We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still excellent”
Review of An Vien Restaurant

An Vien Restaurant
Ranked #711 of 3,240 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Still excellent”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Went there on the night we arrived and they accommodated us even though it was close to closing. This was my 3rd visit but my friend's first, and we both enjoyed the food thoroughly. The food, the setting, the service and the price is reasonable - you cannot fault this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QTSBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    24
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, beautiful setting”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had a long layover before our flight back to LGW, so decided to get out from the airport for our last meal in Vietnam. I saw this in a local magazine I picked up on the plane and thought it sounds ok. It took forever for our cab driver to find it, mainly because it isn't on the Main Street itself, but down a little alley adjacent to the number 178 shop. The setting is a beautiful old villa, which felt like eating in someone's private and elegant apartment. The service was very good, with an extensive wine list. The menu was huge and it was difficult to narrow down our choices, but finally we managed to select a few of the many delicious sounding options. When they came we were just blown away by the sheer yumminess of the food. It was easily the best meal we'd had in the whole 2 weeks, really nice meat (chicken and pork), great touch with the flavourings (ginger, lemongrass, garlic and chilli) and perfect portion sizes. I would definitely go back here if we ever came back to HCMC, it was excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ratbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classic, authentic Vietnamese food at its best”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Cozy & heart warming ambience with familiar Vietnamese dishes to offer nesting in a quiet alley of a busy street. Good service. Decent food at quite a reasonable price range.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trang D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic dining experience”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The An Vien was easily our best dining experience in HCMC. The food was delicious and the ambiance was that of an old colonial villa. Service was friendly and efficient. Pricing is reasonable, in line with the high quality of the food. This will definitely be on my list for the next visit to Saigon. The address is 178A Hai Ba Trung (not 178), which is important because you have to walk around the corner and about 50 ft down an alley. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inbavaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Some of the best Vietnamese in Vietnam”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

A truly excellent restaurant experience - our waiter was outstanding, advising us on our meals very well. The chicken in fish sauce entrée was excellent as was the pork in a clay pot and whole deep fried fish. Hard to find and it feels like you aren't going to the right place but well worth the effort as it is actually not too far from the city. The decor is very different to that which you will experience in the majority of expensive Vietnamese restaurants but fitting with our meals this restaurant is a great example of traditional Vietnamese done very well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LachlanP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed An Vien Restaurant also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to An Vien Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing