We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cheap little hotel”
Review of Nguyen Khang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nguyen Khang Hotel
Ranked #133 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice cheap little hotel”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is a budget hotel right in the backpacking district. We enjoyed our stay and it was fun to stay in that area too. We didn't get a double bed as we booked, but it worked out fine anyway. We weren't bothered by any noise and the room was fine for the price we payed. The breakfast is a bit boring, but we didn't expect much for that kind of money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasperH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    177
    46
    16
    30
See reviews for
59
156
71
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I really had a great time in this place. The staff is very accommodating. The room is clean. The location is very close to almost all tourist destinations. I would surely be back to this place.

The owner is very cool. They will greet you every time you arrive at the hotel and will give you tips as you leave for a tour. They can arrange for almost everything that you need for your tour.


Room Tip: Lower room coz no elevator. Higher room for the good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankEdward2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I attempted to stay at this hotel but had such an awful experience that we had to leave, even after we had pre-paid. The highlights of our experience were being shown into a room that had guests staying it it already and all their belongings everywhere, being shouted at and threatened, refusal to help us, not giving us the room we had booked for the price we had agreed upon,a me refusing to give us a refund after we decided we could not stay there. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone. We ended up finding a lovely one down the road.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Oliviaml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Very helpful staff, good location to shops and bars. Adequate rooms for the price and clean also. Happy with the overall experience. Would definitely stay again when in HCMC. The guy on reception can't do enough to help you out

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I booked direct with the hotel and was given a quotation for the duration of my stay which I confirmed. When I was about to pay, the hotel manager, the owner himself, said he made a mistake and was charging me more than what we agreed on. I have considered other hotels with similar high ratings but chose Nguyen Khang because it gave me the lowest price. Have I known that I would have to pay more, I should have chosen another hotel much closer to Ben Tanh.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie888_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Our final stay in Vietnam was in Ho Chi Minh City. We arrived from the beautiful, relaxing Phu Quoc into the hustle and bustle of Ho Chi Minh City. After advice from trip advisor we booked here at Nguyen Khang hotel and were very pleased. The reception is amazing, the hotel is very clean (they even ask all patrons to remove shoes in the lobby to decrease incoming dirt, and the rooms are a nice size. The stairs are a killer, but werent an issue for us. We chose a windowless room (unless you count the window into the hallway) and found this totally fine for our needs. We were offered an upgrade if we wanted, but didnt mind at all. We got a lot of advice on places to visit, were offered taxi bookings and really enjoyed the food and service. They were very good at reminding us to be careful of potential pick pockets and were genuinely concerned for our well being and enjoyment. There was a minor issue with wifi when we arrived which they very quickly attended to. This is a great hotel to stay in, perfect location in the back packers district and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScarletteBegonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Very clean hotel, warm And accommodating staff, even the Manager he help us. I recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to stay in Vietnam. Thank you for taking care of us during our stay there, for the goog food and assistance. Great hotel to stay. Thank you Ngoc and Me. Huy.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnitaNiJab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#74 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Graceful Saigon Hotel
Graceful Saigon Hotel
#131 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saigon Europe Hotel
Saigon Europe Hotel
#96 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#63 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
528 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#110 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seventy Hotel
Seventy Hotel
#180 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nguyen Khang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nguyen Khang Hotel

Property: Nguyen Khang Hotel
Address: 283/25 Pham Ngu Lao street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nguyen Khang Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nguyen Khang Hotel! We are located in the heart of all of the following: restaurants, shopping, markets, banks, parks, history Museum, Notre Dame Cathedral, Municipal Theatre, Reunification Palace, Mekong Express bus station and Ben Thanh Market... Everything is within walking distance and our friendly staff will be waiting here to greet you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nguyen Khang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing