We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good starting point for a visit to Saigon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Asian Ruby Luxury Hotel
Ranked #150 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
So-So Cal
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A good starting point for a visit to Saigon”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The positives: Good central location in District 1 within walking distance of most of what you'll want to see; clean rooms that aren't too cramped; delicious breakfast buffet in a top-floor room overlooking the city and the river, and a helpful staff.
The negatives: The public areas need some updating (replace that soiled, worn carpet in the hallways), very cramped elevators and dangerously slippery tile on the shower and bathroom floor (a common problem I've experienced in Asian hotels).
The Asian Ruby rates a solid gentleman's "C".

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window and a view. Ours had a window looking out at a soslid wass 5 feet away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvdljca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    204
    114
    34
    12
See reviews for
51
158
52
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Asian Ruby is well situated for exploring the main tourist and shopping areas of HCMC. I was able to walk everywhere within 15-20 minutes, with some very good restaurants very close by. The hotel is well appointed and better than the 3 star quality I had expected. My room overlooked the street with just some minor street noise at night. The service was reasonably good (for Vietnam). A wide range of choices for for breakfast. I would happily come back to the Asian Ruby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ARH500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puchong, Selangor, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

It is a 3-star hotel, so i'd expect moderate services and room conditions. Turns out to be much better than expected. Toss in an addition 1 or 2 facility this will be qualify for 4-star.

We stayed one night at the twin deluxe room with windows facing the main street. Rooms is big and comfy. Toilets are clean with bathtub as well. One thing though, at 88USD/night I would not considered it as cheap but it is walking distance to all the tourist attractions.

Worth the stay.

Room Tip: Those facing the main roads might not be a good idea though it comes with windows as it gets really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klang, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

It is a small room with no window. But it is clean n comfortable room. The toilet was clean. The bed n everything in the room was perfect. Their service was perfect also. They charged me USD 32 for airport transfer. For me the price was ok since i dont want to get any trouble with normal cab. The location was near to the tourist attraction. I just walk around and didn't take any public transport since all the place are near by. Love the street and no doubt i will return to this hotel again if i visit hcmc in future.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy_Amyza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions during our stay in HCM and enjoyed the experience. Good value and well located in the 'Japanese' section of the city in close proximity to the Reunification Palace and 15 minutes walk to the Ben Thanh Market. Our double room was comfortable, but the lighting could be improved and there was hardly any space between the wardrobe and the bed. No view from our window but no complaints about that as it was quiet. The lobby area is nicely decorated and had different aromatherapy scents; the first time was ginger, the second was lemon grass. The staff was friendly and helpful. The well-stocked buffet breakfast was also very good; lots of choices.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geminimonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of our Vietnam trip and loved it. The rooms are small but clean and have everything you could need in them. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast is as nice as a buffet breakfast can be! This hotel is located on a smaller one way street so it doesnt recieve as much traffic so you can avoid the constant honking as you are trying to sleep! Highly recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Our stay was ok, but we probably would choose another hotel next time in HCM. The staff at reception were friendly.

We chose a room with a window, however were on the second floor so the window looked straight at another wall. The corridor was a little smelly and a little noisy. The pillows were super tall and the hot water took a while to come, in the mean time flooding the bathroom.

Breakfast was great when the soup noodles were available. The baguette was also fresh and crispy. When we went early (before 7), the noodles werent ready yet.

There isnt a lot of choice for local food around the hotel, but the BBQ place around the corner isnt bad.

I'd say that many of the 3 star small hotels are pretty much the same, so go for a central location so its easy to find places to eat, no matter how good the pictures look!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sempanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Spring Hotel
Spring Hotel
#127 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silverland Sil Hotel & Spa
Silverland Sil Hotel & Spa
#79 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#119 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
May Hotel
May Hotel
#165 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
195 reviews
1.0 mi away
Asian Ruby Park View Hotel
Asian Ruby Park View Hotel
#244 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Asian Ruby Central Hotel
Asian Ruby Central Hotel
#177 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asian Ruby Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asian Ruby Luxury Hotel

Property: Asian Ruby Luxury Hotel
Address: 26 Thi Sach Street | Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asian Ruby Luxury Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asian Ruby Luxury Hotel is well-known as the professional and friendly hotel in HCM Downtown, especially with Japanese customers. We have 80 rooms decorated by the harmonious combination between classical and modern design. Featuring with designing light makes Asian Ruby Hotel more elegant and luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asian Ruby Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing