We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cat Huy Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Nikko Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Nikko Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silverland Yen Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sofitel Saigon Plaza(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Caravelle Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Song Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reverie Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$385
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$265
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveller rating
274
219
42
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
219
42
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspholocal marketno elevatormorning marketsmall alleypham ngu laolane wayhotel is locatedair conrestaurants and barsquiet at nightbudget hotelflights of stairsminute walkbackpacker areasmall balconyfood market
Filter
Updating list...
350 - 355 of 551 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I have stayed here twice and wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Always recommend this hotel to
everyone I know that are travelling to HCMC. Lovely large rooms, clean and quiet. The
staff are friendly and helpful. I love the alley that runs in front of the hotel. Going back for the second time I actually felt like I was coming home. If you have a chance to speak with the owner you find that he has a wealth of knowledge about HCMC or Siagon as the locals call it.
My best advise is to try it for youself and enjoy.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronwyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

A great find hidden down a quiet ally. We enjoyed our time at this hotel very much. The room was clean and very spacious in comparison to our stay at Mini Saigon 5. The pillows are super comfortable.

Our only problem was having booked on Agoda the night before we were slightly disappointed that the superior window room we had booked had now window. We were told we could transfer to another hotel if we wanted, however, we declined that option!

We stayed on the lowest floor, however, be warned this hotel has no lift!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Very comfortable and awesome pho for breakfast... Best I've had in our triP so far!! If you arrive at night, don't be put off by the empty lane way ... It will be a bustling market when you wake...!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loicfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Bottom line: We would recommend this hotel to friends and would stay here again!

Cat huy is a great value! Our room was #501 and was the most updated, modern room we stayed in during our three weeks in Vietnam. The room was clean, bright, and much larger than we would have expected in a city like HCMC (it even had a little "office" nook. The free wifi worked great, even on skype. We loved watching the little alley this hotel is perched on during breakfast, as it bustles with front-porch markets and shops, motorbikes, and all manner of foot traffic. The house directly across the alley sells seafood, and watching the young man their flirt with the old ladies, sing, and sell his fish, snails, and other seafoods was a particular highlight. Because of the alley, staying at Cat Huy (though near the main tourist/backpacker street if you go right down the alley out of the front gate of the hotel) felt more quiet, local, and tucked away than we ever could have hoped for in HCMC. The staff were friendly and eager to help, but a less spoken English than other hotels we'd stayed at in Vietnam meant that they weren't able to give that "above and beyond" vibe that we got in Hoi An and Hanoi, which may be why some reviewers on TA have bashed the service. The service was good, just remember you are in another country and don't speak their language, not the other way around.

Pros:
Location - loved the alley and being a bit away from the main tourist drag
Nicest room we stayed at in Vietnam (huge TV, great wireless, nice bathroom, large room with tall ceilings and lots of light - both natural and from plenty of recessed lighting)
Friendly staff
Clean rooms
Good value

Cons:
Breakfast was short on options and the bread wasn't very good. We can't complain too much though, since it is free on a room that is already a good value - we just ate breakfast elsewhere 2 of our 4 mornings). They do make a good omelet, but if you are looking for a great free breakfast as the #1 reason to stay at a hotel in HCMC, this one isn't for you.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffosborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel and for the price, it is a great value. Our room was very modern and well decorated, very spacious, had a mini-fridge and a huge shower. The best is that it is very quiet at night (unlike other hotels in Vietnam) because the hotel is off an alley with little traffic. The location is great and the staff are helpful. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Mpftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews