We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never stay in room 301!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nhat Thao Guesthouse
Ranked #168 of 856 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“never stay in room 301!!!!”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We had to go from Mi Mi Hotel to this room because Mi, Mi had no space anymore. It is 4 o'clock in the morning, waking up of this freaking noice of the wather pump!! Horribel scream and even, the staff didn't talked any word to us.

Room Tip: don't take room 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franchipani83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    20
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
15
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights and the best thing I can say about it is the unbelievably helpful staff. Unfortunately I don't remember her name, but the girl at reception helped us sort out day trips, and even went to the train station to get tickets for us. One of our group was pickpocketed, and one of the staff came to the police station to help give a statement.
The rooms are clean, with ac and satellite tv. The location is good as its right in the middle of a busy part of town, but the hotel is down a small lane so not noisy.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikingWizardEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The staff are all lovely and very helpful

The price was good for a triple room however we thought the beds were way too hard for our liking. Location is on a side dead end lane so it is super quiet

Out on the main street is a great range of bars, eateries and shops all within a few metres

Breakfast was good (bread roll and egg) with coffee

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kadek_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

stayed there during my first night in Vietnam. probably due to it being night time when i first reached and was unfamiliar with Vietnam's way of addresses etc, it took me quite some time to find the guesthouse. thank God i managed to get help from a young and pretty local girl, who searched through streets with me :) finally found the guesthouse located in a small alley along the main road. pretty good location though, as it's just steps away from the bustling central area. yet quiet enough not to be bothered by noises from the nearby pubs. other places of attractions for instance ben thanh market, notre dame cathedral are a good 15-25 minutes walk away. still pretty much around the area though, just gotta walk a little. 

the room i got was ok. clean and basic. nothing fanciful but good enough to spend a few nights there, especially if you are on a budget. breakfast was good, i miss the coffee! oh they even let me take a shower before my overnight train ride. i had checked out but then. the staffs were mostly friendly, though i could sense one of them being nicer and a tad warmer to caucasians. -.-special mention for the guy (i think his name's Chi) who is rather new, but has a wonderful attitude. very warm and welcoming. thanks for the hospitality and all the help you've given me, Chi! 

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeeGooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I stayed here on three separate occasions in the month of March while travelling to various places around Vietnam. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful and not at all pushy. I didn't have any problems with check in or check out, and the different rooms I stayed in were clean and adequate for short stays. Some of the rooms are quite small, and some don't have windows. Both rooms I stayed in had windows though. This is in a quiet alley so there is hardly any road noise, which is a real plus in this district of Saigon. But all the action you could possibly want is within a minute's walk. There are scads of places to eat nearby and plenty of little shops for various things you need. The rooms all have small fridges, aircon, tv's, wireless internet, and hot water. Breakfast is pretty basic, but it's included in the room price, so no complaints from me. The eating area is quite small, and can only accommodate a few people at a time, so you might need to wait to eat. No big deal. I would certainly come back to this place again. Thanks to all the staff for making my stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window if you want some natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hammsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I stayed in Nhat Thao Guesthouse 2 days ago. I would love to thank you all staff here.
My room is small but it is quite clean. Especially, staff here are very friendly, helpful and informative. I strongly recommend this Guesthouse to traveler with a tight budget.

Room Tip: room with balcony is quite noisy but you will have a great city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nguyen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

There were lots of problems during checkin, the staff asked me to arrive 6 hours later, because my room hadn't been ready. They offered me a discount, which was cancelled later, because I arrived at 5pm instead of 6pm.

Complimentary breakfast is very poor.

Although, rooms are newish and clean and the hotel's location is perfect.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandr Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#26 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ngoc Minh Hotel
Ngoc Minh Hotel
#174 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Giang Son Guesthouse
Giang Son Guesthouse
#26 of 856 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Luan Vu Hotel
Luan Vu Hotel
#8 of 543 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.9 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nhat Thao Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nhat Thao Guesthouse

Property: Nhat Thao Guesthouse
Address: 35/4 Bui Vien Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Nhat Thao Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing