We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nhat Thao Guesthouse
Ranked #168 of 856 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet, good location”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

For $17 USD/night, this was a great deal. My room didn't have a window, but it was large and clean, and in good condition. The guesthouse was very quiet at all hours, and it was tucked away down a quiet, clean, dead end alley. The inner courtyard was pretty, the breakfast was minimal but good, and the staff friendly and helpful. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a good, basic place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsisCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    20
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
15
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2011

A very basic place to stay, however it was clean, central and the staff there were so helpful. They helped us organize bits and recommended places. They were great! Brekky is included, but not the best but none the less was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannyyy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Turned up in HMC at 2am as a group of 5 looking for somewhere cheap to stay and found this. Very nice place in good location and good value. If I go back to HMC i will stay hear again.

Thanks

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenV13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We turned up at 8pm inSaigon not knowing where we were going to stay. Luckily after half an hour of wandering, we stumbled upon this little charm down a side street, right in the heart of the bars and restaurants - butsecluded enough to escape the city noise. It was a great rate for a double with air con,tv and private bathroom, and included breakfast. Best of all was the service. Outstandingly friendly and very welcoming, if we go back to Ho Chi Minh we will stay here again

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drhares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I arrived in Ho Chi Minh very early morning by a sleeping bus. When I made my booking over telephone, I mentioned that I would be arriving at around 6a.m.. The booking receiver said no problems at all.
When I found this guest house, the door was closed but obviously unlocked and receptionist was sleeping in cauch, so I went into the guest house being sorry to wake her up.

1st word came out of her mouth was WHAT? YOU CHECKING THIS EARLY? YOU SHOULD KNOCK THE DOOR FIRST! very annoyingly.
Also she told me to pay half night charge if I want to check in at 8:00 am because the cleaner needed to clean up the room.

I have never heard that I need to pay half charge to get a room just a bit earlier.

She was just upset because I woke her up.

I was so disappointed to be very unwelcomed, so I canceld my booking right away, found another guest house which was very welcoming in early morning.

Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jvnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

It is a wonderful inexpensive guesthouse in the center of District 1. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. It is located in the main tourist/backpacker area like numerous other places of the same price range but Nhat Thao stands apart with its quiet situation at the end of an alley, great staff, and very clean rooms. Free wi-fi and breakfast as well. I will definitely stay there again when back in Saigon!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc-trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

The room was much better then expected. And with 3 small kids the 2 queen size beds worked well.
The breakfast was OK. I would like something different, but to get breakfast when only paying $30, who can complain?
You got Cable TV, a fridge (need with small kids), and a place to put your luggage. It worked for us.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#26 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ngoc Minh Hotel
Ngoc Minh Hotel
#174 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Giang Son Guesthouse
Giang Son Guesthouse
#26 of 856 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Luan Vu Hotel
Luan Vu Hotel
#8 of 543 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.9 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nhat Thao Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nhat Thao Guesthouse

Property: Nhat Thao Guesthouse
Address: 35/4 Bui Vien Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Nhat Thao Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing