We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value Small Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cat Huy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cat Huy Hotel
Ranked #52 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Value Small Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

We spent three nights at the Cat Huy Hotel and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel itself is down a tiny alley which turns into a market in the mornings and can be confusing at first! But with a map from the hotel, you'll be fine. It was amazing seeing the locals going about their business up close - very enjoyable.
We had a room on the 3rd floor which was fairly quiet - there is some noise from outside or other guests, but nothing that bothered us. Super clean room, comfy bed and the best shower we had on our 5 week trip through Asia - strong and lots of hot water! Big TV for when we wanted to just relax in the room, too.
Breakfast was fine, not a lot of choice, but all made fresh for you and the baguettes and coffee delicious.
The staff we met didn't speak a lot of English (and we speak no Vietnamese!) but were friendly and helpful when arranging our transfers to and from the airport.
Best of all was the price - we paid $30 a night (£18) which was wonderful for such a nice spot in the heart of the city. The Cat Huy is in the 'backpacker' area which is pretty touristy but isn't far to walk to HCMC's sights, markets, etc. We had a great time and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJTraveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    203
    37
    4
    9
See reviews for
42
279
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

This boutique hotel is in a narrow street in HCM city. It is very quiet and peaceful, some respite from the noise of city traffic. Great location to explore the city on foot. Staff were very helpful when we wanted to book a tour to Mekong Delta and stored our extra luggage while we were away. Rooms clean and beds extremely comfortable.

Room Tip: Frnt rms bigger, back rooms have kitchen sink
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnandGeof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

My husband and I just stayed at Cat Huy for two nights before needing to move on to DaNang for work. We couldn't believe how much value we got for our money and we were so impressed we plan to come back with our 3 children as soon as we can. Don't let the dark alley put you off if you arrive at night, in the morning the street is a hive of activity with a great 'ground market'. You can watch the world go by while enjoying a really tasty noodle soup or omlette with fresh crusty baquette! We stayed in a deluxe room which was a great size and had every mod con, plus some! The stairs can be a little daunting but the staff are only too happy to help you with your luggage and in fact scurried up the stairs with our 2 huge suitcases before checkin was done and dusted. Really close to key sighting spots, and once we had braved crossing the street a few times we were in and out all day to drop off our purchases. We got a a super tasty take away Pho (soup with meat,veg & rice noodle) from around the corner for $2.50US and after a long week enjoyed staying in our room watching our big LCD with cable while we ate. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilypeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

A lovely little hotel in a hidden location. We knew the hotel was down an alleyway and that was one of the appeals of the hotel to us to be away from the noise of the main streets. We would never have found the hotel ourselves. Very glad we booked an airport pick up when we booked our room via email especially when our flight was delayed and we arrived at 11pm. It was great to wake up each morning to the hive of activity of the locals shopping for their daily food just outside the hotel. However wondering down the lane of a night you felt like you were walking through everyones homes.

We had booked a deluxe room, which was very large and very clean plus it had a huge shower and a separate study area. The room was fantastic for the price $34 including breakfast. We enjoyed our breakfasts, yes they are limited either an omelette or eggs with a baguette style roll or Pho but made fresh for you. We got hooked on the vietnamesee strong coffee with condensed milk.

The staff were all very helpful and also organised an overnight trip to the Mekong for us, however they didn’t have a vacancy for our return night. We would like to thank the owner for offer us a place to stay in one of this separate long term apartments which he happened to have a vacancy, it was very much appreciated.

We hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guesswhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

HCMC was my first destination for my Vietnam tour. I arranged transport via the hotel and were happy with the transport service (on-time and safe drive). The alley does seem to be a little secluded - no problem in the afternoon but if you are one of those who like to go out for drinks till the wee hours, you might encounter some crazy chihuahuas along the dark alley at night. I am saying this because I went out for drinks one of the nights and had to run away from a dog and ring the bell of the hotel (the hotel would be locked at 12am for security reasons).

I took a twin deluxe room on the 3rd floor which costs 30USD per night - extremely reasonable. The room is huge with a tiny balcony (good for smokers), a dressing table, clean toilet (no bathtub), wardrobe (a little dusty I must say) and a mini bar filled with reasonably priced drinks and snacks (sometimes even cheaper than those on the streets - beware of 10,000vnd mineral water on the streets, you can get them in hotel for only 6,000vnd). Oh, the beds are a little hard but I think all the beds are generally hard in Vietnam. You can also switch on either yellow or white lights depending on your own preference - this is great for me because white light is always too harsh for my liking.

There're no breakfast served in the morning but it is probably better this way because then you'll have a chance to try the local food just 100m away. Wake up early and you will get to see how busy the wet market is right below your hotel, along the small alley (it is a wet market in the morning and shops by noon).

Also, for people who have problem knees or difficulty climbing the stairs, you might consider other choices because if you happen to get the room at top floor, it is really a lot of climbing, especially after a day of walking.

There's wi-fi throughout the hotel but if you don't have a handphone that can access internet, there's always a computer near the reception area for your usage.

Overall, I would say my stay at Cat Huy Hotel is satisfactory. I'd love to stay there again but given a choice and the fact that I like a hotel which is nearer to where all the actions are, I would definitely choose a hotel at the backpacker's street the next time I'm at HCMC - not because of issues with the hotel but personal preference.

Room Tip: Get Deluxe Room for more comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathyTham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

This is a very good hotel in an amazing location: The hotel is in a tiny side street in the middle of a quiet neighbourhood. It feels somewhat weird when the taxi drops you on the mainroad at the entrance of this tiny side street and someone guides you towards the backyards. In the morning, the tiny street in front of the hotel turns into a market with all types of food on offer.

Nearby, outside the hotel’s small side road, is one of the major tourist and expat going-out areas, with bars, restaurants, foodstalls, shops and literally all types of services travellers may look for.

The city centre is a 5 minute taxi ride (about 40-50,000 VND) or a 15-20 minutes walk away.

The hotel has three different room standards and since there is not a big difference in price, we chose the highest category. The room was large, with a/c, clean and comfortable. The only thing we missed was a safety box in the room.

The staff was friendly and very helpful – on our last day after already being checked out we could use a shower, toilet, internet and printer without any problems.

The breakfast is very limited, with a choice between eggs or Vietnamese soup, each comes with a banana, and the soup is below average. As an alternative, you can grab a soup outside on the market. Given the price of 35 $ for two per night we found this acceptable.

Overall, we would certainly recommend the place. The price is very reasonable, it is quiet, clean and comfortable. We should however mention that there is one room on ground floor right next to the breakfast tables and close to the entrance – presumably of the lower categories - which may be a bit noisy.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nobedbugforsure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

We stayed for a few days Cat Huy. We did initially booked a room with a balcony, however unfortunately due to some reason the room wasn't available when we arrived. We were given a room with two windows instead - which was fine by us,

The room:
Clean, spacious, light and airy.
Good firm bed, Nice Shower - plenty of hot water and good water pressure.
We hardly ever heard any noise from the outside - we were on the 5th floor.

The area:
It is the back packers area - so a good 30mins walk to the centre of the city.
I liked being in the heart of the 'everyday' life, from the minute you step out of the hotel premises, you are in the local market, locals selling their goods from the front of their homes.

In the fact the 'lonely planet' walking guide starts from the market next door!

Service:
We booked an airport pick up with the hotel, so glad we did, otherwise we wouldn't have found the place, especially as we arrived at 11pm.
The porter helped us to take our luggage to the 5th floor.
The receptionist guy was very helpful and was very friendly.

We booked a trip to the Cu Chi tunnels, we booked a half day tour, which cost 18USD each - that included transport pick up from the hotel, trip by boat to the tunnels, a guide and a bus trip back, where the drop off point was near to the hotel.
The tour group was a good size (group of 10).
I would recommend taking food with you, as there is not many places to buy lunch when you get there.

Free Wifi- worked well - we had no issues!
Laundry service - quick, good service except the extra pair of pants we got back!

Nearby:
Many restaurants and bars
A 7/11 type shop is nearby
Bakery and Subway close by

Room Tip: Book a room with a window; opt for airport pick up
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinks5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#30 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
1.4 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#31 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#71 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
#77 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#42 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#59 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat Huy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat Huy Hotel

Property: Cat Huy Hotel
Address: 353 / 28 Pham Ngu Lao Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cat Huy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Cat Huy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing