We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, friendly staffs”
Review of Ngoc Linh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ranked #71 of 459 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Hotel inside an alley along the backpackers street which is not noisy at night is a plus. Stayed at level 4 though we have no issue of climbing up and down, good for exercise. Room is reasonably sized and cleaned every day, paid around S$30/night for twin room. Staffs are very friendly, 5 choices of simple breakfast but good enough to start the day. Recommended for budget travelers.

Room Tip: 5 levels of rooms hence choose lower level if do not want to climb stairs.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AhNix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
There are newer reviews for Ngoc Linh Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed at Ngoc Linh for three nights at the end of July and cannot fault it.

Rooms were clean, comfortable and well appointed - air conditioning, small fridge, TV, clean bedding and towels, changed daily. The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming. They offered us a range of information on tours but when we did not follow up on it, they did not ask us again.

They showed us the main places to eat, drink and shop, all of which were within walking distance from the hotel. Hotel is also located on the quiet Pham Ngu alley which means it is away from the noise of traffic.

We also took advantage of the airport transfer which was cheap and on time - no hassles.

For what we got we thought the price was very reasonable - would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This place is ok, better than ok maybe for the price.

Pros - cheap airport pick-up (cheaper than other pre-arranged offers by other hotels I contacted) clean on arrival, cheap, located in heart of backpacker district, not too noisy at night, one of the main guys at reception was happy and smiled a lot.

Cons - was picked up at airport by a woman with her husband and daughter. The guy didn't stop arguing with her on the way to the hotel, which was a bit uncomfortable. Maybe it was because I was seriously delayed due to lengthy queues to pick up my visa, but it was still not cool. They made up my room and cleaned bathroom, but didn't change my sheets once in 3 days. It's located in the heart of the backpacker district. Noisy neighbours as walls are thin. One of the guys on reception was quite moody.

Room Tip: I liked my room with no window....made it easier for me to sleep in!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DaveWorldly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Ngoc Linh is a small hotel on a perfect location. A bustling street with many restaurants is just around the corner. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is okay and coffee tastes great but is never really hot. You have to climb over 90 steps if you sleep in the 5th floor, so that's a good exercise ;) Only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is the bad access to internet sites. We use the internet a lot while we're travelling and a lot of pages couldn't be reached, only cached versions.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed at Ngoc Linh for 2 days and I had a very comfortable night staying there. The rooms are between 18-30USD which is ok for a stay of most backpackers in Vietnam. It is located in the city in a small alley of Pham Ngu Lao street which is safe and can just walk to the Ben Thanh market, parks and night market. You will never get hungry as restaurants and fast food chains are surrounding it. It's also a block away from the city's night life where tourists just sit down to grab some cold beer.

The hostel is serving an airport pick up and breakfast (bread, banana, egg and coffee), well, they only serve this menu everyday.

Rooms have a wider bed, air conditioned, tv, telephone, wifi access and hot and cold shower.

The staffs are nice, friendly and very accommodating--especially to Phong. They would every time remind you to take care of belongings when going out the hostel. They also suggest a better tour for you.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank artistahun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights.

Good basic, clean room.
Friendly manager and the water/beers they offer from reception are priced well.
Helpful all round.

Slightly difficult to find but otherwise in a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller123419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile


The hotel offers good price/quality. It is not expensive and the room was ok. Do not expect 5*: the bed sheets were a bit worn but clean, the room is not so big, the breakfast has not so much choice.
However, still a good hotel in the tourist area of HCMC, in a quite little alley.
Friendly staff and the drinks are inexpensive.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Marijn-steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#31 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#67 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
533 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#97 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elegant Inn
Elegant Inn
#85 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
836 reviews
0.6 mi away
LeBlanc Saigon
LeBlanc Saigon
#82 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
115 reviews
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#47 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngoc Linh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngoc Linh Hotel

Address: 283 / 21 Pham Ngu Lao Street | Dist.1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 459 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £14 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Ngoc Linh Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NGOC LINH HOTEL is a new modern building with beautiful architecture, situated conveniently in the heart of Saigon, you are just minutes away from City Centre and just minutes away about anywhere in the City. With the staff is friendly and the rooms have basic amenities like air-conditioning and cable TV, Wifi Internet, mini fridge and private bathroom with cold/ hot water. Our room rate includes a public computer and breakfast each day. NGOC LINH HOTEL is a good choice if between trips to the Mekong Delta and onward travel to the north, as you can make your travel plans easily through the tour operators just outside on De Tham.NGOC LINH HOTEL is an alternative to a guest house or bed and breakfast. Our hotel is family owned and operated as a mini hotel. NGOC LINH HOTEL has many kind of room consisting of Single, Double, Twin and Triple rooms. At NGOCLINH hotel, our warm hospicality and friendly reception will make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ngoc Linh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing