We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vy Khanh Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vy Khanh Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

What a wonderful find this guesthouse was. We arrived in the chaos of Saigon very tired after an overnight flight. Their driver was there to pick us up and Ms.Vy was waiting at the end of the lane ready to escort us over the busy road. We were greeted with a cold drink and a detailed map and suggestions for getting around the area and good places to eat. Ms Vy also arranged a sim card for us. We were allowed to book in early and found our room to be clean cool and comfortable. Had a lovely 2 night stay able to walk to all the sights and had fun exploring the alleys. We left our luggage here whilst travelling to Can Tho for 2 nights then returned to Vy Khanh for a further night.
Fabulous place to stay in the madness of HCMC tucked away down an alley so fairly quiet. The family are lovely and make you feel very much at home and the morning coffee is not to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nannup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vykhanhhotel, Manager at Vy Khanh Guesthouse, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guests, Thank you for your comment. We love to see you again with special price. Warm regards from Vy Khanh Guesthouse, Ms Vy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    99
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
27
279
90
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed in this guesthouse for three nights with a friend. It was impeccably clean and is in a great location near lots of shops, restaurants and attractions. Ms Vy was a friendly and helpful host and the price is excellent for the quality of the rooms. As it's set back from the main road it's not very noisy and therefore good for sleeping. I'd recommend this guesthouse to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BCWgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vykhanhhotel, Manager at Vy Khanh Guesthouse, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guests, Thank you for your comment. We love to see you again with special price. Warm regards from Vy Khanh Guesthouse, Ms Vy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great location and helpful staff :) The room was clean and had a fridge stocked with cheap drinks (water, beer, soft drinks). I would definitely recommend this guesthouse to anyone visiting Saigon as the location is perfect, the rooms are very fairly priced and Vy is very helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vykhanhhotel, Manager at Vy Khanh Guesthouse, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guests, Thank you very much for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again and, hopefully, to get a higher ratings from you. ;-) Best regards, Your Vy Khanh Guesthouse ;-) (Ms Vy)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ocean city, md
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Starting with the positive, the location is excellent if you're looking for a backpackers area, with lots of restaurants, little bars, and shops. Quite a touristy feel, but we thought in a good way. It is within walking distance of the night market and opposite a very lovely park. The hostel itself was also very nice, in that it had working air conditioning and was a good price for everything available.
However, the service was a little lacking. We had confirmed tickets for a bus to Cambodia, but found out when I arrived that the tickets were not purchased properly. This was very disappointing, since I could have purchased the tickets myself but was assured that the hostel would take care of them, and we had to depart a few hours earlier, interrupting our plan to view many of the sights. It was the lack of apology and offer to make amends that was the most frustrating bit. I would have felt much better about the service if offered some sort of compensation for the error.
Overall, it was a great stay, but the fact that our time was cut short made a difference.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank junkian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vykhanhhotel, Manager at Vy Khanh Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comment.

Please not to say that we did not have a good service because you arrived 8.00 AM, but you got the room earlier than 13.00 (check in time).
And the PnomPenh tickets which I booked for you were cheaper if you did do yourself.
We said to you that the Mekong Express did not have the time as you wanted on that day and we thought everything was clear. (You can check again with Mekong Express if you like).

Anyway, we hope you could have a good trip.

Warm regards from Vy Khanh Guesthouse,
Ms Vy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to all of our friends. Vy, the owner, was honest, fair, extremely helpful, friendly and caring. On arrival, she gave us a map of the area and told us all of the places to see and some good places to eat. She booked both of the trips we took with reputable companies, all of our bus tickets, and helped us get a place when she was full. She even offered us discounts of a few dollars for the trips which we turned down. We had many opportunities to chat and we learned a great deal from her about life in Vietnam. When things went wrong with other customers she handled them with a calm and caring attitude. At the guesthouse she was having work done and each time a customer came she told them about it. She also had the workmen work only between 11 and 5, a time when most people were sight seeing or out. We enjoyed her company so much we even invited her to visit us in our country.

Room Tip: We had the same room both times we were there so I am not sure what they were all like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ecowan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vykhanhhotel, Manager at Vy Khanh Guesthouse, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guests, Thank you for your comment. We love to see you again with special price. Warm regards from Vy Khanh Guesthouse, Ms Vy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in vy khans two nites and came back for another nite after the mekong. It's inside the city but very calm and the owner helped us with whatever we needed! Very pleasant stay in clean + airconditioned room. Cheap water available. Welcome drink, morning coffee and fruit included.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank arck84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vykhanhhotel, Manager at Vy Khanh Guesthouse, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guests, Thank you for your comment. We love to see you again with special price. Warm regards from Vy Khanh Guesthouse, Ms Vy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stawell, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Fantastic place to stay, central to District 1 with lots of options for meals, entertainment and activities.

Vy was very helpful in arranging tours and detailing what was on offer in the area.

We chose this guesthouse based on reviews, and was not disappointed, however did not realise there was no breakfast until we arrived - not a real issue as many local choices, but should not be listed under B&B category - adds an additional US$5 or so to the total accommodation cost.

Still recommend as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaughan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vykhanhhotel, Manager at Vy Khanh Guesthouse, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guests, Thank you very much for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again and, hopefully, to get a higher ratings from you. ;-) Best regards, Your Vy Khanh Guesthouse ;-) (Ms Vy)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
1.0 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#15 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,095 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#35 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Hotel Saigon
Cinnamon Hotel Saigon
#9 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vy Khanh Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vy Khanh Guesthouse

Property: Vy Khanh Guesthouse
Address: 241/11/6 Pham Ngu Lao street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 822 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's located (safe place)at pack backer's area (district 1) walking distance to all activities,( walking 7 minutes to Ben Thanh market), near bank, park,museums, zoo, coffee shops yet it's quiet enough since it situated in an alley. All rooms are equipped with air conditioners, portable fan, private bath with heated water, mini fridge, cable TV, wifi internet (free). Friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere, and home stay at a reasonable price. You will be comfortable and safe staying at our place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vy Khanh Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vy Khanh Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing