We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, decent rooms”
Review of Catina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catina Hotel
Ranked #104 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We spent 4 days over new years - Decent hotel in a central location - within a short walk or drive away from good restaurants and attractions. We stayed in a suite and it was worth the extra.
Breakfast was decent - staff average.

Room Tip: Pay extra and stay in the suite - its worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devsarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

We spent 4 nights over New Years. We booked a suite and it was comparable to a room at a 5 star hotel at 70% of the cost. Location is central to everything. Restaurants and attractions within a walk or short drive away. Breakfast was good and staff alright - not discourteous but not very pleasant eaither. Recommended stay.

Room Tip: Pay extra and book a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davesintown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is a good mid-priced hotel (in surprisingly expensive HCMC, $135/nt exc. breakfast is mid-priced) - my room was clean, spacious and elegant (without being particularly memorable) and the service was friendly and helpful (without being outstanding).
The main reason to choose this hotel is the location - it's in the middle of a posh frenchie neighbourhood, where the traffic is less insane than in other parts of the city, and where there are many elegant (if relatively pricy) shops, restuarants and bars (the rooftop bar at the Sheraton directly across the road is a must-see). You can walk to many of HCMC's attractions, but there's no reason to walk since cabs and motorbike-taxis are plentiful, cheap and (in my experience) reliable.
The thing I liked best about this hotel was the sound-proofing - in the windowless rooms (the cheapest rooms!) there is no road noise whatsoever, extremely rare in a country where drivers love to use their horns!
The only thing I really disliked about this hotel was the ridiculously over-priced airport transfer - firstly it took the hotel a long time to reply to my email requesting a transfer, then on departure (when I got a cab) I realised that I'd been charged 4 times the price of a cab ride!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank empress_cherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Catina Hotel provided an affordable stay in a great location. It is in the center of District 1 just a block from the Opera House. The desk is located at the back of a jewelry store. The rooms and restaurant are on floors above. The rooms are nice. There is a breakfast buffet which has a small additional cost.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RolfT8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Got off my flight from the States and arrived at hotel at midnight with my girlfriend who lives in HCMC. They wouldn't let me stay because she is from Vietnam and demanded I purchase a 2nd room just for her. I told them no way and asked for a refund which they refused. Front desk clerk seemed like it was his pleasure to kick us out on the street and be completely unhelpful. Out of principle i would avoid this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manyroads88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatinaSaigon, Guest Relations Manager at Catina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear manyroads88,

Thank you for your comment about Catina Saigon hotel on TripAdvisor.

For your situation, we are pleased to explain that "Under Vietnamese law, a guest who is not a Vietnamese citizen cannot share a room with a Vietnamese citizen without proof of marriage to each other. Otherwise, a second room must be booked" - this information is public to all hotels in HCMC as well as in Vietnam. And we also public it on all online booking websites which you booked through.

Your booking is non-refundable, however, we have supported to refund the 2nd night for you.

I could be definitely sure that our colleague did the best in the most appropriate and sensitive manner to be at your service at the C/I date you came to Catina Saigon hotel.

Thank you for your kind understanding.

Sincerely.
Ryan Nguyen Pham (Mr.)
Assistant of Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Some reviews have mentioned that there was no window in the room but to me that was a plus, it meant zero traffic noise in the room or light early in the morning. The room was big and clean. Free wifi. Staff were friendly. Breakfast buffet was very nice and included with the room. The food in the restaurant was good as well. Nothing bad to say about the hotel. I had a neighbor blasting music at 7am one morning but that wasn't the hotel's fault. We stayed for 4 nights.

The price was great and I really enjoyed my stay in Saigon, wished I stayed longer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honest_Aaron_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I believe it is my own fault for keeping my noisy room, but after travelling for 3 weeks and moving around, I did not want to pack back up after I discovered this. I don't remember my room number, but I believe the issue was that it backed to a stair case. It sounded like people in high heels dancing above me and it kept up for most of the night.
As friendly as the staff was, I am certain that if I would have asked to move, I could have..

Otherwise, the location of this hotel is perfect. I had stayed at the Sheraton across the street for a few nights, and did not feel that this was much of step down in hotels- except for the lack of pool, bar, etc
I had a non-window room which was fine - after staying at other hotels and hearing the traffic all night, I think this is a good idea.

the bed was comfortable, the water hot, everything was clean

Room Tip: No window is not a problem, but evaluate for other noises- Stair Well very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#124 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
529 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#51 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
607 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#64 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oscar Saigon Hotel
Oscar Saigon Hotel
#165 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#103 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roseland Point Hotel
Roseland Point Hotel
#94 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catina Hotel

Address: 109 Dong Khoi Street, | Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £41 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new boutique Catina Saigon Hotel offers our patrons a cozy and pleasant accommodation, with all the luxurious facilities of a high class business hotel. Located in the very centre of Ho Chi Minh city, near Ben Thanh Market, Notre-Dame Cathedral, City Theatre, Municipal Government offices, Parson shopping center, office buildings, shops, bars and restaurants, Catina Saigon Hotel is an ideal place for both businessmen and tourists. Catina Saigon Hotel assures you a comfortable and memorable stay at an unbeatable price ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Catina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing