We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel with great service”
Review of Elegant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elegant Inn
Ranked #90 of 465 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 17 July 2014

great place if you are on a budget and want to stay in Ho Chi Min City, the Elegant Inn hotel has great customer service thanks to a highly professional staff.
It is clean and well located (District 1)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank furlanetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear furlanetto,

Thank you very much for kindly support our hotel also spent time to write such a nice review here ,

On behalf of all staffs , i would like to say that your words are a lovely gift for us also encourage us to improve our service as well as we could do .

Hopefully , as nearly future , we would love to have a chance to serve you again,
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first hotel in Ho Chi Minh city, having never been to Vietnam before. We have been to a few others now, and feel we can make a fair comparison. I'll start with the good: for $13 a night the room was certainly clean enough and the facilities were good. The staff were also attentive and all spoke English well. The location was right by bui ven street, with a great coffee shop/bakery across the road (crumbs). However, we feel we were overcharged for certain things, such as the hotel transfer from the airport. $18 was double the cost of a taxi and it didn't give us that much extra, apart from a 20 minute wait for it to arrive. Don't use the hotel to organise transport, as they charge quite a high premium, this was also true of the bus ticket smticket we booked though them to get to can tho. The hotel might also not be suited to light sleepers, even with the aircon on we could hear people walking about/playing music in the rooms either side and above us. We didn't complain, but if we had stayed longer we would have. All in all nice reasonably priced hotel with a good location, but do your own transport and bring your earplugs!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank mzoorw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Mzoorw ,

Thank you very much for being our value guests , also spent time to write such the fair review here .
We try our best to make our value customers enjoy the time staying with us , It is very hard due to we are small business and very budgets as your concern in such a good centre location as our hotel . I feel sorry that you felt overcharged from our services . We can not compare our services to regular taxi services due to we use private car and sent it to the airport to pick you up - means double the road and time plus the time we stand by there waiting for you , beside we have to in charged for your safety , your belongings . So that double prices compare to street taxi is understandable ( sometimes we have to spent quite few hours at the airport when delay flight or guests got visa at the airport ) . Also when you choose our services to avoid all scams you 'd have . Concern of bus tickets we just have 1$ commision for tickets , also they have to pick you up at the hotel instead of go to Western Bus Terminal - costs about 12 $ for regular taxi fare to get there .
All over , we are sorry for all that are not suite to your expectation . But we promise that we try and try our best to accommodate our value customers to be worth the money that customers pay us .

Thank you very much for being our customers .

God bless you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights and was quite happy with the experience. The breakfast is good with a nice view and served with a warm smile by two lovely ladies. The location is perfect. Close to a local market which serves excellent cheap meals and walk around the corner for an abundance of bars, restaurants and an exciting atmosphere. The staff are what makes this place shine. Always friendly and helpful. A big hello to Ha and Eddie. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BrunoS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Mr BrunoS8 ,

Warmest welcome from Elegant inn Saigon , Thank you very much Mr for staying with us and your time to write such a nice and honest review here .
I am Ha , on behalf of all staffs i am very appreciate your understanding and support us - budget hotel .
We are looking forward to have another chance to serve you here .

Have good day !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We spent one night here at the end of our trip and really enjoyed it. The hotel is centrally located, in the backpackers area, and most landmarks can be easily reached by walk.

We booked a standard twin room but since they didn't have any available, they upgraded us to a deluxe room. The room was clean and very comfortable. It was also very quiet, despite being so close to all the action.

The staff was outstanding (and also quite hilarious) - we could feel that they wanted to make sure we had the best possible stay in Saigon. They thought of little details (greeting us at our cab, offering to carry our bags, bringing us fresh fruits, etc.), and helped us hire 2 motorbikes so we could go explore Cu Chi.

Overall, we had a very good time at the Elegant Inn, and would recommend it without a doubt to anyone coming to HCMC.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfauvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear sfauvel,

Thank you very much for being our value customers also spent time to write such a lovely review here ,
We are proud that you enjoying your stay .
Your business is appreciated .

Best regards !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

A good value. We stayed 3 night on late June. Free breakfast on their rooftop and the concierge was always very helpful with suggestions, or booking tours and transportation.

On the day we left, they provided breakfast to go, because we left before breakfast was open. The bus company sent someone on a motor bike to get us to the bus, and after he drove away with 1 piece of luggage, we couldn't find him. Our concierge left the hotel to find us and meet up with the bus company.
It was so nice to know that they were this helpful.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Tony B ,

Warmest welcome from Elegant inn Saigon ,
Thank you very much for kindly support our hotel , We are trying our best to comfort our value customers . I am sorry for the confusing that you got , since you booked services through our hotel we will in charged for all .
Thanks again and have good day !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My friend & I came to Saigon for a fun-filled long weekend (Fri-Mon). I chose the hotel based on its relative inexpensiveness, its good reviews on Trip Advisor & it being centrally located.

Elegant Inn lives up to its online reviews & is probably similar to other places. Our room was spacious & provided a clean, safe, welcoming environment for 1st time tourists to the city, providing a great base for adventures. No noise complaints at night. Two massive comfortable double beds provided for me & my friend. The breakfast is pretty good - it's home cooked pho & take away from nearby places including the banh mi from across the road. Great balcony space full of plants.

But the thing that sets Elegant Inn apart is the staff, who are one-of-a-kind & totally special. The team are kind, personable & charismatic, and they made me & my friend part of the family.

When I had an accident on my 2nd day in the city, the staff saw to my every need throughout the rest of my stay - going out to buy me crutches, breakfast, seeing me to the door to taxis & helping me negotiate with my insurance & medical assistance. Elegant Inn staff were absolute gems when it was a really difficult time to negotiate an accident in a foreign country.

I had to stay in Saigon for another 2 days for hospital tests & I can't think of a better place to make me feel even more welcome. When we left on the Wednesday, everyone on duty came to see us off, which was lovely & warm.

I would definitely stay there again, despite the area being so touristy - a great central base for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank miss_scribbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Warmest greeting from Elegant inn Saigon ,

On behalf of all staffs , we are very happy to hear that you satisfied on your stay with us also spent time to post such a meaningful review here . Especially , help you work out with the insurance company is our mission also honor . Moreover , we wished our help that would work for you as best .

As home away from home - also budget hotel that we would try to make you also our customers become a big family and enjoy a cozy atmosphere here . In future, we are looking forward to serve you again .

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The staff was friendly. We got a big room with one double bed and a spare small bed. Plenty of space. We got free tea and coffee. Great location next to many bars. We did not book breakfast since there are many opportunities to eat nearby

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Anja K ,

Warmest greeting from Elegant inn Saigon ,

As my pleasure , we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us also spent time to post such a good review here . Your words are a huge reward for me also all staffs that we would more effort to increase our service as best as we could do in near future .
As our breakfast , we usually mentioned our customers because outdoor junk foods with many artificial also uncleanliness that would not good for their health .

We are expecting to serve you again as soon as good ,
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#36 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#76 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#31 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
LeBlanc Saigon
LeBlanc Saigon
#83 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#66 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
540 reviews
0.9 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#96 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elegant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegant Inn

Address: 140 Cong Quynh | Pham Ngu Lao ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Xuan Mai Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#40 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £12 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elegant Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet backpacker's area, Elegant Inn Saigon offers air-conditioned guestrooms with free Wi-Fi. It is 15-minute walk from City Hall in Ho Chi Minh City. Room service is available 24 hours. All guestrooms come with cable TV, free bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities. En suite bathrooms are equipped with a shower or bathtub. Some rooms offer city views. Elegant Inn is 1 km from Ben Thanh Market. Airport transfers and motorbike rentals can be arranged at an extra charge. On-site parking is free. Day trips can be arranged at the tour desk. The inn also provides foreign currency exchange, photo processing services and a 24-hour front desk. A daily breakfast is available from 06:30 - 09:30 at the hotel's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Elegant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Xuan Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing