We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Elegant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elegant Inn
Ranked #99 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 17 May 2009

We spent three nights in this hotel at the end of two weeks travelling in Vietnam. We were met by the proprietor, Duc, who checked us in and then gave us a run down of all the hot spots including a great restaurant tip at the north end of Ho Chi Minh park. Duc also booked us a trip to the Mekong Delta (unfortunately it rained in a way I've never seen before!!) and the Cu Chi tunnels. Transport to the airport was organised for us. The room was cleaned every day and complimentery water was left in the room. This came to sum of $22/night.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

719 - 725 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2009

The Xuan Mai is a great little hotel that deserves all the great reviews! The people who run and work there are always helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble.The rooms are spotlessly clean, there is aircon and an overhead fan, a reasonably priced mini bar and a great breakfast served on an outdoor patio area. We had a double room away from the main road so it was pretty quiet but the hotel's location is very convenient to a street full of restaurants, shops, laundry services and supermarkets. You can take a taxi for only a few dollars to bigger shopping centres,restaurants and markets if you want to explore further in other districts. The wi fi in the room was very good.
I only have positive things to say about this terrific hotel!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jo59oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

My husband found this little gem by sheer accident and what a wonderful oasis it is. The owners and all the staff are warm, friendly and really know how to look after their guests. The hotel is better than spotless and the rooms come with the little extras that make you feel like you're staying in something more than budget accommodation. The cooked breakfast is a great inclusion. The location is just right - close enough to the tourist area but just that little bit away so that there aren't heaps of tourists and noise. Another bonus is the local market - just a few minutes walk away. We would wholeheartedly recommend this lovely little place to anyone visiting HCMC.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BubbsandJ9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2009

I give the Xuan Mai my highest recommendation without hesitation. I was in HCMC for about a month and a half and stayed in one of the studio apartments. The room and kitchen were impeccably clean, safe, and comfortable. The location is also ideal, located just minutes from restaurants, supermarkets, a cinema, and everything else you would need. The price was the best we found. In addition to all of this, the staff (all spoke fluent English) at the Xuan Mai were wonderful and extremely knowledgeable. They went above and beyond to help make our stay wonderful. This is the place to stay in HCMC.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank klhappytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

A friend of mine who often travels to Vietnam suggested that I stay at the Xuan Mai Hotel
while in Ho Chi Minh City. This is an excelent place to stay at a moderate price. Duc,
the manager, was friendly and anxious to help me with any questions I had. Breakfast,
which is included in the price, is served with smiles on a lovely rooftop restaurant. It's only a short walk to a local market, a park, and a large supermarket. I purchased some wonderful fresh fruit and vegitables right across the street from the hotel. I enjoyed entertaining friends in the upscale restaurant, also just across the street. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who demands comfort, cleanliness, good service, friendly people.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank noodlemanrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

I can recommend this place without reservations. Only $19 a night, and worth the money. The wifi worked great, the staff was friendly and very helpful, it was clean and well maintained. Traffic was audible from my room during rush hours, but that's no shocker in a city like Saigon. The staff spoke good English. The older man who seemed to manage or own the place spoke fantastic English and seemed to have a lot of experience running a hotel. I could talk to him with my normal English - no need to dumb down what I was saying to make him understand.

Overall, a very pleasant place that I'd gladly stay at again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank urbanrodent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We stayed at Xuan Mai Hotel and were very impressed with every aspect of the hotel. There were three of us sharing a room, and it was very spacious (we had a “superior” not standard room). The room was spotless, the air conditioning worked great, the beds were new and comfortable, there was free wifi, there was a bathtub, which is rare in Vietnam, and there were robes in the closet! The breakfast is included and is served in a lovely outdoor area upstairs. The owners both speak excellent English and go out of their way to be helpful. It is on a main street, but the room was not noisy. For $39 US a night it was incredible. Please do not be misled—this is not the Sheraton—although I think the owners went to hotel management school and understand how a 5 star hotel should be run. If you are looking for a budget hotel that is top notch, this is a find.

Also, right across the street there is a restaurant called 117 (their address) that is wonderful for dinner. Not the cheapest by Vietnam standards ($20 for three for dinner) but excellent food and service.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DKB-LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0 mi away
Madam Cuc 127
Madam Cuc 127
#155 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#69 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
545 reviews
0.6 mi away
LeBlanc Saigon
LeBlanc Saigon
#92 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#32 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,229 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#64 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
559 reviews
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#56 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elegant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegant Inn

Address: 140 Cong Quynh | Pham Ngu Lao ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Xuan Mai Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#31 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#40 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £29 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elegant Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet backpacker's area, Elegant Inn Saigon offers air-conditioned guestrooms with free Wi-Fi. It is 15-minute walk from City Hall in Ho Chi Minh City. Room service is available 24 hours. All guestrooms come with cable TV, free bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities. En suite bathrooms are equipped with a shower or bathtub. Some rooms offer city views. Elegant Inn is 1 km from Ben Thanh Market. Airport transfers and motorbike rentals can be arranged at an extra charge. On-site parking is free. Day trips can be arranged at the tour desk. The inn also provides foreign currency exchange, photo processing services and a 24-hour front desk. A daily breakfast is available from 06:30 - 09:30 at the hotel's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elegant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Xuan Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing