We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small 2 star-hotel but with 5-star services”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elegant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elegant Inn
Ranked #76 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small 2 star-hotel but with 5-star services”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

I had emailed the hotel directly to reserve bookings for 2 night stays about two weeks in advance. The receptionist responded to my query emails almost instantly within a day. The price they offered was really good value for money at only $15 USD for a Double room per night.

We were greeted by the receptionist with a warm-welcoming. He spoke excellent English and we felt really comfortable speaking with him for his friendly and genuine attitude. We had him arranged for motorbike as well as transportation to airport at a good rate, only $10 USD for each service. You could really trust everything that the hotel staff here offered to you whether it was transportation to hotel or motorbike rentals.

We booked 3 different rooms and all the rooms are very clean with a mini-fridge inside. We had very good sleep every night. I highly recommend this hotel to any budget travelers who look for excellent service and good value for money to enjoy your stay at Ho Chi Minh. I and my friends will definitely come back to stay at this hotel again in our next trip to Ho Chi Minh city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill_20132020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Bill 20132020,

Thank you very much for your stay with us also spent time to write such a extremely beautiful review here ,
We are very happy that you satisfied your stay . Also , your words is our meaningful gift for all staff -especially for me . As the budget hotel from home away of customer , we would effort as much as we could to conduct your stay and our customer to delight .

As nearly future, we are looking forward to get a chance serve you again.

Best regards !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    265
    68
    27
    27
See reviews for
96
324
111
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Things got off to a rocky start when they tried to farm out one night of my two night reservation upon check in. Since I work at a hotel, I would not accept the farm out unless they agreed to pay for my room at the location they were moving us to. The guy working said he needed to speak to his manager but I wouldn't budge on the offer. They ended up upgrading us to a deluxe room. From then on, everything was great. Nice spacious room. The hotel itself was very clean.
Shout out to Louis working at reception, who was super friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cameragirl310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Dear Cameragirl310,

Thank you very much for your stay with us also spent time to write such a extremely lovely review here ,
We are proud that Louis made you satisfied your stay . Also , your words is our huge gift for me also all staff. As the budget hotel from home away of customer , we would effort as much as we could to make your stay and my customer enjoyable and pleasant .
Moreover , i am make sure that all staff over here could provide also looking after you by any-reason.

We are looking forward to have a chance to serve you again soon,
.
Best regards !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

If your looking for a hotel, well I know its hard because
Of the various selection at the City.

For me, i didn't regret choosing this.

They have a kind receptionist and all
Employees are kind and they are easy to talk to.

Louis the legend as per the blog, served as very well...

Cheers..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rekha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Rekha M,

Thank you very much for your truly enjoy your stay with us also spent time to write such a beautiful review here .
I am happy that Louis took a good care of you but i am sure everybody over here would always beyond and assist you with any reasons.

As my great pleasure , i would like to say that your words are rewarded for us to keep boosting our valued service for our customers as much as we could provide.

We are expected to serve you again on your next vacation .
Best regards !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru District, Malaysia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed 4 nights in this hotel out of our 7 day trip in Vietnam. 5 of us stayed in 2 separate rooms and were very very pleased with the service and quality of the room given the super reasonable price we paid!

Prices: 15 USD/night/ 2 person room. We forgot to mention in our bookings that one of the rooms will be occupied by 3 guests instead of 2, but the hotel staff was very swift in getting it ready and the extra guest charges were only 5USD per night!

Room: Decently big, well lit, good hot shower and even complementary fruits!

Location: look no further if you want something central. This hotel is easily confused with Elegant Hotel (which is more expensive and further from town) so make sure you mention Cong Quynh street. It's one of the many shoplots along the street so look for the tallest one and you're most lightly there. Located along a streetful of restaurants, cafes and bakeries and walking distance to many attractions.

Service: Receptionist doubles up as room service and vice versa but the staff are always cheerful and effecient. They were so nice as to book airport taxis and city taxis for us almost everyday. My sister forgot to post her postcard and the receptionist was so helpful to help post it, and he didn't even ask for the 10k VND needed for the stamp!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan100hihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Joan100hihi ,
Thank you very much for your lovely support our hotel also spent time to write a very beautiful review here ,
On behalf of all staffs ,especially for all front desks people , i would like to say that we are extremely happy when we heard your words . Also , your words are a huge gift for us that encourage me and our staffs keep working more harder than we could do before to serve your family and upgrading our valued customers.
As a budget hotel , we would constantly bring you and our customers to the cozy atmosphere which likes staying home - as the best as we could afford - also helping you and your family take over vacation in perfectly with no doubt from the stranger travel company when you hired a private car from them to Mekong Delta .
Hopefully , in nearby future , we would love to have a chance to serve you and your family as soon as possible again,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Ideal place to stay to explore HCMC. Close to lively area with lots of restaurants and bars but not loud at night.
Room and linen very clean and both attended to every day of our stay once we had gone out for the day. Bottled water and fresh toiletries each day and fresh fruit on arrival. The shower was the best we have had in 2 months in SEA.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful throughout and provided recommendations.
Excellent value and service and walking distance to whole city.
Only reason we didn't give 5 star was the lack of mosquito net in the bathroom, couple of exposed (safely taped up) wires in the bathroom and a small cigarette burn in one of the sheets (although this was changed the next day), none of which detracted from our stay.
We will stay again if/when we are back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NickPoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Thank you very much for kindly support our hotel and your time for such a nice review here ,

Our always target is your satisfied so that we try our best to make you feel comfortable .
Also thanks for understanding and appreciated our employee here , i told them and they are sincerely appreciated you .

Right after received your messages i already talked to my cleaner to change the bed sheet and she did . as a budget hotel, we would explain you a very small burn on the bed sheet that we knew but we could not throw it away because this is polluted environment and conservation policy.
Hopefully we have another chance to serve you again soon .

Best reagards !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Elegant Inn in HCMC because of the great location and the great staff. Your just in the middle of the town and of the Backpacker area, which means it is quite crowded and quite loud. The good thing is that you can walk to many sights and that there are many shops, restaurants and everything else you need just around the corner.

The staff was really helpful and nice, they even served cold tea when we had to wait for our delayed tour bus. One of them brought us to the Open Tour Bus to our next station to make sure we don't miss is, which was so nice of him. The breakfast ladies were so polite and friendly even though their English was pretty bad, but there friendly manner was much more important.

We enjoyed the breakfast with fresh fruits and big baguettes very much, it was one of the best breakfasts we had during the last weeks in Asia.

In terms of the room, we did not like our room 6A. This is the only negative point in our opinion: The door of one room on the 5th floor was open when we walked down the stairs and it looked much nicer. Our room did not have real windows so it felt like a cage... If you are looking for a quiet sleeping environment, this is not the right place for you. Even in the 6th floor it was really loud the whole nights - it's a real HCMC experience though!

Room Tip: Avoid room 6A because of the closed windows. One room on the 5th floor looked quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sisiphos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Sisiphos ,

Thank you very much for kindly support our hotel and your time for such a nice review here ,
We are happy to see that you enjoy the staying time with us and yes our location is one factor that could make things easier for new travellers to Saigon .
Our always target is your satisfied so that we try our best to make you feel comfortable .
Also thanks for understanding and appreciated our employee here , i told them and they are sincerely appreciated you .
Right after received your messages i already talked to my boss about 6a , absolutely we will make it better , thanks for your note .
Hopely we have another chance to serve you again soon .

Best reagards !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated just off the backpacker area in HCMC, just around the corner from a bus station and across the road from a great bakery. It's in a great location.
The staff were so helpful and polite. We arrived a bit before check in but it wasn't a problem for them. We also received an upgrade due to a booking issue to a bigger room. The staff helped us book a tour to the Cu Chi tunnels and the trip was fantastic.
The hotel was clean and tidy and the rooms were well decorated. We had a huge bath in the bathroom.
If we return to HCMC, we would stay here again without a doubt.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kimmylg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Kimmylg,

Thank you very much for your stay with us also spent time to write such a extremely lovely review here ,
We are proud that you satisfied your stay . Also , your words is our huge gift for me also all staff. As the budget hotel from home away of customer , we would effort as much as we could to make your stay and my customer enjoyable and pleasant .
.

Best regards !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#34 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#27 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#70 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#90 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#110 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#51 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elegant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegant Inn

Property: Elegant Inn
Address: 140 Cong Quynh | Pham Ngu Lao ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Xuan Mai Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#14 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#40 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Elegant Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet backpacker's area, Elegant Inn Saigon offers air-conditioned guestrooms with free Wi-Fi. It is 15-minute walk from City Hall in Ho Chi Minh City. Room service is available 24 hours. All guestrooms come with cable TV, free bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities. En suite bathrooms are equipped with a shower or bathtub. Some rooms offer city views. Elegant Inn is 1 km from Ben Thanh Market. Airport transfers and motorbike rentals can be arranged at an extra charge. On-site parking is free. Day trips can be arranged at the tour desk. The inn also provides foreign currency exchange, photo processing services and a 24-hour front desk. A daily breakfast is available from 06:30 - 09:30 at the hotel's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elegant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Xuan Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing