We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 for the food !”
Review of Quan Thuy

Quan Thuy
Ranked #315 of 6,942 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner
Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

Crab is so good !!!! Best place in town for Mien xao cua. But i give "only" 4 points because the place is quite dirty and the staff is not nice. But it's the price for eating their delicious food !

Date of visit: October 2015
1  Thank Prune1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2015

"It isn't an elegant place. It's for locals," the lady receptionist at the hotel's front desk discreetly warned us as we asked the other clerk to make dinner reservations for us. So off we went for dinner to Quan 94 which is the best place to have crab in the city. It was tricky to get to the place; the original restaurant had moved to another place further down the road and the new resident in old address had put up a restaurant, too, with the same name. So we made sure we went to the old restaurant which is now at 84 Dinh Tien Hoang St.

Indeed the place looked discouraging with its old plastic chairs and metal tables with laminex tops. But it was filled with locals (an all-guy group near us was eating with a lot of crab-leg-sipping noises) and foreigners with their little tourist guide books. As suggested, we went directly to the second floor of the restaurant to avoid the smell, noise, and public sight of the first floor.We ordered deep-fried crab spring rolls (chả giò cua biển), soft-shell crabs (cua lột chiên bột), and steamed crab claws with roasted salt, and steamed rice. We asked the waitress for dining instructions: how to wrap the spring rolls with the greens (lettuce, basil, and some vegetable which looked like our local ferns or pako with more tangles) and which sauce went with what crab dish.The food was a bomb! And I ate a bigger share of the crab dishes which I had dreamed of since we planned our trip ... not a crumb was left. I want to go back for another crab meal and try the crab with crispy noodles, steamed crab claws with tamarind sauce, and crab fried rice which we oogled at as they were being delivered to the other tables!

Date of visit: September 2015
3  Thank Medy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 September 2015 via mobile

Our family went here after reading all the rave reviews on TA. We ordered the battered soft shell crab (220,000 dong), crab fried rice (220,000 dong) and the steamed crab claws after reading some reviews that the battered version is too thick (110,000 dong). At 650,000 dong for three very small, simple dishes, we thought this was quite expensive for vietnamiese standards (especially when fresh crab is very cheap in Vietnam).

The battered soft shell crab tastes great but the steamed crab claws were a miss. They don't stream it fresh from raw crab claws, but from precooked claws.

I would recommend to try the battered crab but nothing else.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank ReisendeKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2015 via mobile

We went to the no84 which most of the people say is the real Quan 94.

I like the crab soup which is nice and good to try. Crab meat fried rice is ok but the price is a bit high. The food is acceptable but wouldn't give you a lot of surprise.

Will consider to go back again but will think twice as the food is slightly over price.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank Heilongxiaobao
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2015

First of all, lets get the restaurant right. The original Quan 94 is now the one to the right. When you arrive by taxi he'll drop you off at either the new one or the old (better) one. How you tell is they are literally 10m apart. From the street looking at both, it's the one to your right hand side.

I heard of this place via two sources. 1 was trip advisor and 2nd was a lady friend of mine who had been there, but she too heard of it from trip advisor... all roads lead to Rome I guess.

I ordered only 3 dishes as it was just a mate and I dining there for lunch. We ordered the crab meat noodles, fried morning glory with garlic and a three soft shell crabs. The first two dishes were amazing. The 3rd dish, soft shell crab was ruined by the thick and fatty batter. The batter overpowered the crab flavour, you could hardly tell you were eating crab due to this batter.

The pricing is good for tourists but a little high for locals. Our meal cost around $30AUD which is great value if we had this in Australia but very high end for Vietnam standards. This was 3 dishes with 3 drinks.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TVDizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Quan Thuy also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Quan Thuy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.