, give you a warm welcome with a cold drink at check in, take your bags up to your room and give you a map of the local area (and a spare just in case).

Our room was very large and clean with a good size bathroom and powerful shower, large fridge and free bottles of water every day.

The rooftop dining area where you have breakfast is lovely and the noodle soups are delicious.

The location is great for the bustling backpacker part of the city which does keep going on to the wee small hours every night so can be a bit noisy at times.

We booked for 2 nights and stayed for 4 because of the location and the service.

We were in a hurry at checkout and left a passport behind, whilst we were on the bus, the conductor handed me his phone and it was the tour operator we had booked with. The hotel had been in touch to say that they had the passport and were couriering it to their office at our next destination. All this before we had even realised we'd left it behind. Top notch!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Neil B ,

On behalf of Elegant inn Saigon , I would like to thank to your kindly support and spent time wrote such lovely review here to share your own experiences to others .
We can not change the physical facilities of the hotel , The only thing we could do is our services . We are appreciate your sharing and understanding that gives us power to present better and better services to our value customers .
We are looking to have chance to serve you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The beds and bedding are comfortable, the furnishings are more than adequate and the rooms are a very good size. The towels are perhaps due for replacement but that is about the only quibble I could have about this absolute gem of a place. Exceptional Service in Vietnam is the norm but the staff here really went beyond what we would even consider asking for, truly outstanding.
The prices are extremely competitive and although I have stayed at hundreds of hotels I would have to say that the Elegant Inn is the best value for money hotel I have ever stayed in!
I don't give praise lightly but I have found the hotel I will always stay in whenever I am in Saigon/HCMC.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaleBlueSunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear PaleBlueSunset ,

Warmest welcome from Elegant inn Saigon , Thank you very much for kindly support our hotel also your time to write such a lovely review here .
We are glad that you enjoyed your staying with us . Concern of the towels , i already talked to my boss and we will try our best to work on it to balance between services that we prove and budgets to our value customers .
Best regards !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The staff were friendly and very helpful. They were very respectful, they stood every time we walked past and greeted us also opened and closed the door for us. We loved their service. The room was adequate, a bit outdated in the bathroom but it had everything we needed. Free water bottles in fridge. The bed was comfy. They have an elevator. The location was great, it was quiet enough and the main streets were only 2 min walk away. We saw all the sights around town walking, even though some walks were long it was easy enough the get around. The hotel gives you free map which is wonderful. It was a great stop over and stay for ho chi minh!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CristinaandAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear CristinaandAndrew ,

On behalf of all Elegant inn staffs , i would like to thank for staying with us and to your such a lovely review here on tripadvisor .
Serving you is our honors and we will try our best to satify our value guests . I am happy to hear that you enjoyed to stay with us .

Have wonderful day !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Ideal hotel if you are on a budget and not looking at spending too much time in your hotel room. Not that there is a great deal wrong with the rooms. They are large enough, clean and comfortable, but at the price there are only so many comforts they can provide. Staff are very helpful and their English is good. My friend and I stayed when we first arrived in Vietnam and were happy to stay there again before departing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooge53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Coocge53 ,

Thank you very much for kindly staying with us also spent time to write the review here on tripadvisor .
We are looking forward to have another chance to serve you again at our hotel .

Have good day !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Location is in a small street behind Pham Ngu Lao Road, which was fine because it was quiet, yet at the same time within walking distance of the nightlife and backpackers' area.
We didn't have much of a view but it didn't mAtter since we were out most of the time.
Our twin room 2C was spacious and clean. The bathroom was very clean as well.
Complimentary Vietnamese breakfast options were freshly made, delicious and filling.
WiFi was not available in certain areas but speed and internet connection was otherwise reliable.
Customer Service was excellent. All the staff were very helpful and it was a bonus that the night concierge can sufficiently communicate in English.
All in all, our stay at Elegant Inn exceeded our expectations, so we would highly recommend it to budget travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Tripboard ,

Thank you very much for your doing business with us , also your time to write such a beautiful review here .
Our hotel located on the side of back packer so that we could enjoy all the backpacker convenience without noise ...
I am sorry to hear that the wifi works un-staple , i already sent the technician check and fix that , appreciate your kindly remind us .
We wish to have chance to serve you again with better services .

Have wonderful day !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

It is a very cute smaller hotel in the city center. The rooms are very nice and tidy and there is also a beautiful terrace where you can eat delicious breakfast. The staff is extremely kind and hospitable and their service really goes beyond any other.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mateja z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Metaja Z ,

Warmest greeting from Elegant inn Saigon ,
Thank you very much for your kindly support our services , also spent time to write such a nice review here . Your words is our rewards .
Serving you is our honors , we are very happy that you satify with your staying time with us .
We are looking forward to serve you again soon .

Best regard !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#40 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#30 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#71 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#67 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
533 reviews
0.6 mi away
LeBlanc Saigon
LeBlanc Saigon
#85 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#100 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elegant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegant Inn

Address: 140 Cong Quynh | Pham Ngu Lao ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Xuan Mai Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#14 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#40 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £12 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elegant Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet backpacker's area, Elegant Inn Saigon offers air-conditioned guestrooms with free Wi-Fi. It is 15-minute walk from City Hall in Ho Chi Minh City. Room service is available 24 hours. All guestrooms come with cable TV, free bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities. En suite bathrooms are equipped with a shower or bathtub. Some rooms offer city views. Elegant Inn is 1 km from Ben Thanh Market. Airport transfers and motorbike rentals can be arranged at an extra charge. On-site parking is free. Day trips can be arranged at the tour desk. The inn also provides foreign currency exchange, photo processing services and a 24-hour front desk. A daily breakfast is available from 06:30 - 09:30 at the hotel's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elegant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Xuan Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing