We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to its moto - "Cleanliness and service is our forte"”
Review of Elegant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elegant Inn
Ranked #98 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Our double room was basic but impeccably clean. The hotel is family run, and the service was friendly and helpful - from our efficient airport pick-up to laundry service. The breakfast was a lovely homemade Pho with fresh fruits. It was served on their quaint roof terrace, which we also used one evening to relax and enjoy some self-catered drinks.

This hotel is around the corner from the main backpacker strip, and so is slightly quieter as a result.

This is a great budget option. Clean, with excellent service.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2010

You get very good value for your money at the Xuan Mai. However, it is truly a budget hotel - so don't expect anything but a very basic room. The staff were all friendly and the it is located near lots of bars. If you are not interested in being in the middle of all of the craziness of Saigon - then maybe find a more conservative area to stay at.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellinginasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

We booked the Xuan Mai Hotel based on the TA reviews and would like to thank all who left such good reviews of this hotel. Its nothing to look at but it worked so well for us that we would happily go back. We booked a large room for one week and ended up leaving our luggage while we travelled to Mui Ne, after which we returned to the Xuan Mai for another week. Ok its noisy but you are staying in the backpacker district and the noise is part of the atmosphere. If you have any particular food choices they will accommodate these and all for $38 a night. Laundry also taken care of and returned the same day for a really good price. Well done to all the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whistlestop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Just came back from HCMC after a 5D4N stay. Spent 4N in Xuan Mai hotel. Comments about this hotel:

Airport transfer
Paid US$12 for the airport transfer. The taxi driver held a board that displayed my name at the arrival area. The taxi used to pick us up was rather disappointing when compared to those bigger ones.

Check-in
Reached the hotel at 10am and the check-in is very smooth. We were shown to our room immediately after the efficient check-in.

Room
Room is rather basic. But how can I complain when I only paid US$26 for the standard room. The room is very clean and toilet is alright as well. Small TV and a mini fridge is also available in the room. The channels shown on the TV is fantastic. A good selection of English channels like HBO, Star movies, Animal planet and my favourite Fashion TV. Room is always neatly cleaned up every day.

Noise level
HCMC is a busy city and definitely a very noisy one. The drivers horn all the time. We can hear much of the traffic from our room as it is facing inwards. Maybe those rooms that are facing the road might be affected. But the traffic is usually very little past 11pm. The hotel is near to a club, you can hear the loud bass at times.

Breakfast
You have a choice between Vietnamese and American breakfast. We had American breakfast throughout our stay. Nice baguette, eggs, sausage and ham were served.

Venue
Xuan Mai is around the backpacker alley, thus you can find different variety of food, shops and bars around the corner.

Personally, I feel that Xuan Mai is not too close to the places of interest BUT Taxi is very cheap in HCMC and you can easily get a cab and move on to your destination. Get the receptionist to call a cab for you. Waiting time is less than 5min.

We had a bit of problem on our last night at HCMC getting back to the hotel. It was the night when Vietnam beat Malaysia in a soccer match. The whole city was so excited that people started to jam and hang out in the street. We were shopping near Bến Thành market and we tried to flag a cab to the hotel. All the cab refused to pick us as the traffic was terrible near the hotel. A taxi driver even extorted 100, 000Dong for the 13, 000Dong trip back to the hotel. In the end, we decided to take a stroll back to the hotel. It was less than 15 min walk.

Others
Day trip can be easily arranged through the hotel. Went for the half day Chu Chi Tunnel (US$5) and 1 day Mekong Delta (US$14). I preferred the Chu Chi Tunnel trip more. The trip to Mekong Delta is too long, 7 hours in total. Hate the long bus ride.

The service provided by Xuan Mai is commendable. I didn't get her name but I believe is "Nang". The old lady who is at the reception from morning to evening. She is ever ready to answer every single questions that we asked. Be it where can we get good food, where can we get good coffee, where can we buy this and that.. and the questions go on and on. Nang is always there to answer all our rubbish with a kind and gentle smile. The staffs at Xuan Mai are always putting on their best smile to greet us and they really make us feel at home.

Thank you all at Xuan Mai.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank syann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Stayed here in November and found the service to be superb. I had to fax a document and the Manager, Ms. Le Thi Nang, walked with me to the post office to translate for me and make sure I didn't get ripped off. She bargained down the price, made sure the fax went through, and then, when I only had too large a denomination of money to pay for it, she paid it for me and then I paid her back later! This was such a huge help to me since I had an important fax and didn't want to waste too much vacation time on getting it done. The hotel was very clean, safe, and breakfast was good. Also airport pickup was very reliable, which was something we really valuged.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Bwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2009

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights in late August and really enjoyed it. The rooms aren't much to look at (kind of plain), but they were very clean. We also felt very safe staying there, Duc is a tremendous resource and his English is perfect. Great personality too. Enjoy breakfast up on the roof each morning.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
3  Thank FLLN8V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

We stayed in Xuan Mai Hotel for 3 nights with our 2 little boys. We had requested a family room and were pleasantly surprised when we saw the room. At a price of §44 incl. breakfast, we didn't expect much. The room was nice, well furnished (fridge, desk, tv, table + chairs), with big windows and two comfortable double beds. Bathroom was also nice and clean and had a bathtub. There is free wifi.

The hotel was really nice and quiet. We had breakfast in the roof top restaurant (only serves breakfast) - lovely. If you prefer vietnamese breakfast (noodle soup), you might want to let the staff know a day in advance. They assumed that we wanted american breakfast and didn't have any vietnamese breakfast. However, they made sure that it was available the next morning.

Staff were all very friendly, polite and helpful. A great place to stay when travelling with children.

Location was perfect - just next to the backpacker area but not in the middle of it. There is a small park nearby where we went every night to let our kids play with all the vietnamese kids who gather there at night. We also went to another park very close to the War Museum. This park is a bit bigger and has a playground and lots of local kids.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MangoKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0 mi away
Madam Cuc 127
Madam Cuc 127
#155 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#68 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
545 reviews
0.6 mi away
LeBlanc Saigon
LeBlanc Saigon
#88 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#32 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,229 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#65 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
559 reviews
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#55 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elegant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegant Inn

Address: 140 Cong Quynh | Pham Ngu Lao ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Xuan Mai Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#33 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#40 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £29 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elegant Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet backpacker's area, Elegant Inn Saigon offers air-conditioned guestrooms with free Wi-Fi. It is 15-minute walk from City Hall in Ho Chi Minh City. Room service is available 24 hours. All guestrooms come with cable TV, free bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities. En suite bathrooms are equipped with a shower or bathtub. Some rooms offer city views. Elegant Inn is 1 km from Ben Thanh Market. Airport transfers and motorbike rentals can be arranged at an extra charge. On-site parking is free. Day trips can be arranged at the tour desk. The inn also provides foreign currency exchange, photo processing services and a 24-hour front desk. A daily breakfast is available from 06:30 - 09:30 at the hotel's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elegant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Xuan Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing