We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice centrally located hotel in the heart of Saigon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Catina Hotel
Ranked #99 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice centrally located hotel in the heart of Saigon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Great value for the price. We stayed here for three nights almost kind of accidentally. We originally were only supposed to be here 1 night and then leave for Nha Trang in the morning but we hit a snag at immigration at the airport so we didn't get in until late. By then we were beat and decided to stay for 2 more nights. It was no issue with the front desk - they were able to extend our stay and moved us to a different room with no issue. As everyone else has noted, the real advantage is this hotel's central location to everything. There are lots of shops, restaurants, bars, and spas all within 5 min walk from here. The hotel itself is basic - clean, spacious room, wifi, etc. Also the daily breakfast buffet was included in our rate and it was satisfactory. Lots to choose from - they also will bring you eggs or an omelette of your choice if you ask. This is a perfect hotel if you are only staying in Saigon for a few nights and dont need luxury.

The only negative was that the room they moved us to was right above the restaurant I think and had kind of weird smell. We weren't in the room that much so it wasn't a huge issue but just a note of caution.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms right above the restaurant bc of the smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BKSweetheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    149
    33
    6
    7
See reviews for
50
116
32
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I travelled on business to Vietnam and stayed at the Catina Saigon Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City. A typical boutique hotel, my stay was comfortable and pleasant. My room was spacious enough but it did not have a window. The bed was soft and cosy and I could rest well after a long day of meetings and presentations! I had an extra day before getting back home and decided to explore the city a little. Thanks to the strategic location of the Catina Saigon Hotel, I was able to visit most tourist attractions by foot. It is just minutes away from the Opera House and City Hall. The breakfast options were plenty and I enjoyed my meals. The staff was cordial and warm and were very accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RidersCh0ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Good price for a hotel in the heart of the city. We had a window room which was only a light well but was very quiet. Room was a good size, clean and comfortable with cable tv, free wifi and daily bottled water. There was a good choice of both Asian and Western food for breakfast with eggs cooked to order. Staff were friendly and helpful. We organised a hotel pickup from the airport and although more expensive it was great to arrive after a long flight and have no hassle. On leaving we had the cheaper taxi from outside of the hotel.
We had pre-arranged a tour guide (Bao Loc- privatevietnamtourguide.com) who was excellent.
We can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Markate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Catina Saigon Hotel offered us exactly what they promised. The location is unbeatable. The room, new, clean and spacious, had everything we needed for our short stay in HCMC. The breakfast could have been better with more varieties, but was sufficient. The receptionists were always reliable and professional.

We had been worried about our arrival on the Christmas Eve. We asked Catina for an airport pickup, and despite the craziest traffic ever, the driver skillfully drove us to the hotel, providing us a lifetime experience in the mob of motorcycles! Upon departure, we had a slight problem with our driver (not arranged by Catina) but the bell staff was kind enough to ensure that we left for the next destination safely. We are very grateful for such attentiveness.

The lack of open-air spaces, such as swimming pools, cafes and terraces, initially disappointed us; however, given the air pollution so harsh outside, we found the enclosure rather relieving. We had a room with windows, which faced only shafts not the street. The room had enough sun in the morning and daytime, but not the noise, to our relief.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This is a pleasant surprise. This hotel is located in a great location. It is in the center of the city, in the shopping district. We got a decent size room for the price we paid. Compare to our last stay at the other hotel in Saigon (Signature Saigon), this one is way better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalien03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Kudos to the staff for providing excellent service. It's also centrally located, most tourist spots are just a few blocks away. Restaurants and shops are also right around the corner the moment you get out of the hotel. There's a money changer and a well-known cafe also right across, oh a convenience store as well. The food was also excellent and very filling. Public transportation also isn't a problem. Would definitely recommend this to everyone.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ima d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We arrived almost at 2:00 am check in was fast and easy. Found the room clean and spacious with the usual complete room and bathroom amenities with complimentary drinks like water, coffee, tea , fruits and newspaper. Aircon can easily be adjusted to your liking, light control is within easy reach on night table. Buffet breakfast was good; liked the waffle and crepe, especially their croissants. Hotel location was great with walking distance to restaurants, city attractions , money changers and Vietnam's well known coffee shop is just in front of the hotel.The staff was friendly, helpful, accommodating and service was fast. Overall had a wonderful stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#46 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#117 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#55 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roseland Corp Hotel
Roseland Corp Hotel
#81 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#97 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palace Hotel Saigon
Palace Hotel Saigon
#159 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catina Hotel

Property: Catina Hotel
Address: 109 Dong Khoi Street, | Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Catina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new boutique Catina Saigon Hotel offers our patrons a cozy and pleasant accommodation, with all the luxurious facilities of a high class business hotel. Located in the very centre of Ho Chi Minh city, near Ben Thanh Market, Notre-Dame Cathedral, City Theatre, Municipal Government offices, Parson shopping center, office buildings, shops, bars and restaurants, Catina Saigon Hotel is an ideal place for both businessmen and tourists. Catina Saigon Hotel assures you a comfortable and memorable stay at an unbeatable price ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Catina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing